We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must on any PNG trip!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Walindi Plantation Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kimbe
Certificate of Excellence
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A must on any PNG trip!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We spent a few nights in April 2014 in Walindi Plantation Resort. Despite the bad weather there were some of our best days during our stay in Papua New Guinea. Location, Staff and Service, as well as the food were perfect. Also, the resort's own dive instructor including team was extremely professional. Definitely a must on any PNG trip.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miloezger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walindi, General Manager at Walindi Plantation Resort, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear miloezger

It was such a pleasure meeting you both and thank you for visiting us!

I do hope the rest of your journey through PNG was a successful one and it is good to read that Walindi stood out on your trip.

We hope to see you again.

Regards
Cheyne Benjamin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    43
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
26
62
30
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Reading through the recent reviews I can only agree with virtually all positive comments about the resort environment, rooms and communal areas as well asd the diving operation.
By way of adduitional endorsement I would really like to bring out the interactions with the people and FeBrina crew who really made the differance and prove it's the little things that make the difference.

Like many people we were combining the liveaboard experience with a shorter stay on the mainland at the resort.

From first arrival on the boat to beyond leaving, the whole crew worked with the sole purpose of making the small number of guests trip the best they could, from helpful support when gearing up, to treats & delicious food, guiding underwater - from critter spotting to help with strobes and underwater photography techniques all carried out in a spirit of helpfulness and great humour really raised this from a good to great trip.

Once on-land this focus was replicated from Joseph and his trips out to service beyond and above expectations when the plane taking us out was delayed from a flat tyre for 10 hours resulting in the resort sending a van to look after us for the duration of the probelm and an additional 2 trips ferrying some back to the resort when the plane couldn't take of until the next day.

It's this type of service that you see causes alot of loyal and repeat guests, and given the number we came across not only does it seem to work, but I think we may have to become one of them.

Room Tip: Rooms to the west facing have the better sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandeville1322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walindi, General Manager at Walindi Plantation Resort, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Mandeville1322

Thank you for your excellent review and kind words. We can understand the stress caused by the technical problem of the aircraft and we as part of our service do everything we possibly can to help and thank you for acknowledging the extra mile our staff go in assisting in these situations.

The crew on MV FeBrina are certainly some of the most experienced in the country and consistent positive comments certainly shows.

Joseph is also a very long term employee and is part of the Walindi family, he certainly excels in his role as the tour guide manager and is a very popular with our guests.

We really do hope to see you again, hopefully with a smoother flight experience!

Regards
Cheyne Benjamin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

After visiting great diving spots Palau and Yap, but also Guam (not recommendable for diving)
we spend the week from 29.03. - 08.04.2014 in the Walindi Plantation Resort, we called it the
Wet Paradise. We alived rain showers every day in a moisture climate anyhow.
But this were compensated with great dives (24) in the Bay of Kimbe.
Amazing corals, fishes, turtles and others in crystal clear waters and not to forget the boisterous dolphines we met every day on the ride back home to the dive center.
The services on board and around the dives are remarkable good. Friendly and very
helpful dive guides makes the dives highly enjoyable.
And if you have any questions Capt. Gary Kulisek the Dive Ops Manager will explain you the world.
The good room service, free laundry and the excellent fish dinners must be mentioned.
We had a great time in the Walindi Plantation Resort.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank i_ruettinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walindi, General Manager at Walindi Plantation Resort, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear i_ruettinger

We thank you for your review and it is great to see you enjoyed the diving and service provided. No matter how many times we see dolphins it is always a highlight to see these beautiful animals!

We hope to see you both again soon.

Regards

Cheyne Benjamin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Before boarding to liveaboard Febrina (highly recommended) I stayed couple nights in bungalow and dived with the resort crew. The room had all the necessary features, and also some extra like fridge. I was only missing a mosquito net for bed. Resort is clean and staff are very helpful. Even if we had some winds, the Kimbe Bay was calm and there were plenty of dive sites to select from.
Outside the resort it's worth a remark the road condition from Hoskins airport is very poor, and the airport terminal is very basic.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walindi, General Manager at Walindi Plantation Resort, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Thank you VDiver for your review!

It is always a pleasure to hear that our staff were very helpful and you enjoyed your time with us.


We do not have mosquito nets in the rooms as the windows have insect-mesh on them. However, if guests request a mosquito net, housekeeping will set one up for you.

Now that the weather has improved the provincial government will begin works on the roads. Also, the good news is that Hoskins airport is currently undergoing some upgrades including an extended runway and a new terminal! While it is still going to be a small terminal it will be a vast improvement on the current one.

Cheyne Benjamin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This was my second time visiting Walindi resort, and I had an even more incredible time than last time! Any faults that Walindi has (and I am very hard pressed to think of any) were made up by the kind and wonderful people that worked there, the spacious and clean rooms and of course the optimal dive sites.

Gary, Stef, Fred, James, Lucas, Victor, Arthur and all the guys at the dive centre were absolutely amazing, helpful, entertaining (and in Gary's case I'll really stress entertaining), and knew so many incredible things about the beautiful reefs, and really contributed to making our stay a really memorable one.

Gary Kulisek seems to have done so many incredible exciting or just amusing things in his life, that you wish you had an underwater communications system so he could talk while you are diving as well!! He is so experienced and a really sweet (don't tell him that) and hilarious guy.
My dad and I were doing our Advanced Course with NAUI, and he made things interesting and fun, peppering everything with anecdotes that really seem to relate to what you are doing.

While not diving, if you hang out in the hotel seating area for long enough you get served some delicious plantain (I think it's plantain) chips. Be careful, as they could spoil your appetite for dinner! As with last time, I think the only small problem was the vegetarian choice in food which tended to be somewhat limited.

Also, a big thank you to Max, Cecilie, Ema, Cheyne, Diane, Freddie, Ettie and everyone who helps make Walindi Resort the paradise it is.

Note: I recommend the night dives, as they are breathtaking.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna-Sophia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walindi, General Manager at Walindi Plantation Resort, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Anna-Sophia,

Thank you so much for the great review, I will let all the staff members know! It was a real pleasure to see you and your family again and congratulations on obtaining your Advanced Certification.

Your comment about the limited choice of vegetarian options has been noted and we hope to make it up to you on your possible return visit later in the year.

The chips are indeed plantain chips and we sometimes serve sweet-potato chips which are always delicious.

We look forward to seeing you all again.

Cheyne Benjamin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Walindi for 2 nights before getting on board the Febrina for a dive trip. The cabins are spaced out and set in beautiful gardens with views of the Bismarck Sea. There is a bar, a tiny pool and some nice chairs. The free laundry service is a bonus especially if you are traveling light! If you are looking for a nice place to relay it is a good destination. If you are looking for a big, splashy resort, you probably won't find it in PNG.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank kristamck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I stayed in one of the bungalows for a night before the MV Febrina went out on a seven day dive trip around Kimbe Bay. The area is quite beautiful and the rooms were really nice. During this time, there was much rainfall and we did get quite a few mosquitoes so be sure to bring spray although the resort does provide roach killer in all the rooms.
The food is good and there is a lot of it. The staff is friendly and very accomodating; as are the other guests. Everyone is quite friendly. Joseph organised a volcano walk up Mt. Habuna which was really great. You must be fit for this as it can get very difficult. The guide tells me he often needs to turn around mid way because the guests will not make it to the top in time before dark so make sure you know your fitness and don't risk disappointment. The steam geysers and sulfur pools were spectacular. If you're fit enough I would give it a go. Some of the other guests took the less physical land tours and absolutely loved it. Highly recommended!

The dive trip on the Febrina was really nice. The rain did bring down the viz slightly but as for the diving I would say that the fishlife is very plentiful and the corals are outstanding. I suppose due to the fact that PNG doesn't get cyclones nor hordes or divers who touch, kick and stomp all over the corals, the formations and structures are allowed to grow to enormous lengths and sizes. I was quite impressed with this.
Digger and Josey are excellent local guides who can spot anything you wish and will take the time to show you if you miss it.
The boat has very comfortable cabins. I actually could nap between dives it was that comfortable. I was impressed with this as well.
The food is great. Chef always cooks up really great meals. The soups are just perfect after the dives and the mains are really great and filling.
The rest of the crew is great at keeping the rooms tidy, doing your laundry if you require, filling your tanks and sorting your gear if asked. Especially at the end of the trip, the crew cleans and dries you gear before your trip ends so you never have to worry about packing away wet and dirty gear. They definitely earn their tips believe me!
The skipper Alan is amazing. He brings us to the most amazing dive sites and it always safe and extremely competent. Also very polite even when some guests are testing his patience; I was amazed :)
Thanks to Gary and Stephane. You guys were great!
Also dealing with Cheryll in organising this trip; a more pleasant experience you could not ask for. Quick responses regarding prices, payment, services, airport pickups, drop offs, all the little peripherals of a holiday that you don't want to deal with, she makes it happen.
I had a wonderful time and would strongly recommend this trip. You'll get pristine diving and lots of it. PNG diving is really everything they say it is.

Cheers!

March 1-7 2014 Febrina Liveaboard

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jcohen32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kimbe
168.2 mi away
Gazelle International Hotel
Gazelle International Hotel
#5 of 7 in New Britain Island
42 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Port Moresby
Holiday Inn Express Port Moresby
#3 of 15 in Port Moresby
78 reviews
171.3 mi away
Rapopo Plantation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
168.6 mi away
Kokopo Beach Bungalow Resort
Kokopo Beach Bungalow Resort
#3 of 7 in New Britain Island
91 reviews
0.0 mi away
Liamo Reef Resort
Liamo Reef Resort
#1 of 1 in Kimbe
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walindi Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walindi Plantation Resort

Property: Walindi Plantation Resort
Address: Talasea Highway, Kimbe, New Britain Island, Papua New Guinea
Phone Number:
Region: Papua New Guinea > Islands Region > New Britain Island > Kimbe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kimbe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Walindi Plantation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walindi Plantation Resort, established in 1983, is an intimate dive resort situated on the shores of Kimbe Bay on the island of New Britain, Papua New Guinea. Celebrating over 30 years of operation, the resort is world famous for its quality of diving, international award-winning photography and warm hospitality. The resort's guest book reads like a Who's Who in the world of Sport Diving and Underwater Photography and the resort has been voted to have the "best diving from a resort anywhere in the world" by reader surveys. Walindi Resort offers 12 traditional style, self-contained bungalows spread along the beachfront and surrounded by rainforest gardens along with 8 Plantation House rooms. Bungalow facilities include en-suite bathrooms, ceiling fans, large windows to catch the tropical breezes, kitchenette with tea and coffee making facilities, and private verandas overlooking the beach and gardens. The central resort area is the social hub of Walindi and includes the tropical and airy reception and dining room, lounge and bar area, swimming pool, sundeck, boutique and a comprehensive library with computers for guest internet connection. Wireless internet is available in the main resort area. Catering to a small number of guests at the resort means you receive undivided attention, yet the freedom to feel every dive has been made for you alone. Good company, great food, friendly staff and a relaxed atmosphere provide a perfect backdrop while you enjoy the delights of Kimbe Bay diving. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Walindi Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walindi Plantation Hotel Kimbe
Walindi Plantation Resort Kimbe, Papua New Guinea - New Britain Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing