We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worthy for family”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mataas Na Kahoy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Virginia Hotel & Resort
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Scenic views are stunning esp Taal lake view, physically good as we had to walk around to see all corners for kids to appreciate and take photos, ups and downs are tiring but we enjoyed it. Have to bring preferred food as choices are very limited. Staff are helpful. Cleanliness is ok but they can improve more esp in checking of areas as turnover of people from one place to another is very fast. Very accessible from SLEX.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank GEB8899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2013

Note: My perspective would be quite on the negative side since there were 300-500 people in the resort when went there.

We went to La Virginia on a day tour with our neighbors, (18 people, half were kids) last weekend. We parked our vans in a spot on the other side of the road. The place was extremely gorgeous. It had a different view of Taal Lake and the surrounding mountains were lush with coconut trees. Very good location. But the resort's decors negated the view! There were poor sculptures of ducks, gorillas, chimpanzees, Captain America, The Flash, helicopters and even women in string bikinis by the pool. There were Chinese-themed houses in the same area with Ifugao-inspired cottages and there were fruit-shaped cottages too. There were too many decorations that did not coordinate. I don't get the theme. The resort could have looked so much better.. Despite the tacky decors, the resort was well-maintained and was kept relatively clean - considering the amount of visitors that day.

Now, upon our 8:30am arrival, we were whisked to information center/reception area to book a cottage. They staff were quite inefficient and were unaccommodating. One staff member counted our heads while we were in our vans before we parked. But at the information center, another staff member had to ask us how many were we. We first booked a P2.5k cottage for 20 people but when we saw the actual cottage it seemed like it would only fit in 12 people; and it was far from the pool and there were no tables yet. We then asked the staff to let us transfer to 2 picnic tables down, near the pool. The tables were, yet again, small and overpriced (P1.5k each). The pools were crowded (this I blame on the day of week) and water from one of the kiddie pools spilled onto the adult pools (not a good idea). One good thing about those pools was that there were lifeguards all the time.

The resort had a gorgeous location (it comforts me to think that from the P300 entrance fee, P250 was for the stunning view and P50 for everything else), but had tacky decors. The stay was fun because of the company and food we had.

You can bring your own food, no corkage (yeay!). Don't go on a summer weekend. Book your cottage in advance. Good luck!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank aksl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

The food was good,the ambiance is relaxing,if your a nature lover this place is the best fit for you..their facilities are really accommodating..this place is great for family and mistress bonding because its a bit far from the city..joke!lol

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Wh9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

La Virginia Hotel & Resort is an amazing place located in a rural area of Mataas na Kahoy. A little bit far from the City proper though everyone can enjoy. The friendly staff are well approachable with their guests. The affordable entrance compliments for the amenities they have offered. There are 9 different sizes and styles of swimming pools that can accommodate large number of guests. Our group spent a day tour only but we have visited all the corners of the place, very tiring day though memorable one. We are also free bringing foods and drinks of our own. :-)

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Vox-New
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Location
the place is a bit on far of the highway which is good, since you will enjoy the tress and the environment around the resort.

Price
300 per head adult/child, super pricey for a entrance but if you come and think of it and when you see the place you will see the reason why it is 300. Having a different spot you will enjoy, 13th Station of the cross, and around 5pools surrounding by different setting and all of it is free to use. so 300 is worthy to pay. And they are still improving...

* you can bring your own food, which is good thing since the entrance is pricey.
* can enjoy half the day walking around and taking picture from different design they had

over all i enjoy the place and kids enjoy the different swimming pool they had.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank simplyelai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

La Virginia Hotel and resort is a bit pricey and over decorated. Our family ( we are seven adults) took a time off and went there to relax and bond with each other. There is an entrance fee of 300pesos each and we rented the bamboo house which 8,000pesos for an overnight use that has 2 bedrooms with a TV, AC each room and a dining area. The bedroom is not spacious, it will fit 2 persons only and the restroom is too small. The room is dirty, it has cobwebs on the ceiling, floor is also dusty, TV loses its reception every now and then and you will only get FEW LOCAL channels.

For 8 hectares of resort, it is quite big and lots of pool to choose from. Theres also a Jacuzzi area but we are unable to use it since it is being repaired. I said it was overdecorated since there are LOTS of movie/cartoon characters that are being displayed everywhere. They also have color green ponds, color green because of the moss! I wonder why they are not cleaning it.

I wish the resort has a golf cart since the place requires you to walk uphill. They also have zipline rides (which I tried!),and wall climbing. I wish they will also waive the entrance fee if your are going to stay overnight.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank cheriching
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

I am scheduled to do training in Batangas in a few weeks time and I was looking for a hotel where I can stay. Saw signs of La Virginia Hotel & Resorts the area of Mataas na Kahoy in Batangas so I followed it. Upon reaching the place, the guard approached my vehicle and told him I wanted to inquire about their rates and wanted to see their facilities. Unfortunately, he wanted me to leave my vehicle outside where the road was very narrow. I did not bother arguing and immediately turned around and drove away. Its unfortunate that these resorts ignore potential walk-in clients and let their guards act as front liners.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
23  Thank iamgelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mataas Na Kahoy
5.1 mi away
Hotel La Corona de Lipa
Hotel La Corona de Lipa
#3 of 7 in Lipa City
93 reviews
4.4 mi away
Anfa Royale Hotel
Anfa Royale Hotel
#6 of 7 in Lipa City
62 reviews
12.8 mi away
View Park Hotel
View Park Hotel
#3 of 26 in Tagaytay
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
The Suites at Mount Malarayat
10.0 mi away
Club Balai Isabel
Club Balai Isabel
#1 of 2 in Talisay
583 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Zillion Builders Pavilion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Virginia Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Virginia Hotel & Resort

Address: Barangay Manggahan, Mataas Na Kahoy, Luzon 4223, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Calabarzon Region > Batangas Province > Mataas Na Kahoy
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mataas Na Kahoy
Number of rooms: 72
Also Known As:
La Virginia Hotel & Resort Mataas Na Kahoy, Batangas, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing