We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thank you”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howfield Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chartham
Certificate of Excellence
Canterbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Thank you”
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Thank you to all your staff at Howfield, for making our celebrations for my retirement party truly memorable. Virtually all our 40 guests commented, how polite and attentive your staff were. The food was fantastic & the drink flowed, just as we wanted. Our guests who stayed in the hotel all enjoyed their stay, including a "fantastic breakfast". All in all, very good value.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    123
    37
    8
    5
See reviews for
65
203
8
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lavenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Stayed for one Saturday night in February whilst playing at a charity event and the first view of the hotel in bright sunshine was quite a wow. Lovely looking country hotel in its own spacious grounds yet within 30 minute walk (mainly on cycle path through fields) to Canterbury. Full of history and hidden secrets, good gardens with plenty of seating areas to watch the birdlife. Nicely decorated with the charm of a well in the dining room (glassed over!). Our stay was a little marred by the fact our reservation of a large room had been lost, and the hotel was full. However, the staff did all they could to accommodate us (at lower costs) in a very small double, and we subsequently received a magnanimous offer from David of a free stay in future. Breakfast was a delight - cooked to order rather than laid out to fester - and perfect proper hot toast rather than the limp stuff to be found elsewhere. It is also well set up for weddings and conferences. I hope the new business venturs are successful because charming and competitive hotels like this one are hard to find.

Room Tip: Our assessment is based on having Room 7 which is effectively a large single with only a 3/4 bed, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevebeedle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2012

The weekend of 18th and 19th February we stayed at Howfield Manor Hotel, and had an evening meal and breakfast.

We were luck enough to have stayed in Room 1 which was lovely and spacious and gave us views over the grounds.

The staff and guests at the hotel were very friendly which gave me a good indication that the guest were well looked after by the staff.

We had a lovely walk around Canterbury and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the hotel. The evening meal and breakfast were very good.

The hotel is set within well tended grounds and just outside of Canterbury which can be reached by either taxi or on foot.

I would recommend this hotel to my friends and family

Room Tip: The older section is lovely and full of character
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

My wife and I spent a couple of nights at the Howfield Manor and had a really great time. All the staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was spacious and comfortable. Both evenings we relaxed with a glass of wine in the very nicely appointed lounge before having a very enjoyable dinner, excellent menu choice, well prepared and presented and very tasty. Excellent wine list at good value prices.The breakfast was just as good! Excellent quality at an affordable price. Highly recommended for a short or long stay, surprised how much there is to do in Kent, all of it reachable from here, on the coast or inland.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We booked the Howfield Manor for a weekend away in Kent as part of a deal on laterooms and it was very good value for money. The room was very clean but quirky with the rooms fit around the old building. The room had all the facilities you need including a mini fridge and free wifi, which we found was of good signal although we were very near the reception area.

The only thing of concern was about the old building was the extremely squeaky floorboards and we could hear everyone walking past our door. Not a problem during our stay but could be an issue if there was an event going on in the hotel at the same time. Although saying that, will definitely go back and stay again but maybe again during the low season.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guildford_Gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Howfield Manor for three nights and we had probably the nicest hotel break we have ever had. We had originally planned just to stay one night and we managed to get this at very short notice at a very good price. However, after seeing the hotel and sampling the superb cuisine that evening we wanted to stay longer. The staff could not have been more helpful. Not only did they find accommodation for us for the following two nights, they also matched the rate we had been charged for the first. We were so impressed that we bought our daughter to eat at the hotel for her 21st birthday. It was made into a really special occasion with balloons and a cake and wonderful service in the restaurant. We then retired to the cosy lounge and sat around the roaring log fire sipping liquor coffees and playing chess. My daughter could not stop smiling throughout the whole evening and she didn't want to leave. Once again the hotel staff came up trumps and found us a room for her next to ours. What is more, she was able to sample the wonderful breakfast in the morning.
I would heartily recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area. It is large enough to feel comfortable, but still small enough to feel personal. All in all a wonderful find and my husband and I fully expect to return again and again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amandajayne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Just an overnight stay, very quiet location..staff very friendly and helpful. stayed in 4 poster bedroom, and left next day feeling refreshed.
Breakfast was good too, good selection..

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeM2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chartham
2.5 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
2.3 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
2.2 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#8 of 16 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
1.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#4 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#13 of 16 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howfield Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howfield Manor Hotel

Property: Howfield Manor Hotel
Address: Howfield Manor Howfield Lane, Chartham, Canterbury CT4 7HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury > Chartham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chartham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Howfield Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country House Hotel in superb setting.Easy access to Canterbury ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howfield Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howfield Manor Hotel Canterbury/Chartham, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing