We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Howfield Manor Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howfield Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chartham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We enjoyed 2 fantastic nights in this wondeful establishment. It rates as some of the best value for money we have had in decades of travelling throughout the world. The room was spacious, well presented and very comfortable, with the bonus of a big bath. Breakfast was ample, cooked to order and nothing was too much for the staff. It was a quick easy drive into Canterbury. We highly recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deane d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

323 - 329 of 387 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2012

Booked last minute through laterooms.com as my daughter had an interview at the university. We arrived late and the lady who booked us in realised that we wanted a twin room rather than the double that had been booked (I had specified a twin on the booking!). She swapped the room immediately and then carried my bag up to the room. Room was clean and comfortable, with complimentary toiletries and tea/coffee/biscuits. Breakfast was very nice, the cooked breakfast was not swimming in grease - it had probably been grilled. My daughter didn't get the beans she asked for but the waitress soon sorted that out. My pot of tea was renewed even though it wasn't empty. The waitress was very friendly and helpful. The receptionist gave us a small map of canterbury when we asked for directions. She also told us about the park and ride. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaz446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

I stayed 1 night at the Howfield Manor Hotel and cannot speak too highly of it the service was superb as was the food both breakfast and dinner. Rooms were spotless and plenty of car parking. All the staff were pleasant and attentive. I would rate this hotel 5star and great value for money I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

We wanted to get away from it for a long weekend and Howfield hit the spot. Lovely comfortable room in the old section of this intersting old Hotel, excellent value too although we were out of season and could not probably expect such good rates for such a superior room at other times. However it was nice to experience and we would definitely return and recommend to friends and family. The staff were very helpful and quick to serve, the food was good enough for us to abandon thoughts of going out for our second night of stay. Breakfast was great, enough to keep you going all day. All in all a highly recommended place to stay, well situated for Canterbury and Whitstable which is where we wished to explore more fully. We also thought it would be a good place to use for family special functions and small meeting 'away weekends or days' as the Hotel has a nice modern function room linked neatly into the lounge area and lovely grounds.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

A very warm and comfortable hotel set within lovely grounds. The rooms were spacious and i slept very well due to the peace and quite of the surrounding areas. Nice cosy little bar, good evening menu and a very tasty breakfast. Would definatly stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Weberman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Stayed one night last week as a prelude to our xmas present of one night at Michael Caine's Abode Hotel.Howfield Manor was a welcoming hotel with lots of nooks and crannies and numerous staircases, a wealth of history attached. The price for the 1 night stay was exceptional value at £45 , really good hearty breakfast and a lovely waitress called Eva. Nothing was too much trouble and we will certainly recommend staying here to all our friends
Elizabeth notts

Room Tip: Bed a little small in room 5 not quite a double
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elizabethnotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

A very enjoyable stay. Staff very helpful. Cosy, comfortable, good food, fantastic setting. Will definitely look forward to return visit..

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine_B186356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chartham
2.5 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
2.3 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,180 reviews
2.2 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#6 of 16 in Canterbury
1,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
455 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#13 of 16 in Canterbury
1,127 reviews
1.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howfield Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howfield Manor Hotel

Address: Howfield Lane, Chartham, Canterbury CT4 7HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury > Chartham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chartham
Price Range: £64 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Howfield Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country House Hotel in superb setting.Easy access to Canterbury ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Howfield Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howfield Manor Hotel Canterbury/Chartham, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing