We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you enjoy an Oasis in the Desert,then this is for you.,”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Springfontein
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Springfontein Guesthouse
Somerset West.
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“If you enjoy an Oasis in the Desert,then this is for you.,”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

A very warm welcome by Graeme,with his very English and beautiful voice with no trace of his Scottish roots. Superby furnished bedrooms,so comfortable. One of those rare places that has down pillows,so welcome.Everywhere you look the inside walls are covered with the most interresting art of all types. Of course there are the odd bits of Wedgewood around but it will be the furnishings and art that will catch the eye. Lovely dinning by canlelight exsperience,served so graciously. Breakfast just right. Second visit even better than the one that brought us back again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    15
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
7
29
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
George, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Who would have thought that you would find such a charming guesthouse in this "one horse town" ?
After being welcomed by a frightfully English gentleman (although he told us his roots were in Scotland !!) We sat in the beautifully furnished lounge where we had sun downers. The three course meal was absolutely lovely, with a choice of two dishes with each course. Our room was very comfortable and even had electric blankets on the bed - it was minus 3 degrees that night ! After eating a substantial breakfast, we bade farewell, and departed in our lovely clean car (yes, our car had been washed).
Highly recommended if you need a bed and meal for the night, we would stay there again :-)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Sometimes its not all the amenities in an establishment that you are after but rather a bit more of a human touch, charm and character. Springfontein House run by passionate Graeme Wedgewood, is a strategic place to visit while travelling the N1. But please don't aim for an early night, join Graeme for a lavishly prepared dinner and enthusiastic conversation over a glass of wine. He has plenty of stories worth telling.
Ideal N1 stop-over en route to Cape Town or Joburg (or anywhere in between).

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theEXPEDITIONproject
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberton, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

My hubby and I were pleasantly surprised with Springfontein Guesthouse!! The host, Graeme with his quirky sense of humor was entertaining and friendly!! The food was excellent and we dined by candlelight in the very elegantly decorated dinning room!! Our travel plans changed on short notice and we were on the road again before breakfast. Graeme organised and prepared a delicious "padkos pakkie" for us despite the short notice, truly going the extra mile!! Our room was spacious, beautiful with a very comfortable bed and we enjoyed a much needed good nights sleep!! We will definitely make use of Springfontein Guesthouse as our overnight stop in future!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liza P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

To sum it up: very depressing bad attitude from the owner, undercooked veg and overcooked lamb, way overpriced dinner, centipedes, insects and cobwebs all over the room. The website says woolen bedding and silk curtains which was the furthest from the truth. It also says graeme is a kind and entertaining host, we found him rude, stingy, unfriendly and grumpy. Seem like he is going through a tough time and taking it out on his guests. The breakfast sloppy eggs were yuck. When we complained about the insects in the room we got the cold shoulder. When we asked for more bread we got a very rude and reluctant yes. Would not recommend this as a stopover. If the owner Graeme would have at least had a better attitude, he would have redeemed the overpriced underkept place. When we paid he also demanded that we leave a massive tip for the staff so we landed up paying much more than we expected. He also wouldn't let us leave without signing the guestbook. The only positives were the delicious dessert, the friendly pets and the sweet kitchen staff. And the best part was getting out of there.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miricle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 November 2012

A real unexpected surprise in the little town of Springfontein. A great stopover to break up the trip between Joburg & Cape Town. Facilities were good, food was excellent & the staff very friendly. I would definitely go back and look forward to meeting the owner, Graeme, who was out of town for our visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goodoak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Graeme was a kind and genteel host. My husband and I stayed 3 nights on the way to Graaf Reinet and 3 nights back and during these stays had lovely meals by candlelight with tasteful decor and art featuring on the walls. Graeme was an attentive host and made us very welcome. He has a vast knowledge of South Africa and the especially the local area.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LesleyMalcolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Springfontein Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springfontein Guesthouse

Property: Springfontein Guesthouse
Address: 32 Van Riebeeck Street, Springfontein 9917, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Free State > Springfontein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Springfontein
Hotel Class:3 star — Springfontein Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guest House with 5 en-suite bedrooms. Old world charm with interesting art on the walls. Three course dinner served by request and fully licenced. Pet friendly. Graded 3 star by the Tourism Grading Council of South Africa ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing