We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“chilling cold! + we had to clean our room & bathroom by ourselves”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cascada de las Animas
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Alfonso
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Hostal Cascada de Las Animas, which is located at 3 blocks from the Cascada de las Animas Nature Center. We were attending a friend's wedding in Cajón del Maipo at CasaBosque on Saturday night, so we decided to stay over for the weekend at Hostal Cascada de Las Animas, whih is located in the main street. It is a 2 story house built in rock, surrounded by gardens -quiet enviorment- with a big living room with a chimney -fire was seldom lighted inside, though it was winter-. Our room was the only one in the 2nd floor and we had a medium sized terrace with a nice view of the mountains.

We arrived on Sat Friday July 30th around 11.00 pm. It had been raining and some snow still laid on the floor. We had advised the hour of our arrival but it seems they turned on the heating at last minute. The room was chilling! Eventhough the room did have a heating system, it was too small sized for the room's size. Worse was the fact the bathroom was outside the room, in the hall, with no heating system. Coldest bathroom ever! It was supposed to be our private bathroom but anyone could enter since all bathrooms were located in the halls. I had to continously move my personal bath items from the room to the bathroom and from the bathroom to the room.

The furniture, specially the bed, sheets and pillows looked old and worn out...the window's curtain was so thin all the cold passed through! (The bathroom towels were fine quality though).

After the chilling cold night was over, we went downstairs for breakfast (included), it consisted in natural juice, home made bread, some jam and butter, tea & milk. Afterwards we left to the Nature Center for our free tour to the waterfalls at 12 am. It was a lovely short walking tour with nice sightseeings.

Afterwards we went to have lunch to Trattoria Calypso and when we returned to the Hostal around 4.30 pm, our room was exactly as we had left it: wet towels in the bathroom, wet bathroom floor, no fresh towels, no toilette paper, garbage can full, bed undone, not even a broom had passed by our room (before we left, we left the room's door completely open with the room's key placed in place..impossible to miss!)

When we asked the housekeeper why our room & bathroom had not been cleaned considering we were gone from 12 am to 4.30 pm, she told us room & bathroom cleaning was not included in her chores nor in anyones'.She didn't even offer us to make the room then..so we had to clean our room & bathroom by ourselves! Unbelievable! (considering I asked for quotations in many places in Cajón del Maipo, and Hostal Cascada de las Animas was one of the most expensive ones: 60 dollars / $30,000 Chile pesos per night). By the way, all this made me wonder about the hygiene of the Hostal's rooms and bathrooms.

After this we considered we've had enough with the Hostal Cascada de las Animas and if we had had the possibility to stay the night at some place else we would have, but we had to get dressed for the wedding.

When we spoke to our friends at the wedding in CasaBosque, we found out most of them were staying there for the night. They told us about how warm their rooms were (heating system with remote control), bathrooms were inside the rooms and heated just like in most hotels, breakfast was great (and of course, they didn't have to clean the room & bathroom by themselves!).

In the end, we realized we'd make the wrong hotel choice.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claudia_Andrea_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chilewillie, Public Relations Manager at Cascada de las Animas, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2010

Thank you for your comments and criticism. We are always eager to hear opinions from our guests.

We are saddened that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We always strive to do our best to meet or exceed the expectations of every guest who stays with us. By your posting, I understand that you stayed with us because of a wedding you were attending in the area. Cascada de las Animas is an ecotourism resort, and as such, our focus is on outdoor adventure activities and access to nature. For most of our visitors, the primary reason that they choose to visit us is for the opportunity that we provide them to connect with nature. Participating on one of our horseback trips, zip-line adventures, rafting tours, or other adventures; or sampling some of the excellent wholesome and healthy menu choices in our resort restaurant would most likely have given you a more favorable opinion of us.

For guests who wish to stay overnight, or spend several days with us, we offer clean, comfortable and affordable accommodations in cabins, rooms, suites, and in our nearby hostel. Our hostel is currently our most economical alternative for overnight lodging, and is priced for budget conscious travelers. As a hostel, it cannot be fairly compared to the newly built 5 star Hotel Casa Bosque where your friends stayed without also mentioning that a similarly sized room at the Hotel Casa Bosque will cost a guest nearly three times as much as at our hostel.

As is noted on our website, our hostel is a converted residence that was constructed in the 1930’s; using construction techniques and materials common to that era. It is quaint and beautiful, with many gardens and large common areas; however it is can be difficult to heat to everyone´s satisfaction in mid-winter - especially with the record breaking low temperatures we have been experiencing recently in our mountains! We are sorry that you found it to be too cold for your liking.

It was also common practice with family homes designed at that time to have bathrooms that were hallway accessible. Understanding our guests need for bathroom privacy, each bathroom is assigned to a specific room and can be key locked at any time (using your room key). The bathroom and former master bedroom that you occupied take up the entire top floor and are not adjacent to any other guest (who would need to climb a flight of stairs to reach your bathroom). In your case, you had the most private section of the hostel.

To keep hostel room rates low and affordable for budget travelers, some services are not included – such as daily room cleaning. Each room is thoroughly cleaned by our staff after a guest departs and before a new guest arrives. If a guest is staying multiple nights and would like to have their room re-cleaned during their stay, there is a nominal extra fee for this service. Be assured that common areas such as the dining and living quarters are cleaned regularly and diligently, and to our credit, we have received dozens of written and hundreds of verbal comments praising their stay with us.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the continental breakfast that we included with your room and the free waterfall trek within our 10,000 acre nature sanctuary. This is a service that cannot be found at the Hotel Casa Bosque or any other location in the Maipo Canyon at any price.
We hope that you might visit us again in the future when it is not so cold, and stay with us in one of our cabins or suites which might have better suited your tastes.

Thanks again for your comments and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (708)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

134 - 140 of 708 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2010

We were due to arrive at Cascada de las Animas on the 27th February but obviously the earthquake put a halt to that! We got as far as Brazil that morning and after many, many further planes, buses and taxis we eventually arrived on the 8th March! I have to comment on the fact that I emailed Cascada on numerous occasions to highlight the fact that we were obviously delayed and not only was their response time very slow but I felt the replies to the emails were in a tone of "all is ok here and visitors are arriving as normal, so what's your excuse!" - we felt bad enough that our travel plans had been turned upside down and did not need that feeling from Cascada.

However, arrive we did, to find a cheery face on the steps of reception and check in was quick and smooth (bearing in mind you pay up front at this point). Then we were kindly given a truck ride down to our cabin and I have to say that is when all the friendliness and cheeriness ended! We were never spoken to again by anyone who worked at Cascada (excluding the restaurant staff). When we entered the reception area to view books or the internet there was never any communication or chatter. We were really disappointed with this. In fact, on enquiring if they could call us a taxi to take us to a nearby town we were told they wouldnt. They said just go stand on the road and catch a bus or collectivo - customer service was non-existent. But all said and done if this is not important to you then you will love these quirky, unique cabins and their beautiful surroundings.

We were in a 2 bed cabin (it was number 2 cabin and can't remember its name). It was very qaint but as others have said lacking in kitchen utilities. Outside there are tables and brick bbq's but we did not attempt to cook outside. Did see other visitors lighting their bbq's and they looked good! Would also say that the shower facilities were quite poor with the water either being stone cold or boiling hot but after messing around for 10mins it generally settled down.

The restaurant food is very, very good and on our first night we were delighted with every aspect of the service. However, nights 2,3 and 4 we were not met with such good service. Just felt a bit of a nuisance at times. The restaurant closes around 8pm therefore i guess they wanted folks out. We felt it should have been opened later than that. Also it is very dark when walking back to your cabin so you should pack a torch.

Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the scenery is just out of this world. The walks and treks were fantastic and something that we will always remember.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scharminkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2010

We enjoyed a 2 night stay in one of the cabins furthest from the main resort. The cabana was large enough with a tiny and poorly equipped kitchen . The bathroom was also a little basic with leaky taps and worn fittings- the shower head fell down and had to be used as a hand shower.
The location of the cabana was very peaceful except for late night football games which went on amongst the locals.
The activities were well organised and we enjoyed a horse ride in the beautiful mountains . As non riders we felt safe with the guide and trusted the horses.
The white water rafting was great fun and well conducted with a lot of attention paid to safety. A relief as a first timer and grade 4 river conditions.
We ate in the restaurant on 3 occasions and enjoyed all the food. One of us had prawns and experienced a tummy upset the next day (but it could have been a coincidence)
The location is beautiful and the operation well run though not the cheapest of stays.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EastKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2010

We chose a cabin for our stay of 2 days in this wonderful preserve. My husband and I along with our 11 year old daughter started our 2 week vacation here. We were greeted at the check-in by an english speaking man who was very helpful in getting us accomodated. Our cabin was just right. We arrived on Jan. 1, which is a big outing day for Chileans so the area was pretty crowded with day "pic-nic"ers. That was all part of the fun for us, getting to see the Chilean people as they spend time with their families. We found the pool, and later the most awesome restaurant Trebu. They have a great menu. My husband and I both had salmon with a variety of stir fried vegetables along with a great Chilean white wine. My daughter ate beef (her favorite). The food was great and the view out of this world! Overlooking the Maipo River. Our full day at the Cascadas we signed up for a "calbagata" which is a horseback ride with a guide. It was just the three of us with our guide Jorge. Since I speak a bit of spanish, we did not request an english speaking guide. Our horses were all very gentle, since none of us really has had much horseback riding background. The trip was around 3 hours long, into the Meseta. We saw amazing views, Jorge pointed out some birds, trees, vegetation, and mountains to us. He was a great guide and very friendly...even if we sometimes did not understand what he said...he'd find a way of explaining it. After the ride which was under a clear blue sky, we hit the pool for a while, got some refreshments at their concession stand. Next we did the zipline accross the Maipo river. That was really exciting! They run the zipline all afternoon. You zip accross the river, then hike to the next place and zip back to your originial spot. We had a blast! We had dinner again at Trebu. This time the waitress we had was a bit aloof...we got our food all right, and never the bill. She left since her shift was over...odd! Others pitched in and finished her service for her. The last day of our stay before we checked out we decided to take the trekk to the waterfalls. This trek is free with your stay, I highly recommend it. Our guide spoke much english and he tried really hard to translate when he could. We had a group of around 15 people. After going over the basics of what not to touch (the plant that has seeds that look like lentils...will give you a rash), we were off. It was a hike of about 2 hours, to 2 beautiful spectacular falls. The first one is the real tall one, and due to precautions from falling rock, you cannot swim there, although the 2nd one, is ok...very cold...FRIO! A few brave souls from our group went in, including my daughter. We had a great time, seeing beautiful sights. Got back just in time to check out at noon. The staff was very helpful on giving us instructions how to get to our next destination. Our time was way too short, and would definetly come back. The only thing I would do different is to stop earlier at a larger store to get snacks, etc to keep in the fridge for ourselves. The small shop in San Alfonso is very small and not very well stocked. Overall, the experience here exceeded our expectations and would definetly do it all over again.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zizi49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2009

Well located with an armful of adventure sports available on the grounds, alongside some of the highest quality massage and healing facilities. The hotel is based just outside San Alfonso & an easy drive from Santiago airport @ appx. 90 minutes.

We tried white water rafting, which although classed as 3 & 4 level rapids, was a fell a little short as the river has yet to fill up sufficiently. That said, our hosts were accomodating, thorough and friendly with a good restaurant & great views.

Other activities on offer were horseback riding, the zipline & guided walks through the forest to a nearby waterfall. However the cabins are just as easy to relax in with no pressure to participate in any/all activities. Just take things at your leisure...

The log cabins are equipped with kitchen facilities and old fashioned & charming, but fully functioning wood burning stoves.

All said, a great location for those seeking a little adventure with their relaxation.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank londontraveller_2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2009

Our cabin was gorgeous and cozy, the area is amazing, the staff are all very friendly, there is so much to do and see, the restaurant is fantastic (2 excellent vegetarian dishes)... the Cascada is paradise! And I got to pat a Llama at breakfast! Also pretty special was one of the lovely dogs who roam the village, who we dubbed 'The Lady', who accompanied us on our walks and swims and slept on our doorstep while we were resting in our cabin. Other people have noted that the facilities are expensive, but we were spoiling ourselves and it was worth every cent. Not something my partner nor I will soon forget.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2009

wow, Cascada was all that we could hope for. The directions we were given were excellent as we came to Cascada up Rt 50 from Santa Cruz. We got personal service at the gorgeous restaurant as the place was very empty during our weekday and winter visit. The cabin was perfect, although cold!!! We took advantage of the hike, and some of the spa services which are currently being updated. I would recommend Cascada and the La Tribu restaurant to any traveler.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jwoman9835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Alfonso
9.6 mi away
Hotel Qamaqi
Hotel Qamaqi
#1 of 2 in San Jose de Maipo
207 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hosteria Millahue
Hosteria Millahue
#2 of 2 in San Jose de Maipo
80 reviews
0.2 mi away
Los Abedules
Los Abedules
#4 of 9 in San Alfonso
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Altiplanico Cajon del Maipo
Hotel Altiplanico Cajon del Maip...
#1 of 7 in San Jose de Maipo
130 reviews
11.2 mi away
Lacasadecarlitos
Lacasadecarlitos
#2 of 7 in San Jose de Maipo
62 reviews
10.7 mi away
Hostal Chikiyan
Hostal Chikiyan
#1 of 27 in San Jose de Maipo
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cascada de las Animas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cascada de las Animas

Address: Camino al Volcan, 31087 | Casilla 57, San Alfonso 9460384, Chile
Region: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > San Alfonso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Alfonso
Price Range: £88 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cascada de las Animas 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cascada de las Animas is a full service eco-tourism resort located in a natural paradise of over 3700 hectares of rugged mountains and valleys, rivers, springs and waterfalls. Only 60 kilometers from Santiago Chile, you will find a wide assortment of delightful cabins, rooms, hostel accommodations, a full service restaurant, swimming pool and more, all located in a park-like setting. Guided horseback riding, whitewater rafting, trekking, wine tasting excursions and other activities are available year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Cascada de las Animas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cascada De Las Animas Hotel San Alfonso
Cascada De Las Animas Chile/San Alfonso

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing