We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great little local with good accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Duke Of Cumberland
Ranked #1 of 2 Barham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Our visit was primarily overnight as part of a walking trip on the North Downs Way and a visit to Canterbury. The Duke of Cumberland provided an ideal overnight stay. Very convenient for either the local bus to Canterbury or taking the car to the Park & Ride. Made very welcome on arrival by the owner and enjoyed the stay very much. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: All rooms are over the downstairs bar so a little noise travels upwards before closing time. In a qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeFSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

A classic English country pub set in a delightful village. Staff were very helpfull, the evening meal was very nice, as was the full English breakfast (included in the room rate, served 8AM to 9AM). The room was small but nice. Bed was comfortable and the room was quiet. (Don't expect 5 star luxury, but it was perfect for our one night stopover). The owners and locals were very friendly too! We'll be back!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

We stayed here on our way to the ferry port at Dover and had an enjoyable stay. Received a very warm welcome and after putting our things in the room we sat in the lovely bar, next to the wood burning stove. The room was a bit small but that is what you would expect from an old inn. The bed was extremely comfortable with plush bedding and comfy pillows. We had everything we needed and ate dinner in the bar that night and it was delicious. Would definitely stay here again. It was about 20-25 miles from Dover so just a short trip to the port in the morning after breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We sadly had to attend a dear friends funeral recently at Barham in Kent and took a chance with the Duke of Cumberland due to it's location. What a result, fantastic friendly staff, lovely food and well kept real Ale. The room was nice and cosy with an En-suit, the bed was very comfortable and the room was perfect temperature leading to a restful sleep. The owners also owned the Jackdaw Inn nearby at Denton where the wake was held for a friend and that was equally good.
Thoroughly recommended and a big thank you to the lovely land lady and her family for making us so welcome at such a sad time for us, it really cheered us up :)

Room Tip: There are 3 rooms but we only used the one which was excellent. It's a lovely quiet location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Great countryside accommodation, very close to Canterbury in a perfect landscape. It has lovely rooms, a beautiful garden and the food ... ooh it's great. The B&B has only a few rooms decorated in traditional british style, a large parking lot and the price is more than decent; you get anything you need from the nice hosts.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dorin_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Matito88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Brug det kun til mad og drikke - overnat et andet sted!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 321thj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barham
5.4 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#6 of 16 in Canterbury
2,073 reviews
4.7 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
5.3 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Castle House Hotel
Castle House Hotel
#12 of 16 in Canterbury
333 reviews
5.3 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#4 of 16 in Canterbury
469 reviews
6.4 mi away
City of Canterbury B&B
City of Canterbury B&B
#10 of 73 in Canterbury
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Duke Of Cumberland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duke Of Cumberland

Address: The Street, Barham, Canterbury CT4 6NY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury > Barham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Barham
Price Range: £64 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Duke Of Cumberland 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Duke Of Cumberland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Duke Of Cumberland Kent/Canterbury - Barham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing