We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Discovered this pub on our last day in Norfolk”
Review of Carpenter's Arms

Carpenter's Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Wighton
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Spain
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Discovered this pub on our last day in Norfolk”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

What a little gem, it is so different. Service slow but does not matter as the local banter more than made up for it. The food is freshly prepared and very different. All thoroughly enjoyed our time there.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Juanita2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    21
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northampton
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food.”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Basic fair at very reasonable prices. Large portions and very tasty. Very popular and you will need to book if you want to eat earlier in the evening.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank surreybiker14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Local feel, excellent service, superb value”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This pub in Wighton is a little off the beaten track - just off the road between Walsingham and Wells.

The Carpenter's Arms is not long reopen. It's been nicely refurbished with colourful decor.

We came along on a Sunday afternoon. This is not the Hoste Arms or Byfords - but it's not trying to be. The menu was roast only - pork or beef - which suited us. Apparently it's different on other days/evenings. I had the pork which was nice and tender. The veg was all fresh. Dessert was excellent. I had the choc sponge with custard. My wife and daughter had cheesecake. All we're lovely.

Service was very fast. Really friendly.

The surprise was the price. It is phenomenally good value! The land lord came and checked with us that everything with tip top too.

Outside there's a small garden to the rear. Seating could be nicer but it serves the purpose. There's parking and a bit of seating out front.

Definitely a hidden gem of north Norfolk.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank inr100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Not as good as we had hoped”
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Based on other customer reviews and the proximity to our holiday cottage my family of seven visited this little pub in the village of Wighton. We all ordered off the somewhat limited menu, but fully accepted that it is a small village pub. My 8 year old daughter and our daughter in law both ordered the BBQ ribs. Oh dear! The sauce was very spicy! Neither of them could eat them. Had we known (or had it stipulated on the description) neither would have ordered them. Having said that, they were delicious for those of us that could eat them! When my hubbie offered this as feedback it was not well received by the man serving us. Such a shame, as all he needed to say was terribly sorry, can we offer them something else, or even told us when we ordered them that the sauce was homemade and spicy. The rest of the food was a bit of a mixed bag, but all the food was reasonably priced. This is a very small village pub and the food is probably reflected in this. Having said that, we did return a couple of days later for a couple of drinks and to play cards. Would we go back, yes we would, but not for the food.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank jo f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Carpenter's Arms is worth finding - a wee gem.”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We found this pub/restaurant in the sleepy little village of Wighton and were very happy we did. We had a lovely lunch and the Caesar Salad was excellent, Mexican pie yummy. The Danish and English hosts were extremely friendly and welcoming and the place is also 'dog-friendly'. Certainly go again when in the area.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sandra_gronbech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Carpenter's Arms also viewed

 
Wells-next-the-Sea, Norfolk
 

Been to Carpenter's Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing