We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tranquil seaside escape”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The White Horse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The White Horse
Ranked #2 of 4 Overstrand B&B and Inns
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tranquil seaside escape”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Stayed here for the weekend with my partner for some r & r, absolutely lovely. The room was large, clean and very comfortable. There is free wifi throughout the hotel, bar and restaurant. Staff were genuinely friendly and helpful. The food from the breakfast to the dinner menu was superb, great quality and cooked to perfection, not a great selection if you are vegetarian. It's only a few yards from the beach and the coastal footpaths.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 27max
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    58
    25
    8
    8
See reviews for
45
107
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

Very disappointed to find only 1 room booked instead of 2, despite booking a table for 4 in the restaurant for New Year 13/14.......,3 weeks after querying that no confirmation had been sent....all rooms then full so had to cancel.

James promised to refund £40 deposit but 5 weeks later still no refund.

They have lost the plot !

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Food excellent, room contemporary, staff lovely!! What a find! Reluctant to give a good review in case it becomes so popular, we can't get in again! Small friendly, contemporary hotel, a few minutes walk from the beach, will take dogs, close to Cromer and several popular tourist places. Just right for a few days away from it all!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ck40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

As my heading states, the food we had for Sunday lunch was very good, but the times between courses were very long, I am not sure if this was due to training of satff or lack of staff, for Saturday and Sunday you really do need plenty of staff, the owner may want to take note and although I would say not fantastic value for money, a bit on the pricey side for Norfolk, this review could have really been four or even five stars if the service had been that much better.
For a family with children, waiting this long would be a real challenge.
We would attend again, but the speed of service really needs to improve.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianismyname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, England
Level Contributor
70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

This was our third visit to The White Horse in Overstrand, and it did not disappoint. We love having a room above a bar and restaurant, where we can stay with our dog and walk along the beach to Cromer, or visit one of the other beaches along this lovely part of the country. We dined in the bar so that we could be with our dog, and the food was excellent. My only two points for improvement would be the cleanliness of the room (especially our bathroom) and the slow food service in the bar on Saturday night - but these points don't take away from another great stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vijay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

This is the second time that I have visited the White Horse - the first being with a mate on a bird watching trip but this time with my wife.
It is very hard to find a fault.
Firstly, due to terrible traffic we were late arriving and dinner was due to finish. Yet we were told to unwind and relax and dinner would still be sorted for us. All the staff were friendly, helpful and accommodating and we immediately relaxed.
Being rather tired we had a quick steak which turned out to be a superb rib eye and lovely fresh chips and sweet vine roasted tomotoes.
A pint of Humpty Dumpty (one of an excellent range of local real ales) and all was well with the world!
Our room was perfect. Comfy bed, shower room and tea and coffee making facilities with nice little extras such as the bottles of free mineral water and biscuits.
The second evening we also ate and drank more!
Wonderful homemade chicken satay with firey peanut sauce was a particular highlight. We botj had lamb for our main course which was equally excellent but slightly spoiled as the bed of spinach it was served on had not been washed properly so was full of grit.
Shame as this would have been a perfect meal too.
One again though, the staff were excellent throughout and the manageress (if she was not then she should have been!) was outstanding and could not have done more for us.
If you are looking for a Pub with great beer, food and atmosphere on the North Norfolk coast then look no further.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garyswhelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow, England
Level Contributor
77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

Nice food, garden fantastic for toddlers - bouncy castle an great climbing frame. Meant could relax a bit and send kids off to play!

Had the crab and terrine both good .

The pub restaurant looked nice too!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank sharpeyMarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Overstrand
0.1 mi away
Sea Marge Hotel
Sea Marge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Overstrand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#1 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Virginia Court Hotel
Virginia Court Hotel
#3 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Cliftonville Hotel
1.5 mi away
The Grove
The Grove
#5 of 28 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Horse

Property: The White Horse
Address: 34 High Street, Overstrand NR27 0AB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Overstrand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Overstrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Horse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seaside pub set on the beautiful North Norfolk coast, Two AA rosette restaurant and 4 star accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Agoda, Book Direct Rooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your The White Horse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Horse Overstrand, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing