We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great fish” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The White Horse Overstrand

The White Horse Overstrand
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Overstrand
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Ridgewell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Great fish”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Just arrived home from a great weekend away in Overstarnd. Stayed in a caravan and couldn't decide between the hotel next door or The White Horse for dinner. I'm so glad we chose The white horse. We booked for 8 o'clock on a Saturday night when we arrived it was busy and was told there would be a delay. No probs we are on holiday. The menu was superb, 4 of us chose the tapas sharer. It did take 45 minutes but we weren't to worried as the bottles of wine were slipping down well. When it came it was worth the wait it really was fresh and tasty. We then ordered 2 sea bass 1 Turbot and a Salmon all were stunning dishes with a great dish of a asparagus with new pots included. 2 of us then had puddings. Mine was a white chocolate parfait which is the best I have ever had. We loved the meal so much we went back the next morning for breakfast and the quality of the ingredients was fantastic very good tea and coffee. A full English is £6.95 which was very good value. The service by James was great. Will be back soon.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank angela a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    125
    50
    33
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Good meal.Good service.Thank you.The restaurant was very clean.The staff are very friendly and quick.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank dinochen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Time for Change”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

The pub is often empty these days not surprising as on our last visit we were very disappointed with the quantity and quality of the food. The pub lacks atmosphere and we felt that we were just being a nuisance by being a customer rather than being welcomed like a friend. We long for the more traditional pub with the log fire to welcome you in winter and a traditional and informal seating arrangement in the bar area. It may be time for a change!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank angela b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Gone down hill”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

The White Horse used to be a gastro pub serving excellent food. Well, not anymore.
There weren't many diners at lunch time. There was a table of 4 who had already ordered. We chose this pub because previous food was good and you can take your dog in. We ordered and 3/4 hour went by. In that time the table of 4 had their meal and one of them was given the wrong plate of food and it was sent back for the right one. The right plate of food took so long the rest of the man's party had finished their meals. Are food came when they were paying the bill,of which, one meal was deducted from the price. We had starters which were passable, but when the main meal came it was awful. I had a herb crusted loin of cod served with mixed beets. The herb crust was an uncooked paste and underneath it was partially raw cod. I couldn't eat it. I just ate the vegetables because I was so hungry since we had waited so long for it. There was only one person front of house and I reckon the chef was on holiday and the pot washer had been put in charge. The meal was deducted from the bill and we left feeling very disappointed and let down.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great fish&chips!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Dined at the pub on the Saturday of Easter weekend with family, we booked a table and it's a good job we did because it was rammed! Seeing as we were all on our seaside holiday we were very boring with our menu choices and all had the fish and chips! It was a great choice, good value for money, sizeable and tasty too! The sharing starters weren't such good value and a little on the small side but tasty nonetheless. Good choice of drinks on offer and staff were attentive. All in all a good experience and I'd highly recommend!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ht227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The White Horse Overstrand also viewed

 
Overstrand, Norfolk
 

Been to The White Horse Overstrand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing