We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private Function in The Winston Room”
Review of Sea Marge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sea Marge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Overstrand
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I recently organised a meal with speakers in the Winston Room for 23 ladies from a local Tangent Club. The room was beautifully laid out, the food was enjoyed by all that attended. The staff at the Sea Marge were excellent and the evening went smoothly. Lovely room for private functions with views of the garden and sea. My husband and I eat regularly at the hotel and all the staff are warm & friendly, not just to the "regulars" but to everyone that visits the hotel. I can most definitely recommend a visit to The Sea Marge, full of charm and history. My brother in law from California loves to go there as he feels the peace and tranquility is a totally relaxing experience. Well worth a visit!

Room Tip: I have not stayed at the hotel as I live in the village. However I have had friends stay there and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Queen_Of_Diamonds5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sammy32England, Director of Sales at Sea Marge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent visit to The Sea Marge. I have passed your lovely comments on to all the staff that were on shift that day.
Thank you once again and we hope that you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (530)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

361 - 367 of 530 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

We held a two day anniversary celebration with several staying at the hotel and others joining for lunch and dinner.

Despite other reviews, the younger members of the family loved the gardens, beach and exploring the house.

Food and service was excellent, nothing was too much trouble.

The only challenge is WiFi, which needs some attention.

Thoroughly recommend, we will be back in the summer.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mulleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sammy32England, Public Relations Manager at Sea Marge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

We are all very pleased that you enjoyed your special weekend, we are planning to have some giant garden games at the Sea Marge later on for this year. In answer to the Wi-Fi we did experience difficulties at all of our hotels around that date and are happy to say that normal service has resumed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Had my 50th birthday in the Winston room with 18 guests ranging in age from 20 to 99. The hotel was very busy on the night we had chosen and yet the staff couldn't have been more attentive never leaving us waiting for service. The meal was exactly as we had planned and tasted fantastic.

A memorable evening that went exactly to plan in no small part to the attention to detail and dedication shown by the staff here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rowland_Earl-Gray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sammy32England, Public Relations Manager at Sea Marge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

I'm so pleased to have read that you had a very enjoyable special birthday dinner. I know that we all really enjoyed the evening and it was great to be involved in your celebrations. We hope you will pay us a visit again soon. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Our four poster room was was spacious and the bathroom very warm, light and modern with spa bath. Views across the garden to the sea made it very relaxing. There was no fridge in the room so we were not able to keep anything cool. Room service was available with an added cover charge. We were on a DBB basis and booked a table in the restaurant for 7.30. Having ordered our food, it was an hour before we were served. We finally finished a two course meal at 9.30pm. The food was average and the reason given for the delay was that the bar was busy. The front of house staff are good and hard working and multi-tasking! There just aren't enough of them. Check out is before 11am which makes breakfast a bit of a rush. I would stay here again but I would request a fridge and pre order my dinner to be sure of eating at a reasonable time. I also feel checkout should be 12 pm as this is not a business hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KerryEastAnglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Not often nowadays that am youngest in a restaurant!!!Sumptuous food but service a bit hit & miss!!Carvery great & after a lengthy wait our puddings were top-notch too !!!
Coffees in the lounge rounded off a pleasant lunch however once home discovered we had been over-charged to the tune of 2 extra coffees.A phone -call followed-nobody wants to be overcharged-mental note-CHECK THAT BILL!!
Dont know whether I'ld visit again-with so much choice around here establishments need to be at the top of their game !!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Mrs P
Just spent one night at The Sea Marge in Overstrand. Extremely helpful and welcoming staff particularly Ryan and Kayleigh. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room really spacious and clean. It was also very quiet. Evening dinner was lovely and all the staff were so friendly and approachable and couldn't do enough for you. Really pretty garden at the back to sit out in.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsAPringle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Had a fantastic stay at The Sea Marge Hotel. The staff were brilliant and couldn't do enough for you, a credit to Mackenzie Hotels. The food was also lovely with lots to choose from. Even our fussy eater was satisfied :-) Rooms were spacious and comfy. A sea view is well worth the extra cost. 

We will definitely return and will also be recommending the hotel to our friends. 

Thank you Sea Marge

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Mrs C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Overstrand
4.3 mi away
The Links Country Park Hotel & Golf Club
1.4 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#1 of 7 in Cromer
756 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Cliftonville Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
The Dales Country House Hotel
1.9 mi away
Virginia Court Hotel
Virginia Court Hotel
#3 of 7 in Cromer
363 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mundesley
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Marge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Marge Hotel

Address: 16 High Street, Overstrand NR27 0AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Overstrand
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Overstrand
Price Range: £106 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sea Marge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the unique beauty of the North Norfolk coastline while staying in a magnificent grade II listed mansion steeped in history. Stroll through 5 acres of beautiful terraced gardens, enjoy cream teas, log fires, exquisite dining and access to an unspoilt beach, and experience the luxury of a country house atmosphere in a stunning cliff top location. For those who want to 'keep in touch' there is the added benefit of a free, wireless broadband connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LateRooms, Cancelon, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sea Marge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Marge Hotel Overstrand, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing