We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great family camping experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cascada de las Animas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cascada de las Animas
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Alfonso
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
143 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Great family camping experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Great camping set up for our family of 3. Nice site, decent restaurant, beautiful pool and a lot of other things to do to keep everyone happy. The ziplining was fun to watch, the hiking nice with beautiful views. We would definitely camp here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    163
    50
    23
    21
See reviews for
137
273
17
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pucon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

I wanted to knock the socks off my girlfriend with something super special. When I discovered the Cascadas Lodge I was intrigued. Note, this is more than I normally am willing to pay for a stay but this was our special event while in Chile.
The place where we stayed is more like a scene out of Lord of the Rings Hobbiton than a hotel. Every minute of our stay we were running our hands along the surface of the carved wood bed posts. Jessie would goto the bathroom and yell, "Oy my God... come here you have to see this!" There was specialty tile work everywhere and an archway over the shower.
The bed had giant wood carved fish overhead and a view of a cascade from the bed. We were happy just staying in bed.
But the property is just as amazing. There are all kinds of mythical legend like stories about the Astorga clan who own the place but who knows what is true or not. We ate at the restaurant overlooking the Maipo and drove the hotsprings past the resort. It was the best way ever for us to start our Chile adventures.
I definitely recommend you try the Cascadas Lodge if you want to impress your girlfriend or wife or are in trouble with her.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the waterfall. You will love it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnnieKayaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

I had a wonderful two days at Cascadas de las Animas horseback riding in the Andes, hicking, visiting the Concha Y Toro Vineyard and ziplining. I also appreciated the kindness of all their staff on site particularly Crecho that went horback riding with me and prepared a great barbecue in the mountain and Andres that drove me back and forth from Santiago.

They made my stay in Chile memorable and I would highly recommend Cascadas de las Animas.

Sandra
Calgary, Alberta

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank May1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

We stayed in the hostel that is about 3 blocks outside of the property. For over 1/2 the price of a room in the lodge, we weren't sure what we were getting ourselves into, but we were pleasantly surprised. the 7 room mansion is cozy (albeit oddly decorated) and surrounded by beautiful gardens. More importantly- guests pay half the amount of others for activities. We took full advantage of that, and arrived from Santiago around 10am the day of check in. The front desk was happy to hold our things and we took off on a waterfall hike (a bit disappointing), rafting (excellent guides made us feel very very safe), pool time (the water was freezing, but area clean and beautiful), massages (great value) and ziplining (again very safe) the only down side of the trip was the restaurant. food was so-so at best, and the service was horrible.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Khethiwe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

I came a couple of years ago To visit my family in Santiago, and Cascada has become the perfect getaway from the city. Although close, the retreat into the mountains leaves all the noise and stress behind.
The familiar people which already know gave me the friendliest welcome. This year I've stayed at the Lodge facilities, that include a royal breakfast and a wide mountain view from my bed.
Springtime is generous in all sorts of flowers and bird songs. The feel of summer is in the air.
I received a couple of massages next to the river and then used the hot tubs as the day ended.
All in all, a place back to.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jhidalgoferrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ontario
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

Our final stop in a tour of Central Chile arranged by Knowmad Adventures was this wonderful Lodge. We had 2 cabins or "Hobbit Houses" as our teens called them-quaint, clean and well-equipped (a couple of complaints of lumpy mattresses). I must say that one absolutely terrific hostess- "Lucy" made Cascada work for us. This young woman is a delight and went out of her way to ensure that small problems were resolved. The High ropes/ zip lining was a thrill particularly for our teens who probably still can't believe their parents did it! The property was more crowded on the weekend with a wedding and many day quests but we left for a hike in El Morado National Park. This was another adventure- a moderate hike but in sweltering heat above the tree line with absolutely no shade for the entire 4-5hours. Again our guide made this trek safe and a success for all. The emphasis on safety was apparent throughout our tour and we truly appreciated this. Great adventure stop!

Room Tip: Cabins are terrific with a small well-equipped kitchen, out door picnic tables and fire areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skipperdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

We had never done rafting before but were really surprised how much we liked it. It was really well organized, with a good talk about the safety procedures and lots of fun in the raft!
We went to Cascada de las Animas by public transport, because taking the organized van is way too expensive (we took a combi from Las Mercedes metrostation, on our way back we took the bus). Many things are too expensive in Cascada de las Animas for backpackers: the lodges, the hostel, ... So we stayed at the camping, which had really nice wooden roofs and every tent has a BBQ and picknick table. On weekends in high season we recommend you to book ahead. Weekends get really busy with people coming from Santiago, who want to enjoy nature and the nice swimming pool (a bit too cold).

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Shie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Alfonso
13.8 mi away
Hotel Qamaqi
Hotel Qamaqi
#1 of 2 in San Jose de Maipo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hostal Chikiyan
Hostal Chikiyan
#1 of 19 in San Jose de Maipo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Altiplanico Cajon del Maipo
Hotel Altiplanico Cajon del Maip...
#1 of 7 in San Jose de Maipo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Lacasadecarlitos
Lacasadecarlitos
#2 of 7 in San Jose de Maipo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
2.8 mi away
Haiku Cabanas Panoramicas
Haiku Cabanas Panoramicas
#3 of 19 in San Jose de Maipo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
4.0 mi away
Lodge Andino El Ingenio
Lodge Andino El Ingenio
#4 of 19 in San Jose de Maipo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cascada de las Animas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cascada de las Animas

Property: Cascada de las Animas
Address: No 31087 Camino Al Volcan, Casilla 57 | San Alfonso, San Alfonso 9460384, Chile
Region: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > San Alfonso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Alfonso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cascada de las Animas 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cascada de las Animas is a full service eco-tourism resort located in a natural paradise of over 3700 hectares of rugged mountains and valleys, rivers, springs and waterfalls. Only 60 kilometers from Santiago Chile, you will find a wide assortment of delightful cabins, rooms, hostel accommodations, a full service restaurant, swimming pool and more, all located in a park-like setting. Guided horseback riding, whitewater rafting, trekking, wine tasting excursions and other activities are available year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Cascada de las Animas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cascada De Las Animas Hotel San Alfonso
Cascada De Las Animas Chile/San Alfonso

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing