We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Orient Beach, SXM Aruba Bldg. #3106 in Mont Vernon”
Review of Hotel Mont Vernon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Mont Vernon
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cul de Sac
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2014

If you had complaints about this beautiful complex, Mont Vernon, you did not stay in Aruba Bldg.#3106, which is best bldg.location in complex for beach-parking access. Affordable, not cheap, condo with breathtaking Orient Beach sea views from a covered lanai, living area. Condos individually owned & managed. Wide,well lit concrete walkways lead to lower parking, Grounds, maintained weekly, are unbelievable with flowering shrubs-trees, a shangri-la pool -comfy chaises. Jean-Pierre Pilard, owner, personalized his condo with ultra modern kit., xtra closet spaces, bathrm, comfortable King bed and living area furn., beautiful tiled floors, PLUS it’s sparkling clean, Bug-Service, Storm protection..don't worry, storm shutter. Walk within 5-10 minutes to beach, parking, pool, restaurant with great angus burgers, island music, and buy a jug of passion fruit rum. Always rent a car (best price-no problems -Banana Location email Mickael (resa@bananalocation.com). We noticed 24 hr. security guards, especially parking areas, we felt safe on late nites. Bruno, asst. to owner, is always as close as the phone, if needed. Although we had a washer in condo, we chose to use the inexpensive, laundry on site..Great! Yes, we loved this “wonderful find” and hope to stay 3 wks (instead of 2) next year! Vacation perfection!

Room Tip: Aruba Building, #3106, short easy walk to parking and pool, with true Orient Beach views Park on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank WatchDogMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2014

The view from the beach is wonderful and the beach extends for miles. You have a large variety of restaurants located directly on the long stretch of beach. I find Hotel Mont Vernon to be extremely quiet; would definately recommend it to someone who was extremely ill and needed extreme quiet. Orient Beach is one of the best beaches in St. Maarten.

Room Tip: Oceanview rooms give you the opportunity to see that beautiful beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tar2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I actually stayed here via air bnb and it was a great location. Right on the beach, with a deck and kitchen. It is right by Grand Case and Marigot. There is a big supermarket nearby. You really need to rent a car. It is right on Orient Beach, probably a mile from the main Orient Beach area. Easy to walk on the beach. A couple of times we just walked down to the beach and saw the sunrise and sunset. The parking and getting around the complex wasn't as bad as the other reviews have said. I guess it depends where your apt is located. I was pretty close to the pool.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank CNP_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We just got back from St.Martin last week. We rented 2 units from Amaury and his brother. Both units in Sabo bld. were clean, everything was functioning properly, no complains, great view, the beach is very nice. The kitchenette was perfectly adequate for cooking breakfast or a small meal ( we had a 2 year old child with us, so did some cooking every day ). We bought groceries at the supermarket , although their fresh fruit and veggie selection was truly atrocious. As the others mentioned, the climb from the parking to your unit is not an easy one if you have health issues ,especially in the heat, so do not underestimate that! You will need to carry in your luggage, groceries and you will need to take out your own garbage to the dump at the gate!
When you book, do find out if you need to buy your own toilet paper and garbage bags ( we did ) , and how to request cleaning and linen service ( we washed towels ourselves, they will get misty in a few days)
The property itself is so so, the buildings need to be painted and maintained better, but the greenery is maintained nicely and is quite pretty. Curiously, there are a lot of cats on the property, thus urine smell , especially on the lower floor.
A few things to mention for those who will be bringing their young children with them :
The pool area has plenty of shade, but there are no chairs or umbrellas on the beach itself. Our baby desperately wanted to play in the sand and it was a challenge to keep her from burning up, even with clothes and sunblock. In hind site, i wish we rented an umbrella and chairs from Amaury, it would have made our lives easier, as she was too bored in the pool area
The ocean too rough for a small child , there are waves . You will need to hold your child constantly while in the ocean, which they of course don't like and they never want to get out of the water because its so much fun ( as opposed to the pool , where you can just stand nearby and let them play to their heart's content ). but there is a kiddy pool .
There really isn't much to do on the property for kids other then the beach / pool, plan accordingly

The food is great on the island, but pricey, over $100 for dinner for 2 ppl, but you can score slightly cheaper meals for lunch. Grand Case is the place to visit, its nearby and has multiple restaurants , some right on the water. I loved their bread, and there is a bakery on the road to the 'hotel' ( and a french - Cajun restaurant)

Do get a car, you wont regret it, the island is quite picturesque

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank biana d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We found this rental through VRBO. We should have paid more attention to the reviews. The parking at the property was really hard to manage to get to our unit with luggage. It was uphill. After weather conditions made us miss our connecting flight, we did not arrive in St. Marten until 9:30 p.m. We contacted the owner originally and she had us contact her property manager. When we called the property manager she instructed us on how to get to our unit. She also told us that she would have to charge us if we wanted her to come show us the unit (she lives on the property but I guess it was too late for her). We couldn't find the unit and finally got the security to take us to our unit with their golf cart so our luggage would not be so burdensome. The next day when we did talk with the property manager, we told her that the ceiling fan was making a terrible noise, we asked her to show us how to use the TV and that the refrigerator wasn't working properly. We went to the supermarket the first day and got food and drinks.

Our ceiiling fan was never fixed. The refrigerator quit working and we had to throw our food away after a couple of days. We had to buy ice each day and it was not cheap ($2.50 a bag) which melted each day. The TV was okay. The owner did deduct a minimal amount from our balance of the rental.

The parking was far from our unitl and when we left each day, the hike was bad.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Srfranks55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

As have many others, we rented from Amaury and Thibault who own Bistrot Caraibes in Grand Case. They were great to work with, and I would recommend them highly. I never used VBRO or HomeAway before this trip, so I didn't know what to expect. I contacted them about one of their units and they advised that the one on the web that I saw was not available. They promptly sent me pictures of the unit we stayed in, and it was just as they described. It provided us the means to eat our breakfast on the balcony everyday while we looked out over the ocean. We had dinner in the room 2 of our 11 nights on the balcony too.
The beach on the North side of Orient bay is NOT crowded at all. There may have been 40 people in a 200 yard stretch of beach at the most crowded times. The sand was soft, and although there were some waves, the beach sloped gently into the ocean.
We walked down the beach for lunch most days, as there are several good restaurants right on the beach just a five minute walk from Mont Vernon.
The pool was recently re-lined and the area around the pool provided plenty of shade for all who wanted it. It is the French side of the island, so there were several topless sun bathers of all shapes and sizes both at the pool and the beach.
Since we stayed for 11 nights, we opted for linen service and cleaning one time. You can get that daily if you choose to do so. I saw no point. The unit has a washer in it and a very functional kitchenette.
We ate at Bistrot Caraibes in Grand Case and I'll review that in detail in another review. All I will say here is GO THERE TO EAT!!! You won't be disappointed.!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Henry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We’ve stayed almost three weeks in this studio apartment and we enjoyed every second of our stay.
Being part of the former Hotel Mont Vernon (now converted into private owned condo’s) the apartment is situated on the east side of the island, ensuring you a nice refreshing wind all day long. The apartment is situated right in front of the ocean and is literally a few steps away from the beautiful Orient Bay beach and a spacious pool. The view from the terrace is stunning, especially in the early morning. The premises is lying on a hillside so be prepared for a firm walk from and to the parking (cars are not allowed to park next to the buildings).
The furniture and decoration of the apartment are in a warm colonial style. The studio is cleverly divided into a sleeping area and a living area. The king size bed is very comfortable. The couch can be turned into a sofa bed, so the apartment is also suitable for families with young children. The kitchen is fully equipped and the bathroom is nice and functional.
There is free wireless internet, TV with eight American channels (e.g. CNN, NBS, ESPN) and several French channels. There is a DVD-player, a CD-player and some books (English and French). There is ample information and maps of the island available for you to prepare (and take on) your tours.
The owners, Christian and Chantal, are very nice and warm people. Our flight was delayed by more than 9 hours and all the shops were closed upon arrival. Chantal had bought us bread and groceries, as a service. The owners also invite you for a trip on their private boat. This is an absolute must do!
We recommend this condo to everyone and we will most certainly come back here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ariebeukenoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cul de Sac
2.1 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
1,816 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Playa Orient Bay
La Playa Orient Bay
#4 of 8 in Orient Bay
606 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alamanda Resort
Alamanda Resort
#5 of 8 in Orient Bay
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#2 of 8 in Orient Bay
330 reviews
2.2 mi away
LOVE
LOVE
#4 of 8 in Grand Case
302 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mont Vernon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mont Vernon

Address: Rue du Mont Vernon | Baie Orientale, BP 1174, Cul de Sac 97150, St Martin / St Maarten
Region: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Saint-Martin > Cul de Sac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cul de Sac
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Hotel Mont Vernon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mont Vernon Hotel
Hotel Mont Vernon Cul De Sac, Saint-Martin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing