We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cascada Lodge - a unique experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cascada de las Animas
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Alfonso
Mainz, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cascada Lodge - a unique experience”
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We just stayed in one of the new Cascada Lodges. The surrounding nature is already a treat in itself, and also the setting for the dinner at the Cascada riverside restaurant was amazing, but all that was even topped with the accomodation in one of the new lodges. Unique architectural design offering an extremely comfi and cosy space with a very special atmosphere, which makes you want to relax and hang out as long as possible.
Waking up in the morning with this big window right in front of the bed offering a view of these majestic mountains and green trees bathing in the morning sun was nearly too good to be true.
Tine

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Helpful?
4 Thank christineXXXXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    365
    166
    52
    26
    21
See reviews for
146
281
18
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambodia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Had 3 nights at the hostel and after initially liking the place that much we added on an extra 2 nights in a cabin Hostel was great and we had the place to ourselves. Location of the main area and cabins is fantastic, great back drop of the mountains with lots of activities.The cabins were dotted around the woodland and the site had a great little restaurant with free wifi, bonus.
We did however find some of the staff a little unhelpful, for example we went to eat dinner one night and were told the restaurant was shut due a wedding. We were not advised of this early in the day when having lunch and when we asked about somewhere else to eat they didnt really help or care that we needed to eat. We ended up having to get a taxi 15km back in to town just to get some food.
Also when we came to check out of the hostel and move to a cabin the staff would not let us check in before 2pm even though the cabin was available. We were then also told we would not be able to do any walks without guides even though we had done several walks the previous days without a guide. Unable to do any walks and nowhere to go we ended up not staying for the extra 2 days to which a particular staff member did not really care. I must stress that not all the staff were unhelpul, the restaurant and hostel staff were fantastoic and I believe the guides were good to.
All in all it's a beautiful setting but don't expect the staff to help you unless you are booking a trip.

Room Tip: Get a taxi collectivo from the main Mercedes metro station, should cost about1,1000 pesos per person...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asia2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

I just got back to the states from chile. I stayed in cascara de las animas in June. We wanted to go treking near el volcan and we asked in reception about the bus service and how we could get there and were also told that it was not accessible by bus or taxi.we luckily met a man from mountain rescue at the local shop that told us that he did not know why we were told this as a bus runs on a daily basis.we were horrified when we heard this as we were planning to leave because of this misinformation.

We also wondered why they were cutting trees in a nature reserve because in the states and Europe you can't do this. This is obviously a money making reserve to trick people into thinking they care about the surrounding area but the only vibe we got off it is that they don't.

Last but not least I want to talk about the people in reception. These people put humanity to shame. They are so unhelpful,rude,obnoxious and smug.we were in a tent and they looked down on us even though our tent was worth more money then their car. If these people are going to continue working on this place they need to start liking the outdoors and stop swindling tourists for their money. The 2 men working at night were the nicest of the lot and they probably get paid buttons. These are the ones that should be running the company not the managers in the corner trying to look outdoorsy with their northface clothes. When really they haven't seen the north side of a mountain or dealt with proper camping once. They also nickel and dimed us for wood, made sure that there was not one independent walk and were only interested in our money.

I'm sure they are going to send me back some jargon about them loving the outdoors but really they haven't a clue and they ruin what the Andes is all about.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank eimear_beaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe Willis J, Public Relations Manager at Cascada de las Animas, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Thank your for taking the time to post a review of Cascada de las Animas on Trip Advisor. We regret that your visit did not meet with your expectations. Our staff makes every effort to treat all of our guests with courtesy and respect. If you felt disrespected during your visit we apologize - this would never be an attitude that any of our staff would intentionally display towards our guests.

Our resort and nature sanctuary is owned and managed by a local family, who pioneered settlements in the Maipo Canyon in the 1840's and is recognized throughout the country as founders and leaders of the modern ecology and conservation movement in Chile. It appears that you may have witnessed some brush clearing that was taking place on the sanctuary to create new space for the animal rehabilitation and relocation center that we have recently built in concert with Chilean Wildlife authorities. Rest assured that we do not engage in forest cutting here - on the contrary we have planted nearly 30,000 trees on the sanctuary during the last 15 years.

We welcome the opportunity to hear more from you and hope that you may give us the opportunity to correct any misunderstanding you may have about our mission. Please give me a call at 56 2 8611303 at anytime - I would love to have the opportunity to speak with you further about your complaints. We wish you the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

Cascada de las Animas is a definite must if you like the outdoors. You can take public transportation to get there (subway then colectivo/bus) and it's a real bargain. The staff will email you excellent directions. The grounds of this place are beautiful and immaculate and the cabins are very nice, clean and the beds are awesome. They have a pretty good restaurant with outdoor and indoor seating. They have wifi in the restaurant area. It was so cool sitting outside, working on the computer and hearing the rushing water of the Maipo River. Just so relaxing. My daughter and I went whitewater rafting. It was April (fall for them) so the river was a Class 3. It was a great run with great, well trained guides. They also gave you wetsuits to wear to keep you warm. I was worried that the wetsuits would smell but they did not. We also took a hike to El Mirador that was fun if you are able to do hikes with serious inclines. We only had 2 complaints. They sort of nickel and dime you for every little thing which was kind of annoying. Lastly, this place is a family operation. For reasons unknown, the women were not very nice while the men are very helpful and pleasant. Any number of times, we walked into the restaurant and the female staff was sitting around talking, or eating or having a cocktail and they would look at you and continue with their social time. It was really weird to be treated that way at a resort.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MartiPrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pucon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2011

First, I’m a traveler from the United States here in Chile like most adventurers, seeking to encounter the culture and see the Andes.

By chance I discovered a full-moon horseback ride to the “Cascadas de las Animas” mountain mesita (plataue). An employee described,
“C’mon man you can take your girlfriend. It’s a new program, beautiful up there (on the mountain plateau) the moon full you see everything, we have una asado (Chilean barbecue), big fire, cowboy music, pisco sours, your girlfriend going to love you.”
I’ll be honest… I didn’t care about the horseback ride, but that part about winning points with my girlfriend hooked me enough to throw down the ol’ Visa card. To me this trip was the Chile I’d hoped to discover, cowboys, moonlit Andes mountains, guitars and Spanish songs, pisco sours from a tin cup…

Cascadas is a surreal place… at 9:00 pm we began by walking across a swinging bridge above the sounds of the Rio Maipo rapids, walked passed the giant hawk rehabilitation cages (some sort of nature preserve), to the stables. There we encountered cowboys wearing wool ponchos, leather and flat brimmed hats, 3” giant jingling spurs, and hand crafted leather chaps. They looked rugged and tough, real rugged as they finishing rigging 21 horses. Rolled cigarettes completed the look.

The real cowboy was a cowgirl and trip leader “Gordita.” Gordita is her nickname meaning “fatty” but must be a joke because for a 55 year old… well let’s just say I’d be happy if that were my thin and fit beautiful wife.

Gordita’s outfit must’ve been worn a thousand times and was the epitome of “BA Chilena.”

Her most impressive piece was a white leather vest lined with wool fleece. The soft leather had been weathered to a smooth sheen from years of riding and fit tight and perfect to only Gordita’s body. I thought, “the vest is obviously tailored for her,” as I noticed some of the original stitch art half gone. Her belt was tougher darker leather with a smithed copper belt buckle. I wondered where I could find the creator. Tight well-ridden jeans, broken in boots, and a hat adorned with dried flowers and a feather completed the uniform. She was confident as she taught us how to control the horses and explained that the horses even in the dark knew the way and had superior balance. Here, in the Andes the cowboys had returned to a past time where people worked with their hands, their beautiful clothes a symbol of their pride.

Before we knew it I was pulling myself onto a horse. The saddles were padded with a fleece blanket, the typical saddle horn was replaced with an opening allowing you to grab direct to the saddles metal frame. The bridles too were hand crafted leather and there was a certain respect and admiration I was developing for the efficiency of the resourceful rustic Chileans.

We rode for thirty minutes up the mountain passing a waterfall and taking in the towering Andes in the moonlight. The wranglers kept the pack of twenty riders together yelling, “Vamos, vamos, vamos chequillos…” They’d run to a slower horse and smack it on the butt commanding the straggler to trot and keep up. Soon enough we arrived to the mesita or plateau.

La Mesita Asado… The Plateau Barbecue- Some Places Just Feel Magical

At the plateau a fire was ready and soon pisco sours were being made for us. It’d be interesting to know if USA insurance companies would even allow this trip. I didn’t care because by now I could tell this was a place with a special energy and was happy to drink my share of piscos.

The wranglers began shoveling coal and arranging cuts of the butchered goat. One of the guides took a guitar and began singing as we gathered around the fire. I watched them place bread into a barrel cut in half with a coal bed underneath, it was a simple Dutch-oven method. The bread was placed on a tray inside, a tin roof placed on the barrel as a lid, and then they built a fire from the coal bed on the lid… our fresh hot bread was baking.

Gordita handed Maria and I a stout pisco sour in a tin cup. The moonlight was brightly casting shadows onto a towering wall, at it’s base were the horses tied along a fence, shadows casting, slight breeze… it was like a scene from an old cowboy western I will remember for the rest of my life. The wranglers busy watering the horses, prepping food, and one playing the guitar and singing keeping us entertained by the warm fire.

After eating a healthy portion of asado cuts, salad, potatoes and wine Gordita told a story. For a while I listened with my limited Spanish but eventually tuned out and tuned into observing the magic of the cool breeze, the fire, cowboys and horses, and Gordita’s flare for story telling. They had a translator but I didn’t care, I was more interested in holding Maria. Now, the effect of pisco, a good meal, Maria’s warmth, and the full moon seemed to be the perfect intoxicants.

My most memorable Chilean experience was those cowboys with the leather chaps, me holding Maria under the moonlight while the Chileans sang, drinking pisco sour from a tin cup, watching the fresh bread come out of the “Dutch-oven barrel” and riding off of that plateau at 2:00 am in the morning under the full moon.

Room Tip: Weekenders should make a reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JohnnieKayaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 April 2011

I really enjoyed my time at La Cascada. I was looking for a place to relax after two weeks work in the USA and found that it met my needs perfectly. The staff were very friendly, accommodated a last minute change of pick-up (I missed a connecting flight) from the airport and were very helpful everywhere.
The cabin was great - a little more kitchen equipment would have been nice but there was sufficient to get by - it was clean and comfortable and we enjoyed the outdoor bar-b-q in the evenings. We visited mid-week, I suspect the place may have been too busy for our liking at weekends, but mid-week in March was suitably quiet.
Food fantastic ... pool cool but poolside nice .... pretty walks in the surroundings and plenty of activities to keep you busy.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouBee5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 February 2011

We traveled from our hotel in Santiago to stay at Cascada in San Alfonso for 2 nights. We took the Metro then a colectivo and it was surprisingly easy to get there that way.
We checked in to Cascada in the afternoon. The woman at the desk said that our key was in the hostel/hotel and to pick it up there (the hostel/hotel is about 4 blocks away from the check in site, we thought that was odd). They drove us and our luggage to the hostel but the woman there said the key was missing and suggested we enter and exit the room from the window! It is a ground floor room and not hard to do...we went with the flow...they didn't replace the lock until the day we departed! Other than that, we found the hostel/hotel very comfortable and clean. The surrounding area felt very safe. The service was very good at the hotel and with the activities but the service at the on-site restaurant was poor (unfriendly and they were MIA most of the time, compared to everywhere else we ate in the Santiago area).
You can't beat the activities at Cascada's. The guides are all very friendly with a great sense of humor. We went on the Cabalgatas tour up the Andes (horseback riding), we did the Rafting. We hiked to the waterfalls. We even got the best massage ever in the spa (the spa is hardly a spa, it is like a hut in the woods but the best massage ever was given!).

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jesskell_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Alfonso
9.6 mi away
Hotel Qamaqi
Hotel Qamaqi
#1 of 2 in San Jose de Maipo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
2.9 mi away
Haiku Cabanas Panoramicas
Haiku Cabanas Panoramicas
#3 of 19 in San Jose de Maipo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
10.7 mi away
Hostal Chikiyan
Hostal Chikiyan
#1 of 19 in San Jose de Maipo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Altiplanico Cajon del Maipo
Hotel Altiplanico Cajon del Maip...
#2 of 7 in San Jose de Maipo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
3.9 mi away
Lodge Andino El Ingenio
Lodge Andino El Ingenio
#4 of 19 in San Jose de Maipo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
11.2 mi away
Lacasadecarlitos
Lacasadecarlitos
#1 of 7 in San Jose de Maipo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cascada de las Animas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cascada de las Animas

Property: Cascada de las Animas
Address: Camino al Volcan, 31087 | Casilla 57, San Alfonso 9460384, Chile
Region: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > San Alfonso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Alfonso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cascada de las Animas 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cascada de las Animas is a full service eco-tourism resort located in a natural paradise of over 3700 hectares of rugged mountains and valleys, rivers, springs and waterfalls. Only 60 kilometers from Santiago Chile, you will find a wide assortment of delightful cabins, rooms, hostel accommodations, a full service restaurant, swimming pool and more, all located in a park-like setting. Guided horseback riding, whitewater rafting, trekking, wine tasting excursions and other activities are available year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Cascada de las Animas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cascada De Las Animas Hotel San Alfonso
Cascada De Las Animas Chile/San Alfonso

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing