We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special and Unique”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Walindi Plantation Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kimbe
Certificate of Excellence
sydney
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Special and Unique”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Walindi is a remarkable place in a relatively off-the-beaten track part of the world. People who are willing to go the extra mile organizing their holidays come here for what is a unique, and special experience. Believe all the positive reviews. I won't go over the detail they already provide, but I will say don't expect run-of-the mill luxury, but do expect attention to detail (the bungalows are just lovely), the highest quality of food and accommodation in relatively difficult circumstances, and care for each visitor from this family-run resort. Added to the well-documented natural and unspoilt beauties of Walindi is a set of people who really made our holiday experience unique, the owners and their staff. A special mention has to go to Gary Kulisek the exceptional Dive Manager, and his great diving crew (thanks Freddie, Dominique, Oscar, Victor and the others). It's hard to capture the combination of diving expertise and life experience on offer from Gary in particular, but I can't imagine anything like the attention we got as dive novices (including my young daughter) at any conventional dive resort. From what I saw, this is a resort that deserves full marks for what it does locally, and what it does for its visitors. For clueless foreigners like us, it was a special introduction to the best of Papua New Guinea and the Pacific. We've already booked to go back!

Room Tip: Stay in a bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank artvize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    43
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
26
62
29
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vordernberg, Austria
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

The resort with its warm and welcoming crew makes you feel home! The tropical garden gives you thousends of photo opportunities. Diving was great and super perfect organised. You can rent everything you would need, forget or lost! You feel like coming home, when you enter the Walindi Plantation Resort!

Room Tip: Bungalows... only the two of you :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabine_Hausner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wattens
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

The resort is a beuatiful haven inmidst a wild country. The staff is excellently trained, the rooms clean, spacious and in the middle of a tropical garden. It is astonishing, how good the service is, one can feel that this resort is family owned and since many years in business. The dive center offers perfect diving, photographers will be happy as everything is easy and nobody interferes if you decide to dive 75 instead of 60 minutes - the freeedom many divers are seeking!!! Well, maybe they dont have a white beach in this resort, but who comes to PNG for a beach?! Max and his wife are doing a great job, the receptionist Emma is extemly accurate and the dive center manager, Gary, is probably the most funny guy in PNG - and he really knows a lot about the reefs as well as the wrecks in the area. The liveaboardship, FEBRINA which is operated out of Walindi is a MUST DO. Alan, the captain, knows the reefs and places since many years, and his crew ist outstanding - especiall the dive guides Josy and Digger!!! WALINDI and FEBRINA: a place you always want to come back!

Room Tip: Bungalows are more private then the longhouse
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Werner T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Just returned from a week of scuba diving at Walindi which is now under the supervision of Gary Kulisek. Excellent dive operation. Great dive leaders (we dove with Martin and Dominick). Knowledgeable, personable, cautious, and flexible. Gary is a character who knows his business Entire lodge is very well fun. Staff is very attentive. PNG is not an easy place to get to from the US. But if it is in your travel plans and if you are an avid diver this is a dreamy place to spend a week.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Howard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Londra
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We spent 14 days in Walindi for scuba diving. We were very unlucky with the weather as it poured for half the time we were there (despite not being the rainy season). This ruined the visibility on the diving too which we found average for the region, with only a couple of dive sites really outstanding and nothing we had not seen before, and in more spectacular quantity/quality elsewhere (eg Timor, solomons). The dive operation is well run and the local staff are great and very helpful. The boats are not the most comfortable ones especially if many people are on them at any one time. Gary is very friendly, helpful and larger than life for sure. Kimbe bay is beautiful, the scenery is gorgeous, with plenty of small islands with a rich vegetation and fauna, turquoise waters, the volcanoes. As for the accommodation, we stayed in a bungalow and it was spacious, clean and comfortable (apart from the chairs on the verandah!). The resort grounds are beautiful, the gardens are well kept, full of stunning flowers and the forest is amazing, loads of birds and butterflies everywhere. The food is good, especially at dinner, we never had the same buffet choice so plenty of variety. The wifi works well in the reception/dining area and is free which is great. The local staff are all so friendly all the time. However there are some negatives! While we had no problems at all, there is an issue with safety in PNG and guests are invited not to walk anywhere without being accompanied, and to remove anything even the smallest piece of jewellery when outside the resort. the tourist guide would not drive us to see a geyser due to local villagers stoning the car on a previous visit. The beach is non existent... Especially in front of the bungalows, you can't even get to it, not even for a walk, from the rooms. The view from the first few bungalows is not great, there is an area full of old tyres, which is not pretty to look at. There are tons of flies when it doesn't rain which means if you want to try and sit somewhere in the sun or the shade to read its impossible. There aren't many places to 'relax' proper, and where there are (such as front of the bar/pool) it's hard to do so because of so many flies! The pool is cleverly photographed: it's tiny and right in front of the restaurant and the bar and reception so not exactly inviting, in the whole time we were there I only saw two kids swim in it once. The owners are friendly, always available and dine with the guests, which is commendable especially as they have run the hotel for many years. Yet it's maybe the fact that it feels you are amongst friends that prevents guests from getting a 'hotel' type service, which would match the cost of a stay here. For example there is a poster advertising scenic flights. I asked how much they would cost. The answer was 'I have no idea, you need to ring them, but anyway they are expensive'...so are two weeks at Walindi! Why even advertise it? Anyway. I am glad we went to Walindi and PNG but given our bad luck with the weather and diving, the long and unreliable flights (the local ones), the cost, the safety issues and the malaria risk, I would not go back.

Room Tip: Bungalows are worth the extra cost as they are more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheDivingFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walindi, General Manager at Walindi Plantation Resort, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property and we are glad that you had a good experience with us overall. There are a few things I would like to clarify however

• Guests are more than welcome to venture out and explore the area around the resort on their own if they wish and many guests do. We do however prefer for a staff member to accompany you to show you around areas that are OK for tourists to walk around. This is not because of safety issues but out of respect for local’s private property as we are in a rural setting.

• There seems to be a misunderstanding regarding taking off jewellery. We do recommend guests leave their jewellery and valuables in safe keeping and only wear modest jewellery so as not to draw attention to yourself and this is very much a universal precaution when travelling overseas. We do advise guests to remove all their jewellery when doing the Hot River Tour and this is because the sulphur in the volcanic river tarnishes jewellery.

• At no stage were any of our vehicles stoned visiting the geysers because Walindi Resort has not visited the geysers for over 20 years. It is a tour we do not offer. We do not go there because there are competing land claims over the area and therefore we choose to stay out of any local arguments. You can visit the site independently if you wish.

• We do apologize for the ‘old tyres’ in your view, we are currently reclaiming some land adjacent to the jetty and this has been tidied up since your visit.

• Walindi Resort is a small family run resort and prides itself in offering a friendly family feel service. We like to treat our guests as friends while still offering great service and we are sorry that the level of service you received was not at the level you expected.

• Walindi offers some of the best value for diving in PNG. Unfortunately PNG is a very expensive country to operate in and we need to charge accordingly to cover our costs.

• I do apologize for the answer you received regarding the helicopter tour and again I believe this is a case of ‘lost in translation’. This is a tour that is not operated by Walindi and as the price depends on the cost of fuel, our staff are instructed to call the helicopter company first to get the current price – which is as of 29/Aug/2013 US$1000 for 30 mins.

• While you cannot access the beach directly from the bungalows you can access the beach in front of your bungalow from the jetty area. A staff member would have been more than happy to show you if you were not sure.

• During your visit the wet season unexpectedly continued into April so as you rightly noticed visibility was not the best and there was an outbreak of flies. We are happy to report that the visibility is back to normal and the majority of flies have gone away.

Regards,
Cheyne Benjamin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaggenau, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Our fourth and unfortunately also our last stay during our journey through Papua New Guinea in May 2013 was the WALINDI Plantation Resort, which is located in the north of New Britain. After a 1.5 hour flight time from Port Moresby to Hoskins and nearly an hour ride with a minibus we arrived the resort which is based at Kimbe Bay.

LODGING:
The WALINDI Plantation Resort is located amongst a huge tropical garden. There are 12 bungalows and 2 houses with 4 rooms each available. All bungalows offer enough space and a lot of privacy as well. They are all beautifully furnished and each one has its own terrace from which you have a dreamlike view into the green of the garden as well as onto the ocean. Everything is perfectly cleaned up, every day the rooms are scrubbed and you get lots of beautiful flowers from the garden in your room as decoration everywhere. The employees are all very considerate, friendly and well trained. Also a laundry service is available, even free of charge. Because of a 24 hours generator a full-time energy is guaranteed. Max and Cecilie built up the resort with lots of lifeblood and love for details. The WALINDI Plantation Resort is a family business, accordingly to this fact their son Cheyne now leads the resort. A round through the tropical garden in the evening with a torch is really recommendable: beside lizards, toads and frogs a lot of other small animals can be discovered. Also a variety of excursions are provided: whether birds- or butterfly observation, a bath at the hot sources or a trip into the jungle to the relicts of the second world war. It is advisable to offer up some time and not only commit yourself only to diving.

FOOD:
The bar as well as the restaurant are centrally arranged to the resort and skirting the trimmed pool area. For breakfast you can choose from different warm dishes. Bread, toast, jam, fresh fruits, coffee, tea and different kind of juices were constructed on the buffet. You can help yourself at the coffee- and tea bar the whole day. For lunch you can choose between 6 and 8 dishes. If you spent the day on the dive boat they were providing sustenance. Rice, salad, fish, chicken, different kinds of vegetables and fruits were served. For dinner you can select your menue from various starters, main courses and desserts. So everybody gets what he wants. Basically the dishes are breathed on asian and western kitchen.

DIVING:
The dive center of WALINDI Plantation Resort is guided very professionally. Dives were planned very detailed, among a selection of more than 30 dive spots we had the agony of choice again and again. We were lucky being the only diving guests during our stay. Generally the dive boats are not occupied with more than 8 divers so relaxed diving is guaranteed. The dive guides were acting on our interests thoroughly. Whether macro or big fish, for every department the right dive spot exists. Huge swarms of mackerels and barracudas were on the agenda. Also sharks have been spotted during every dive. We also had the luck to discover a school of false killer whales during our boat drive from one dive spot to the other one. Fins on, jump into the water. Pretty shy but very imposing to watch. Also at Kimbe Bay the house-like and intact sea fans impressed us very much, as well as the fantastic visibilities.

RÉSUMÉ:
Thanks to Max, Cecilie, Cheyne and Ema as well as to the head of the dive center Gary Kulisek and his guides who all made our stay to something special. We lacked for nothing. The possibilities of excursions and dives are available in such big numbers you generally have to stay for three weeks or more to explore everything. The WALINDI Plantation Resort was the perfect conclusion of our journey. Special thanks again to the whole team. We can warmly recommend this resort and we would be pleased seeing this beautiful peace of earth another time again.

Mel & Dave

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Just returned from PNG -stayed 6 nights at Walindi mid July -outstanding diving,extremely well organised ,all staff super friendly and nothing too much of a problem.Gary (dive instructor/captain) very funny lots of fun and very professional - clear diving debriefs allowing flexibility and safety. Accommodation beautiful ,private and quiet -appreciated coffee plunger with ground coffee from Goroka .Dirty clothes laundered daily as requested at no extra charge and personal dive gear rinsed in fresh water at the end of each day.
Looking forward to planning a return trip next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RichardHayes2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kimbe
167.9 mi away
Rabaul Hotel
Rabaul Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rabaul
48 reviews
168.2 mi away
Gazelle International Hotel
Gazelle International Hotel
#5 of 7 in New Britain Island
42 reviews
171.3 mi away
Rapopo Plantation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
168.6 mi away
Kokopo Beach Bungalow Resort
Kokopo Beach Bungalow Resort
#3 of 7 in New Britain Island
90 reviews
0.0 mi away
Liamo Reef Resort
Liamo Reef Resort
#1 of 1 in Kimbe
20 reviews
157.3 mi away
Kabaira Beach Hideaway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walindi Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walindi Plantation Resort

Property: Walindi Plantation Resort
Address: Talasea Highway, Kimbe, New Britain Island, Papua New Guinea
Phone Number:
Region: Papua New Guinea > Islands Region > New Britain Island > Kimbe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kimbe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Walindi Plantation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walindi Plantation Resort, established in 1983, is an intimate dive resort situated on the shores of Kimbe Bay on the island of New Britain, Papua New Guinea. Celebrating over 30 years of operation, the resort is world famous for its quality of diving, international award-winning photography and warm hospitality. The resort's guest book reads like a Who's Who in the world of Sport Diving and Underwater Photography and the resort has been voted to have the "best diving from a resort anywhere in the world" by reader surveys. Walindi Resort offers 12 traditional style, self-contained bungalows spread along the beachfront and surrounded by rainforest gardens along with 8 Plantation House rooms. Bungalow facilities include en-suite bathrooms, ceiling fans, large windows to catch the tropical breezes, kitchenette with tea and coffee making facilities, and private verandas overlooking the beach and gardens. The central resort area is the social hub of Walindi and includes the tropical and airy reception and dining room, lounge and bar area, swimming pool, sundeck, boutique and a comprehensive library with computers for guest internet connection. Wireless internet is available in the main resort area. Catering to a small number of guests at the resort means you receive undivided attention, yet the freedom to feel every dive has been made for you alone. Good company, great food, friendly staff and a relaxed atmosphere provide a perfect backdrop while you enjoy the delights of Kimbe Bay diving. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Walindi Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walindi Plantation Hotel Kimbe
Walindi Plantation Resort Kimbe, Papua New Guinea - New Britain Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing