We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely stay”
Review of Sea Marge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sea Marge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Overstrand
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Stayed in a suite and this was very spacious. A few minor problems in the room but previous guests should have reported these so it is not all down to the staff. Meals were excellent and service superb - did not feel rushed at all. Check-in was OK but since there were 3 of us waiting it took a while but we were then escorted to the room (Horizon suite). This overlooks the lawn and has superb sea views. Car parking to offload luggage was difficult as the Sunday lunch guests had taken all the spaces including where we were supposed to offload but the rear parking is not far away from reception so no great problem.

Room Tip: Horizon suite is very spacious but quite a trek through the hotel but well worth it for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeithandMargaretH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (547)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

390 - 396 of 547 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed recently for a two night break in a suite.The hotel, in all it's splendour, both internally and externally is grand in appearance and is located in well maintained gardens that overlook the sea at the rear of the building.The suite was comfortable and spacious with a view overlooking the sea from the lounge. There was a TV in both the lounge and effectively en suite bedroom, therefore no excuse to miss a minute of the News 24 Channel! Constructive comments would include a noisy imitation 4 poster bed, it creaks when you look at it, and a shower and soap tray that are in danger of becoming detached from the shower cubicle wall. I feel an 'ouch' coming on! The staff are generally very laid back and accommodating with competences and professionalism at both ends of the spectrum.We have both dined and stayed at the hotel since it opened therefore we believe we are in a good position to review the food. In our opinion It as at it's best at the moment! On the day of our arrival on this particular visit we both chose Crab Thermidor for lunch, we prefer a cheese sauce with ours but we certainly are not complaining. A perfectly ample portion for lunch, beautifully presented. For main course on the first night to start we were both served Seared King Scallop and Ravioli of Cromer Crab and Langoustine - gorgeous. As a main course, my wife was served Fillet of local Beef with an Oxtail Croquette, perfectly cooked and to her liking. I had Confit Belly and Roasted fillet of pork with perfect crackling on the side! On the second evening, our starter was duck terrine with smoked duck and a gorgeous orange puree. For our main course we both opted for lamb.We were informed that we had benefited from the talent of the Head Chef of this group of hotels, he has certainly raised the game at this hotel. His combinations, flavours and tastes linger longer at a price that is very reasonable. We always opt for the informal style meal, preferring to eat within the bar area, good food in a relaxed environment, without the attention. A formal pretentious option of a dedicated dining room is available. Overstrand is the perfect retreat and the Sea Marge has so much to offer those visitors opting for hotel accommodation.Perhaps the management have an intention to raise the standard of the rooms to that of the dining experience?

Room Tip: Suites in the 'house' part of the hotel are favorable and located upper floor to appreciate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank payntes1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Our day at Overstrand and Christmas Day Lunch at the hotel at The Sea Marge Hotel was excellent. The sun shone on our first Christmas Day Lunch out. My wife and I enjoyed ourselves very much in deed.

I would recommend the venue but in my view the £75 charge per head was excessive for what we had. However a special day and that did not matter

Room Tip: Cannot say because we did not stay. This hotel is in a very quiet location with some wonderful cliff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colonel b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Stopped off here for lunch yesterday and was very impressed! The hotel is lovely in a nice setting and the food was delicious. The staff were courteous and friendly and it was great value for money. Did not stay in the hotel so cannot review the rooms but im sure they are lovely!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samab_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Absolutely awful, room meant to be double, could almost fall through gap in middle where two singles shoved together, standard lamp no socket to plug in, kettle not turning off, hot water luke warm, toilet flush not working properly etc. Staff unhelpful and almost rude, telling me I could not leave until I had paid! Had paid on booking not my fault if they cannot get their admin right. Also screaming brat in bar for at least 20 minutes without anyone trying to do anything about it. Never again!

Room Tip: Just do not choose that particular hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Marsbar3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Just returned from a 3 night stay with a group of family and friends, from start to finish all staff are very friendly, the service was fantastic and the food great. A beautiful building and we were allocated some fabulous rooms, all with individual character with views across the gardens to the sea. It is wonderful location, just be prepared to be able to walk down the slope o the beach. Thank you to all for making the weekend something that we all really enjoyed.

Room Tip: sea view on the first or second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnPay67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Just got home from a night at the Sea Marge, Fantastic staff all very helpful, cheerful and professional particular mention for Susan! The food was really good, the chef must be complemented I did not want my main course to finish at dinner (Halibut with a cepes tartlet) stunning and the sweet (mango cannelloni) to die for. The building itself exudes character with nooks to find peace and quiet with a newspaper or the main bar with a double height hall and magnificent fireplace. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Overstrand
4.3 mi away
The Links Country Park Hotel & Golf Club
1.4 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#1 of 7 in Cromer
797 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Dales Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Cliftonville Hotel
2 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#2 of 7 in Cromer
789 reviews
6.7 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Marge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Marge Hotel

Address: 16 High Street, Overstrand NR27 0AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Overstrand
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Overstrand
Price Range: £92 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sea Marge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the unique beauty of the North Norfolk coastline while staying in a magnificent grade II listed mansion steeped in history. Stroll through 5 acres of beautiful terraced gardens, enjoy cream teas, log fires, exquisite dining and access to an unspoilt beach, and experience the luxury of a country house atmosphere in a stunning cliff top location. For those who want to 'keep in touch' there is the added benefit of a free, wireless broadband connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Sea Marge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Marge Hotel Overstrand, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing