We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“another great time at BP, lovely lodges”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Broome Park Golf and Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We have been lucky enough to be treated by a friend to a few days at BP in
one of the lodges, and this year was no exception. Very well appointed lodge accommodation, two bedrooms, three TVs, well equipped kitchen, two large comfy sofas.
Even though it's close to Canterbury, in one of the lodges you feel as if you are deep in the countryside, and at night you can just hear the leaves rustling. Perfect!
Staff extremely helpful as ever, golf great, my friend has booked in for next year!! hooray
I would also like to leave a review for Angie and her husband at YogaNature spa, in the mansion house, very well worth a visit, lovely relaxing treatments in a peaceful location.

Room Tip: we have Lodge no 8, near the 'turning circle' for loading/unloading your gear
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank foodiesCanterbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 230 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2013

We stayed in the Mansion House for a week in a first-floor room with a stunning view over the 18th green of the golf course. The vast entrance hall with two open fires was very welcoming. The bedroom was huge with high ceilings, a large bed, plenty of chairs and sofas and good Sky service on the TV. The only slight downside if you were really expecting to be self-catering is that the partial kitchen only has a microwave, toaster and fridge - this wasn't too bad because there are so many good places to eat nearby ( not just in Canterbury which is less than fifteen minutes away but also at the local pubs which were excellent), however the absence of a sink in the kitchen was a small irritation. We didn't eat at the on-site restaurant but did take advantage of the golfers cafe that opens at 7.30 in the morning for breakfast items. Overall a very favourable impression of a place to stay in a stunning setting.

Room Tip: Stay in the Mansion not the lodges, unless you are a family and need to self-cater.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NormanLewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Broome Park Golf and Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2013

It is a part of our ethos to deliver great quality of accommodation and excellent standard of service to all our guest and we are pleased to read that we have been successful, however we are sorry if you found the kitchen facilities in your apartment not sufficient. We hope that this has not caused you any inconvenience.
We are glad to know that you have made the most of our location and enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next visit to Broome Park Golf & Country Club!

Clara Wilkinson
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

My husband and I had our wedding at broome park on the 4th April 2013. I can not rate Broome Park highly enough. From start to finish the day was amazing. The main house and grounds are perfect for a wedding. There is plenty enough room for everyone and the hospitality we all recieved was brillant. All of our guest were made to feel welcome and were looked after in every way possible.
We had our ceremony in the main house which was beautiful, although they do have the wonderful gardens which you can have the ceremony however it was snowing lightly and rather cold hence why we were inside. This was not a problem as the room inside is plenty big enough and just as magical.
We tehn had our wedding breakfast in the main house and the food was truely amazing!! All came out hot and very tasty which was enjoyed by all. The service was great.
We then moved onto the marquee for the reception which once again was lovely.
The whole day ran like clockwork. No worries or problems, well as far as I know there wasn't and with being the Bride that is perfect.
We stayed in a room in the main house that night which was huge and very comfortable.
All in all it truely was an amazing day.
Thank you Broome Park from the bottom of our hearts.xxx

Room Tip: This is a beautiful, peaceful place to go. The main house is full of character but if you would pref...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kirsty g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Broome Park Golf and Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2013

We are delighted and honoured that you and your husband have chosen Broome Park Golf & Country Club as the perfect setting for one of the most important days in your lives and we are thrilled to learn that we contributed to making this special occasion even more magical. Once again we would like to congratulate you and wish you all the best!
We hope to see you back celebrating your anniversaries!

Clara Wilkinson
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

attended the wedding reception of my nephew...really lovely hotel stayed in the main house in a very nice room well equiped with everything we needed...the wedding reception was brilliant held in a marquee in the grounds.....food was very good and sevice excellent......it was a lovely wedding thoughly enjoyed by all

Room Tip: i think anywhere you stay in the main house is nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kitkat93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Broome Park Golf and Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2013

We are absolutely delighted that your nephew and his bride have chosen Broome Park Golf & Country Club as the location for one of the most important days in their lives! Thank you very much for this vote of confidence - we are thrilled that it has all gone according to plan and your family and friends had a lovely, memorable time! We do hope that an annual visit to Broome Park will become a little tradition commemorating this event as we are looking towards your next visit!

Clara Wilkinson
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We stayed in the Regency Villas as part of my dad's time share membership.
The villas are very spacious and are decorated to a good standard with central heating. They provide a DVD player and TV.
The main house itself was lovely to look around and anyone staying there should definitely go on the House and Garden tour. However, I am glad we were staying in the villas as the self catering facilities in the rooms was poor and the restaurant only provides dinner and bar lunches. The cream tea served here does not use Clotted cream and I would recommend the pub down the raoad, The Jackdaw, for a much nicer one for the same price. The food in the restaurant was a bit of a let down for me but maybe I like the simpler things in life!
It is also a shame that you have to pay £2.50 for each daily trip to the pool. This area could really be upgraded with a jacuzzi and steam room! Whether you have to pay if you stay in the hotel I do not know.
As previously mentioned by others, I really think that Wifi is a must in hotels these days when you can get it for free in local pubs. We could not get it at all in the villas.
All in all though it was a lovely week even in the snow!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheryl w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

We booked a "chalet". And we got offered more. From the outside you are not blown away, once you open the door...you are. We did not expect so much space (but to be accurate we got a chalet with disabled persons accessibility, so perhaps the lodge was bigger, perhaps not, I cannot compare), 3TVs, DVD player, 1 large bathroom ( and 1 bathroom for disabled persons), dito toilets, excellent bedrooms and an overload of pillows. Washing machine, dishwasher, tumbledryer, if you have the urge to iron, no problem, everything provided. Fully equipped kitchen, and when I say fully, I do mean fully. Large windows, big curtains, litter bins (recycling) next to the lodge, radio with i-pod station, ...
We had a nice treat : it snowed. Nice, especially for the kids of course, but mum and dad also saw the negative side, but not for long.
Not long before someone came by to clear the paths, entrances etc.,everal times. 24h watch is provided as well, and parking space for every lodge nearby.
We had access to swimming pool and fitness area, bar etc(in the castle). Let's not forget to mention the friendly staff!! Someone came by the first morning to see if everything was OK? YES:)
Only one negative point: the large bathroom could not be sufficently heated with the one radiator for towels (All the other rooms were)

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexandraVanVreckem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Broome Park Golf and Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2013

We are delighted that the accommodation’s standard, facilities available and the friendliness and helpfulness of our team have all contributed to your great vacation experience – thank you for sharing your feedback and recommendation with your fellow travellers! We sincerely hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We used our Diamond resorts points to stay here and had a great week. The weather was dry apart from brief showers 1 day but it was cold .We were ok as attired properly. I was however amazed to see the resort being offered to general public from£49 per night online when we paid a substantial sum for our points and a substantial sum each year in maintenance fees.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geoffviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Broome Park Golf and Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2013

Thank you for your comments. We would like to take this opportunity to explain that any unsold inventory, not belonging to members of the club, is owned by the management company who in turn bears the management costs involved in its upkeep. Due to this, accommodation may be used in any way the management company sees suitable, including marketing. This comprises rental bookings with reputable holiday booking companies.
We would like to assure you that this does not affect members’ privileges in any way.
We sincerely hope that this has not marred your stay, or your future dealings with us, and we are looking forward to seeing you again in the future!

Clara Wilkinson
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barham
6.7 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
7.4 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#6 of 16 in Canterbury
1,982 reviews
7.3 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,180 reviews
6.7 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
9.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Upper Harbledown
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broome Park Golf and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broome Park Golf and Country Club

Address: Broome Park Canterbury Road, Barham, Canterbury CT4 6QX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury > Barham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barham
Price Range: £76 - £1,233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Broome Park Golf and Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have you ever wondered what it would have been like to own your own country estate? At Broome Park Golf and Country Club you can experience the feeling for yourself.The grade-1 listed building at this elegant resort is a stunning example of 17th century Jacobean architecture. Steeped in history, Broome Park, which boasts a traditional British-style pub and elegant dining choices, dominates the estate in which you will find your contemporary woodland lodge.A private, 18-hole championship length golf course is just one of many sporting attractions to divert your attention before you strike out to discover Kent—the Garden of England—and medieval Canterbury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Broome Park Golf and Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broome Park Golf And Country Club Hotel Barham
Broome Park Golf And Country Club Kent/Canterbury - Barham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing