We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Back to basics camping, wonderful view.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Overstrand
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Overstrand Campsite
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Back to basics camping, wonderful view.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Stayed for three nights. Staff were brilliant, very helpful and proficient. The sea view is fantastic. Cafe very reasonable. Facilities are fairly basic, as advertised so no surprise, very clean. Location is perfect for the beach and local town, Cromer. This an old fashioned english campsite with few frills, lovely place to visit.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bowmore5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    15
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Having stayed in the Eurotents a couple of years ago, I suggested a short break with another family during the summer holidays. We had an already erected 6 berth tent with all equipment provided including electric and a fridge. We had a fab couple of nights and I have booked to go again this weekend.
Great to go with children as no worries about trying to put up and take down the tent, a little games room on site and a small playground just outside the site,the kids go off and make friends and play and mummy gets to relax and read her book :-) everyone very happy.
Lovely being on the cliff top with a 2min walk to a wonderful beach and great for bodyboarding etc. A good walk along the cliff top to Cromer and back if you are feeling fit, if not just jump on the local coast road buses.
Love the site and location, showers perhaps need cleaning a little more often due to sand etc blocking the drains, but they are always warm.
Thoroughly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JALWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely, UK
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

My brother and I (aged 17 and 19) stayed here in August for two nights. It was a great base for hiking along the coast. The facilities on site were basic but clean. Please note that the shop on site does not sell gas so make sure you take plenty with you! Only issue was that some parents on the site allowed their children to make noise as late as 11pm, not great when you plan to hike 16 miles the following day! Otherwise a friendly campsite with great staff and well-mannered fellow campers. Access to the beach was easy and quick (2 minutes walk) and as we had a small tent we pitched at the front with spectacular sea views. I would thoroughly recommend this site to anyone wanting a beach or hiking holiday. The cliffs are quite stunning so are of great geographical interest too.

Room Tip: If you a tent which is 3 man or less you can pitch at the front and get a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 504Emma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow, Uk
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Fantastic. My family camped in Overstrand from 3rd Aug for four days. I have two girls 16 and 11 years old and a wee boy aged 4. We travelled from just outside Glasgow, a 7 hour drive. Cost was £30 per night. The views and location are second to none. It is a pop up summer campsite on a field overlooking the beach. The facilities were 'rustic' and toilets and showers require a more regular and better cleaning routine, it has no WiFi despite advertising this(good for the adults but kids, well lets just say they adjusted after time) but that aside the place was family friendly and had a good mix of people camping there. Cromer is a beautiful small village (2 miles away) and well worth a visit. If you want a relaxing holiday, right on the beach this is for you. Would I spend 7 hours in a car to get here again, without a doubt.....

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank trendytrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

As a group of teenagers its often hard to find somewhere willing to put us up, but this campsite was especially accommodating! From offering to help us to put up our tent to suggesting places to visit, the staff at Overstrand were lovely and worked hard to make our stay pleasant. On top of the wonderful staff, the view towards Cromer and over the beach was amazing. Definitely recommend!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank acew6991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

As soon as we got to overstrand campsite, as a young group, we could see that the staff were going to have a problem with us.. They were rather unkind and on the first day, I cannot say I was enjoying my time there at all, they belittled the group and when we smiled at the two older owners of this campsite, they would glare at us, this was uncomfortable. The whole group I went with felt completely bullied at this campsite. HOWEVER, the views here are astounding, the young workers at the campsite were helpful and kind, the showering facilities were slow, but worked well. Despite the bad owners, the week I spent at overstrand campsite was the best week of my life. The hostility and behaviours towards young groups should be improved though, my advice to other young groups is, bring a £25 deposit (!!!) even if they don't tell you, and, ignore the fact that they may be rude to you, do not let it ruin this because the beach is fantastic and the cliff are super fun to climb

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank asdfghjiuytretgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

My friends and myself booked this a long weekend away at this Campsite (Commencing Friday 11th July 2014) and it made a Birthday weekend such a treat!
We done separate bookings, but the owners still managed to put our tent pitches together (thank you).

The Campsite:
Its a little difficult to find, small tiny road leading up to it, its between the cul-de-sac and a big car park on the cliff.
The site looks and feels secluded and we pitched right at the front the cliff and wouldn't want to wish for anything more to be honest, it was a beautiful location, spaced evenly apart and right on the cliff top walk. I'm still missing falling asleep and waking up to the waves... very relaxing.
The facilities were great, I never waited for the showers and the toilets were clean.
Great washing up area and a washing machine (costs £3.00, didn't use) and you can also charge up your phone in the hut.
There was two separate huts for those cold and rainy days, one was a kids area and one was a cafe/shop, where you can get your milk in the morning as well as nice sweetie treats.

All round service for this campsite was great, the site felt very communal and you were left to it but the staff always said Hello and you know that they would be at hand if you need any help/advice.

Location:
If you walk right off the campsite (along the coastal path), you walk into Overstrand, where there's a lovely little cafe on the cliff, we managed to get a good fry up Breakfast around 10:30 on a Sunday morning and there's a nice pub further into Overstrand where you can get your local Ales and nice food too!
Opposite the Cafe, you can see the walk down to the Seafront.
If you walk left off the campsite along the coastal walk, that will take you to Cromer. Beautiful 'countryside feeling' walk, which is hilly but beautiful views of the Norfolk coast.

Finally, I recommend this Campsite to anyone! Its great if you just want a break away from the hustle and bustle and to have a great time away with Family or Friends.
Thank you Overstrand Campsite for opening up this little treasure every July and August, its been a pleasure and hope to see you all soon.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zaranorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Overstrand
1.7 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#1 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea Marge Hotel
Sea Marge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Overstrand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Cliftonville Hotel
1.2 mi away
The Grove
The Grove
#5 of 28 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shrublands Farm
Shrublands Farm
#17 of 28 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Overstrand Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overstrand Campsite

Property: Overstrand Campsite
Address: Beach Close, Overstrand IP23 7PL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Overstrand
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Overstrand
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overstrand Campsite is located on the beautiful North Norfolk Coast, with sea views and beach access on your doorstep. With a warm and friendly atmosphere the campsite offers pre-pitched Eurotents alongside camping pitches and is a popular choice for families during the summer months. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Overstrand Campsite Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing