We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A big family party for our daughters First Holy Communion”
Review of Sea Marge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sea Marge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Overstrand
Holt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A big family party for our daughters First Holy Communion”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The lunch we had at the Sea Marge last Sunday was fantastic. From our first visit to view the lovely Winston Room and discuss our requirements with the manager, to the moment we left, the service and attention to detail were faultless. Holly was really efficient at making all the plans, and communicating with us weeks ahead of the lunch.
On the day Sarah, and all the ladies looked after us brilliantly, nothing was too much trouble, and we had a delicious lunch. 20 of us were served promptly, and everyones meals were excellent - I don't believe a there is a better value three course menu anywhere in East Anglia. The whole thing from start to finish was perfect, and our eight year old, whose party it was, loved every minute.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    151
    61
    40
    27
See reviews for
111
261
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We got married in Cromer on May 30th and, living outside the area, brought a number of guests to stay with us at the Sea Marge where we held the reception. We also held an informal buffet lunch the next day. From the day I booked until after the wedding, I can tell you that we had a wonderful experience. Holly Edwards was our co-ordinator and did a great job but all the staff were wonderful. So much for the generics...you'll want to know the details so here goes. We were able to offer our guests a choice of dinner for the wedding breakfast [set menus are also available but we liked the idea of offering a choice]. Everyone LOVED the food - not just the wedding breakfast but the other meals we enjoyed there including breakfast [well cooked, good selection etc]. The waiting staff were attentive and the meal went very smoothly. The Winston Room is lovely for a wedding. Wood paneled and with views over the garden to the sea - we felt it was a great setting and it looked immaculate with cream chairs and cloths. There are some negatives...the hotel is made of the original building and a "cottage" which are linked by a corridor. Our suite was in the cottage part and was lovely but it was a little walk and a flight of stairs away from the restaurant and bar and you have to go past the kitchens and negotiate waiting staff at times. I had to do this in my wedding dress!! The plumbing in our suite was...well...old style. I've seen pics of other rooms with very modern looking showers and bathrooms but we didn't have that. Yes, we got a claw foot bath but the shower hot water wasn't constant or had a powerful jet and the toilet roll holder kept coming apart!! I'd have swapped the bath for a great shower but that's me. There was no full length mirror in the suite...and there's me in my wedding dress and couldn't see it all!! We weren't really bothered by this but it's worth noting. All in all, we loved it. A wedding is a big thing. We wanted it to be right and I am delighted we chose the Sea Marge. They helped make MY big day. We [and a number of our guests] will be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LandM45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overstrand, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I recently organised a meal with speakers in the Winston Room for 23 ladies from a local Tangent Club. The room was beautifully laid out, the food was enjoyed by all that attended. The staff at the Sea Marge were excellent and the evening went smoothly. Lovely room for private functions with views of the garden and sea. My husband and I eat regularly at the hotel and all the staff are warm & friendly, not just to the "regulars" but to everyone that visits the hotel. I can most definitely recommend a visit to The Sea Marge, full of charm and history. My brother in law from California loves to go there as he feels the peace and tranquility is a totally relaxing experience. Well worth a visit!

Room Tip: I have not stayed at the hotel as I live in the village. However I have had friends stay there and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Queen_Of_Diamonds5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sammy32England, Director of Sales at Sea Marge Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent visit to The Sea Marge. I have passed your lovely comments on to all the staff that were on shift that day.
Thank you once again and we hope that you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felsted
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We held a two day anniversary celebration with several staying at the hotel and others joining for lunch and dinner.

Despite other reviews, the younger members of the family loved the gardens, beach and exploring the house.

Food and service was excellent, nothing was too much trouble.

The only challenge is WiFi, which needs some attention.

Thoroughly recommend, we will be back in the summer.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mulleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sammy32England, Public Relations Manager at Sea Marge Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
We are all very pleased that you enjoyed your special weekend, we are planning to have some giant garden games at the Sea Marge later on for this year. In answer to the Wi-Fi we did experience difficulties at all of our hotels around that date and are happy to say that normal service has resumed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Had my 50th birthday in the Winston room with 18 guests ranging in age from 20 to 99. The hotel was very busy on the night we had chosen and yet the staff couldn't have been more attentive never leaving us waiting for service. The meal was exactly as we had planned and tasted fantastic.

A memorable evening that went exactly to plan in no small part to the attention to detail and dedication shown by the staff here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rowland_Earl-Gray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sammy32England, Public Relations Manager at Sea Marge Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
I'm so pleased to have read that you had a very enjoyable special birthday dinner. I know that we all really enjoyed the evening and it was great to be involved in your celebrations. We hope you will pay us a visit again soon. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Anglia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Our four poster room was was spacious and the bathroom very warm, light and modern with spa bath. Views across the garden to the sea made it very relaxing. There was no fridge in the room so we were not able to keep anything cool. Room service was available with an added cover charge. We were on a DBB basis and booked a table in the restaurant for 7.30. Having ordered our food, it was an hour before we were served. We finally finished a two course meal at 9.30pm. The food was average and the reason given for the delay was that the bar was busy. The front of house staff are good and hard working and multi-tasking! There just aren't enough of them. Check out is before 11am which makes breakfast a bit of a rush. I would stay here again but I would request a fridge and pre order my dinner to be sure of eating at a reasonable time. I also feel checkout should be 12 pm as this is not a business hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KerryEastAnglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Not often nowadays that am youngest in a restaurant!!!Sumptuous food but service a bit hit & miss!!Carvery great & after a lengthy wait our puddings were top-notch too !!!
Coffees in the lounge rounded off a pleasant lunch however once home discovered we had been over-charged to the tune of 2 extra coffees.A phone -call followed-nobody wants to be overcharged-mental note-CHECK THAT BILL!!
Dont know whether I'ld visit again-with so much choice around here establishments need to be at the top of their game !!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Overstrand
1.4 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
706 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Links Country Park Hotel & Golf Club
6.7 mi away
The Dales Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Cliftonville Hotel
9.5 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
578 reviews
1.9 mi away
Virginia Court Hotel
Virginia Court Hotel
#3 of 7 in Cromer
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Marge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Marge Hotel

Property: Sea Marge Hotel
Address: 16 High Street, Overstrand NR27 0AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Overstrand
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Overstrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sea Marge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the unique beauty of the North Norfolk coastline while staying in a magnificent grade II listed mansion steeped in history. Stroll through 5 acres of beautiful terraced gardens, enjoy cream teas, log fires, exquisite dining and access to an unspoilt beach, and experience the luxury of a country house atmosphere in a stunning cliff top location. For those who want to 'keep in touch' there is the added benefit of a free, wireless broadband connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HRS, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sea Marge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Marge Hotel Overstrand, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing