We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Broome Park - Peaceful break assured” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Broome Park Golf and Country Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Broome Park Golf and Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barham
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Broome Park - Peaceful break assured”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

I've stayed in Broome Park twice as part of a young family, the last time being April 2011.
We stayed in a 2 bed lodge which has all the amenities you would need and every aspect of the lodge is comfortable. The only 2 things to be aware of is that the lodges are pretty close together, so if you need privacy close your curtains, secondly their are only freeview (so very limited) channels and the reception for the tv caused the picture to freeze several times (on both occasions we were there). It's a very seculded and peaceful location though and an abundance of 'little' wildlife make for an entertaining alternative viewing option when the tv is 'taking a break'.
Grounds immaculate and also very peaceful, lots of space for our 2 year old to run around in perfectly safely and a delightful garden with hedges, nooks & crannies and a little pond (with fish) to play 'hide & seek' in while mum has a break taking a well earned bath!
Pool is approx 10 metres with a suana attached. Very small gym, ok for cardio but that's it.
Squash and tennis courts also on site.
Good golf course on site, full driving range and a putting green present too. On site Pro (Tienie?) is a really top bloke as well, highly recommended to iron out any kinks in your game.
Little games room/library for the kids. Full size snooker table with a definite 'tilt' to the left which would annoy the serious player!
Staff always friendly and helpful in my experience.
Is an isolated location so a car is recommended, but bus stop right outside the property so travel to local towns relatively simple.
No playground that i saw for the kids and no grocery store on site (both unusual for a Diamond resort).
Locally would hugely recommend the 2 wildlife parks, Howletts and Port Lymphe. Howletts maybe 15 minutes drive away and PL more like 40 minutes. PL has a safari trail as well which does a very good job of representing an African plain. Hugely recommended if you want a taster of the real thing.
Also great walking to be had in any direction from the facility. Didn't really have an opportunity to take advantage with the bambino in tow.
All in all a great choice for anybody wanting a very peaceful break away from the hustle and bustle of urban life.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Superdu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clara W, General Manager at Broome Park Golf and Country Club, responded to this review, 17 March 2012
Thankyou very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Broome Park.
You will be pleased to hear that since your visit in April 2011 these units have actually been partially refurbished: they have brand new bathrooms, new soft furnishings and have been decorated throughout. We are looking into improvements of the television signal and we are aware that this is a problem during summer when the trees are in leaf and during bad weather.
We are looking into purchasing a weight bench this year to use along with the dumbbells that are in the gym to give the option of a weight bearing exercise rather than just cardio-vascular. We have also looked into the possibility of a play park for children and this is something that we plan to do in the future. If you decide to come back to Broome Park, there is a good pub “The Duke of Cumberland” around 10 minutes from Broome Park which has a really good play area for children.
I do hope that you decide to return to Broome Park and experience the newly refurbished units and if there is anything that we can help you with in making a booking, please let us know.

With Best WIshes,

Clara Wilkinson (Resort Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    59
    11
    4
    4
See reviews for
75
72
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

We are members of Diamond Resorts and use our allocated points to stay around Christmas at Broome Park, as our grand daughters love the Log Cabin! We have stayed every year since they were born it has become part of our holiday! Amazing setting amongst kent counstryside, staff, food, swimming pool everything is so special. Cant speak highly enough of this wonderful venue. It holds so many happy memories as our daughter was married here 7 years ago and we hold all our family occasions here as they cater for anything! Well woth a visit............

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindanan09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clara W, Manager at Broome Park Golf and Country Club, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
First of all I would like to personally thank you for your positive feedback. It’s lovely to hear that our resort has provided some great memories for you and your family, and I’m sure you will have many more in the years to come. Myself and the Broome Park team look forward to seeing you for your next visit, be it a family occasion or your next holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

Amazing setting. Lodge was beautiful and so clean. Everything was perfect. The cleaners came everyday and when we needed some help in figuring out the settings on the dishwasher the maintenance man came within 10 minutes. All of the staff were very friendly, genuine and sincere. Nothing was too much bother. Great swimming pool with super clean facilities. The restaurant had amazing meals which were very reasonably priced. Broome Park is perfectly fantastic and makes for a perfect holiday! Congratulations to the staff for it being so clean.

Room Tip: All the villas have been renovated - We stayed in an "un-renovated" villas which was fanta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachelsmithtorquay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clara W, Manager at Broome Park Golf and Country Club, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Thank you for your kind words regarding the resort’s presentation and cleanliness, the staff work very hard to ensure everything is in perfect order ahead of your stay. The housekeeping team will be thrilled to hear that their efforts are not going unnoticed. I hope that you are able to come back and experience one of our newly refurbished lodges which have been transformed with a stylish new decor, fixtures, fittings
and new furniture. Many thanks again for taking the time to write your review, and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

A thank you to all the staff at Broome Park who catered for my brother's funeral wake. The staff were so kind and professional it made the occasion positively enjoyable. I would thoroughly recommend this venue, wonderful grounds, beautiful house but it's the people that make it so special, can't speak highly enough of them.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wiglet63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clara W, General Manager at Broome Park Golf and Country Club, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
I am delighted to hear such positive feedback regarding your visit to Broome Park. I will be sure to pass on your comments to the catering staff, they will be happy with your kind words.
Thank you for your recommendation, and I hope that you consider us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

We spent 2 nights here in a lodge and wished we'd spent longer. Lovely lodge very well furnished with everything you need. 2 bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms. Very quiet and peaceful.

Staff very friendly and extremely helpful

Didnt eat there so cant comment on restaurant.

Lots of lovely walks . Recommend highly.

Room Tip: Lodge 13 lovely. 6 were being refurbished when we were there so ask for one of those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank childrensprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

Recently stayed at Broome Park with 4 other friends. We had more than enough room with 2 bd rooms and a pull out couch. There was a full kitchen and a washer and dryer. If there was an issue it was with the original guide that was recommended in the hotel brochure, " Richard" was not to our liking and did not full fill the arrangements we had set up with him. Through the front desk we were give the name of the local taxi run by "Barry" and we set up tours of London with his driver "Martin". I can't say enough good stuff about this tour. He picked us up at 5am and we returned late in the evening. We saw so much of London for 2 days straight, many things that most tourists would never find on their own. Plus Martin covered so much history with us and was very informative. We so enjoyed our time with him and would highly recommend hiring him for any areas in the London, Canterbury and Dover countryside. There was also a very nice pub The Jackdaw less than a mile away that has a very interesting public footpath the runs between Broome Park and the Inn through some fields and pastures that we had fun taking. Overall it was a great experience !

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare C, Manager at Broome Park Golf and Country Club, responded to this review, 1 November 2011
I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at Broome Park and was very pleased indeed to read that overall you enjoyed your stay with us.
I do however want to apologise for the disappointing experience you received regarding one of the local tours, but please be assured this matter will be given our full attention and consideration for future. Thank you for choosing to stay with Diamond resorts at Broome Park and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Clare Croose
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fenton, Illinois
Level Contributor
509 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

I can not say enough good about this week stay at Broome Park. My friends and I arrived in a taxi in the middle of a rainstorm and the ladies behind the desk donned their rain gear and took all of luggage to our cabin in their own cars!!! They did not have to do this but the did. The front desk ladies were extremely helpful all the time with every one of our requests. We needed a tour and they arranged it. If we needed a bus schedule they had it.
The cabin was very clean and had everything we needed for the stay.
I would recommend renting a car. You can get by with the bus system but if you are used to driving in your own country I think you would be happier with the freedom to come and go as you pleased. I was told by a gentleman that we ladies could definitely drive on the left side of the road with no problem but alas we did not do it and it was a detriment to our enjoyment.
The pub was comfy and the food we ate two nights in the restaurant was very good.
I would stay again as it is a wonderful place.

Room Tip: All the cabins are the same and all nice with a deck on each one. The wildlife was nice to see.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peonyrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barham
6.8 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
7.4 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,747 reviews
7.3 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#4 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
7.3 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
8.0 mi away
Howfield Manor Hotel
Howfield Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chartham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broome Park Golf and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broome Park Golf and Country Club

Property: Broome Park Golf and Country Club
Address: Broome Park Canterbury Road, Barham, Canterbury CT4 6QX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury > Barham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Broome Park Golf and Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have you ever wondered what it would have been like to own your own country estate? At Broome Park Golf and Country Club you can experience the feeling for yourself.The grade-1 listed building at this elegant resort is a stunning example of 17th century Jacobean architecture. Steeped in history, Broome Park, which boasts a traditional British-style pub and elegant dining choices, dominates the estate in which you will find your contemporary woodland lodge.A private, 18-hole championship length golf course is just one of many sporting attractions to divert your attention before you strike out to discover Kent—the Garden of England—and medieval Canterbury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Broome Park Golf and Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broome Park Golf And Country Club Hotel Barham
Broome Park Golf And Country Club Kent/Canterbury - Barham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing