We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay.”
Review of Danum House

Danum House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Overstrand
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Danum House
Ranked #3 of 4 Overstrand B&B and Inns
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay.”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We visited this area for a short break by the sea and came across Danum House. It is a nice old cottage in Overstrand near to Cromer. We liked the charm of the building from the outside very much. The owner welcomed us and showed us our room. He was chatty and pleasant. The room was cosy and had everything that we needed and the bed turned out to be comfortable. The towels and sheets were clean. The building has an old world cottage feel to it, but that added to its charm in my view.. Danum House is not shining and modern but serves its purpose well. Our breakfast was good. The rates are very reasonable, and we would visit and stay again.

Room Tip: We only viewed one room, but that was comfortable and warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    10
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
21
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed recently at Danum House B&B. The cottage style B&B is charming and historic. The owner is polite and helpful. He offered to carry our bags in and showed us our room. The rates are very reasonable. We parked our car outside. We enjoyed our full English breakfasts very much. The rooms are clean and we had an ensuite room with shower. The bed was comfortable. It is an easy walk to the beach down a slope. The village has a church, pub, post office and shop and a posh hotel. The pub and hotel serve good food in the day time and evenings. There is also a conservative club that welcomes all and serves inexpensive drinks. The area is quiet and countryfied. We could hear owls at night in the trees near to Danum House which is nice.

Room Tip: Our room was at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baildon
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Pulled up outside and thought WOW! The ground floor was 'charming but very dated' but our disappointment was the main bedroom to which we were shown. It's the main bedroom with the huge bay window at the front of the house.

It was very shabby and not very clean, it looked like it had been sort of 'modernised' in the 60's and had not been decorated or cleaned since. The woodwork (lots of it) looked like someone had started to strip it many years ago, got fed up and not bothered with it since. The headboards on the two single beds were filthy with greasy hair stains and the double bed looked horrible with odd pillow cases, not too clean sheets and a cover that had been on it for years.

Everything in the room was odd, the TV at least 20 years old and barely hanging on the wall, the kettle was dirty, where do I stop...

The 'en suite' was disgusting, the toilet was dirty and needed some very strong bleach down it, everything about this place was of a very poor standard, hence the cheap rates. Needless to say we didn't stay although we had booked for 3 nights for a special occasion.

There was no way we could have stayed and slept in that bedroom, it was horrible. I can't comment on the breakfast obviously but staying here was never an option.

Room Tip: Choose somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank NizzerWazzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

A lovely big room in a delightful house a 5 minute walk from the beach. Friendly owner and lovely breakfast. Ok this place is in need of a revamp decor wise but what it lacks in that area it makes up for in charm. Would definitely visit again

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 929Janeyg929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

This is a quaint B&B just outside Cromer in a quiet area. We stayed for one night after a friends wedding reception nearby and it was fantastic. The room was large with a double and single bed in it with tea and coffee making facilities and a comfy sofa too! Breakfast was very good, made to order and provided with some chat from the owner which was pleasant. We were not there for all that long after getting in late and leaving early, but he did seem flexible about when we checked out to a certain extent. As some else pointed out he does only accept cash though which is something to be aware of although that may have changed now.

Cleanliness of the room was not as high as other places we have stayed but then it is a 200 year old house with ceiling beams etc... some dust can be expected.

Very good value for money and very highly recommended

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msms11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

A very friendly low cost B&B run by a very friendly guy.
The owner ( sorry can't remember his name) is a very charming man who seems to really care for the customers & if your a cricket fan he is happy to talk about cricket with you especially his time playing in his native South Africa.
The house itself is a large 200 year old house just outside Cromer (about a mile)
The room we stayed in was huge with a double & single bed. It was clean & tidy.
The breakfast was very good & he was happy to meet requests & give you more toast etc.
The wi-fi signal is very good.
If you stay here be aware he only deals in cash & doesn't take cards.
Great value for money & highly reccomended.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cloughiesgreenjumper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

A last minute booking but what a great find! We only booked one night as we were meeting friends and really wish it could have been longer. The owner is a of the 'old school', extremely polite and very helpful. The house is traditional beamed exterior with lovely panelling interior. Our bedroom was more like a suite with three beds, sofa, and window seat. Full English breakfast was delicious; good selection of cereals and as much tea/coffee and toast as we wanted.
Thank you for making our stay so enjoyable

Room Tip: Can't remember or room number but was at the front of the house
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter5521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Overstrand
0.4 mi away
Sea Marge Hotel
Sea Marge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Overstrand
509 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
724 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Cliftonville Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The White Horse
The White Horse
#2 of 4 in Overstrand
200 reviews
0.5 mi away
Northrepps Cottage Country Hotel
1.2 mi away
The Grove
The Grove
#5 of 27 in Cromer
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danum House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danum House

Property: Danum House
Address: 22 Pauls Lane | Overstrand, Overstrand NR27 0PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Overstrand
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Overstrand
Hotel Class:3 star — Danum House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B PRICES: £35.00 P/p per night. Family Rooms: £75.00 P/room per night. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Danum House Overstrand, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing