We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The White Horse
Nearby Hotels
Sea Marge Hotel(Overstrand)
US$338
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$253
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Cromer Country Club by Diamond Resorts(Cromer)(Great Value!)
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$213
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$208
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$227
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sandcliff Guest House(Cromer)(Great Value!)
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$240
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Manor Hotel(Mundesley)
US$146
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$356
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$275
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beechwood Hotel(North Walsham)(Great Value!)
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (223)
Filter reviews
223 results
Traveller rating
104
69
28
11
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
104
69
28
11
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubbouncy castlefamily roombunk bedsroom was largean evening mealthe cliffsunday lunchbiscuitscrabfish and chipslovely mealgood sizecooked to perfectionshort breakcooked breakfasta lovely stay
Filter
Updating list...
161 - 166 of 223 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Stayed for one night with our dog. We got a family room, which gave plenty of room for our Labradors travel kennel.

Room spacious and well decorated. Good breakfast in the morning too! We were able to book tables for breakfast and dinner that allowed us to eat in the bar with our dog.

Nice walk down the beach into Cromer - but do check tide times!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Muttley67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

A nice local pub with rooms! modern decor which in a way does the pub a disservice in my opinion. the bar and restaurant furnishings immediately made me think of a Premier Inn. Food was good, we ate in the restaurant in the evening, it was a bit noisy and you could hear loud music drifting through from the bar. Buffet choice of Juices and cereals at breakfast as well as a cooked breakfast menu. I chose Bacon- very sweet, black pudding and poached egg - it was a very small breakfast, two eggs and 2 pieces of black pudding would have made it look like breakfast.
We booked at the last minute and were in a family room although there was only two of us. A large room with a large bathroom. The bed was a little uncomfortable and there was a hollow in the mattress therefore you did seem to always end up in the middle if the bed. Furniture, fittings and Bedding are of a very high standard.
Just one final thing the soundproofing around our room was non existent and so we were disturbed in the evening by noise from a family who sounded like they were just outside the door and directly above us at the same time.

Room Tip: Not Room ! if you want it to be quite.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappySue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed at the White Horse for a long weekend and it was virtually flawless - excellent food, a comfortable, well-appointed room and friendly staff. Food like sweet potato cakes with curried chick peas are far more ambitious and tasty than the fare you'd fine down the road at Cromer. I would thoroughly recommend the White Horse as a base to explore the lovely coastal village of Overstrand and other nearby attractions, such as Cromer, Blakeney Point and Holt. The minor quibble that prevented it from obtaining full marks was a slight dip in the level of service at breakfast-time, with some of the dishes not being exactly as described on the menu, due to non-availability of some ingredients - if the staff had said in advance that a particular item was missing, that would have been fine. But like I said, a minor quibble and we'll certainly be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JournalistLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

we stayed in the white horse for two nights, we could not fault one thing about our stay. The room was lovely,,,,,, view lovely, nice and quiet. We did not not have to get up early for breakfast as it was from 8 to 10 in the morning. The in is very central to cromer and other places. The staff are all very nice and helpfull.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shirley g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I have just been to The White Horse, Overstrand for an evening meal with my family and it was wonderful. The food is delicious and beautifully presented by the obviously talented chefs who put a lot of effort and creativity into all their dishes. The rest of the staff are friendly, polite and attentive to their customers. The pub, which is tastefully decorated, caters for all ages and has a lovely garden for children to have fun in. After we had eaten we had a relaxing stroll to the beach which is only a three minute walk away. All in all, a perfect evening.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank POLLY132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews