We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Country Manor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howfield Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chartham
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Country Manor”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Howfield Manor is a pleasant three star hotel near Canterbury. Very pleasant and helpful staff breakfast was well cooked and well presented although the coffee quality could be improved! If we have a negative comment it's the 'piped music' -turn it off or change the record!

Room Tip: Some of the rooms/bathrooms are on the small size so it's probably best to request something lar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    126
    37
    9
    5
See reviews for
66
209
8
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Storrington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

I booked a night at Howfield Manor based on very good reviews on trip advisor. Following a very difficult time suffering from serious health issues and no holidays for a long time we really needed a relaxing break visiting nearby Canterbury and Sissinghurst. Upon arrival we were greeted in a very unprofessional and confused manner and our booking could initially not be found. I was eventually presented with three different print outs of bookings to 'choose' from, luckily one of them was ours! When we were taken to our room it did not have a four poster bed as booked. When pointing this out we were offered a discount as apparently a mistake had been made by the booking system. No four poster bedrooms were available that night, even though we were not happy we really did not have any choice in the matter as it was getting rather late to look elsewhere. The room was very shabby and tired, the bathroom rather off putting (see pictures). The only plus side was the comfortable mattress. About midnight a loud noise woke us both up, it sounded like somebody had decided to hoover right outside our door. After further investigation we decided it must be the plumbing system or the next door's bathroom fan. The noise continued on and off for over an hour and we finally managed to get to sleep around 3am! When I complained about this to the receptionist in the morning I received no explanation or promise of one. Breakfast was ok and the breakfast staff very helpful and polite.
We shall not be returning to Howfield Manor and I am astounded by the many positive reviews posted on Trip Advisor, this was possibly one of the worst nights we've ever spent in any hotel anywhere.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sveske654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, Manager at Howfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Dear Sir/Madam

Firstly please accept my sincerest apologies for the disappointment regarding your stay.
When you booked your four poster bed we had a major problem with our fax line, email, and internet access for several days due to a BT fault beyond our control. Once fixed we entered and checked the backlog caused for booking made in this period. Unfortunately, in the confusion your were put in a standard double room. On checking again before you arrival we released we had incorrectly booked you in and as both four posters were already in use put you in a canopy bed as the next best option with a reduction in price. The confusion on arrival was caused because we had swapped several room s around to accommodate you in what we believed to be the next best room available. The oversight was our fault and in normal circumstances this would not have happened.
The chair has now been replaced and the bathroom improved. Maintenance is an ongoing and constant task and in this case we were out of step with what needed to be done, but have taken your feedback seriously and acted on the situation.
Again my apologies for the noise , which has never been mentioned by any guest before or since in this room. The plumber has looked at the system and we have checked the adjoining bathroom fan without finding any cause, but will continue to monitor the situation.
I am sorry that a break you were looking forward did not turn out as you wished and your experience is far from the one that we normally deliver.
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
276 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

In Canterbury for a school reunion after a break o almost 45 years, this hotel enabled to to relax and enjoy a really interesting return to the City and my formative years.
The hotel is stunning, especially if, like me, you love windey stairs, uneven floors and creaky floorboards, it was easy to remember days of not so very long ago, when, Service, meant something.
My wife and I ate in the hotel and had a great meal, well cooked if a little slowly presented, but actually the service was fine and we really enjoyed our stay

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

What was not to love! I booked last minute (escaping the snow in Cumbria - and wanted something close to the Eurotunnel).

The area is a bit strange, but once you pass through the gates, you think you are in another world! They should shoot a Downton Abbey type show here!

The room was huge, the bed was very comfortable. Tiny complaint: the washroom was slightly drafty, but that doesn't really matter.

Food was great - had dinner and breakfast there. The breakfast was spectacular, felt like i ate enough to last me for two days!

And best of all, the service! I am still in shock as to how great it was. They even came up to the room to make sure we didn't miss breakfast in the morning! I am really impressed and wish more hotels followed this example.

All in all, a 100% recommend!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meereeree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

I have just attended a conference at Howfield Manor in the Oak Room which was wonderful, light and bright and opened onto the garden. We stayed the night before and following the conference and had a lovely large room in the oldest part of the house with a 7ft bed and everything you could need was provided. I loved the history of the building and the gardens, lake etc. The food was beautifully cooked and presented and the staff couldn't have been more polite or more helpful. Everywhere was clean and well presented. I would recommend this hotel for a stay or a conference.

Room Tip: I think that all the rooms were fine and as far as I'm aware - a couple of them have four poste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013 via mobile

Spent a most enjoyable night here for a conference. Evening meal in the restaurant was exceptional, service was first class, absolutely cannot fault 10/10. Overnight accommodation very comfortable double aspect room with everything you could need for an overnight stay. Breakfast and lunch to the same high standard. For first class service and outstanding fresh food I would highly recommend a stay here. We will definitely be staying here again, will drive over just for dinner!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

We stayed for one night in August 2012 when we visited with friends for a visit to Canterbury. We had 2 very large family size rooms with ensuites to accomodate ourselves and our 3 children. We were greeted by very friendly staff who showed us immediately to our rooms before serving us lunch in the bar area. With fussy children we had to make special requests from the lunch menu which were happily accomodated. The building itself is full of character, very attractive and has a marvelous history. There are lots of quirky corridors and nooks and crannies which make it fun for the children! The staff were excellent with the children and found them a massive box of outdoor play things like skittles and giant chess. In the evening we ate a most delicious meal cooked by the french chef- we had a massive platter with mixed grilled fish and fried potatos and grilled vegetables. Even after all this time I can still lick my lips thinking about it. This was followed by a taster of several desserts which negated the need to choose. Finally, as demonstration of how efficient and friendly the staff are, when we wished to stay up chatting after the normal bar closing time, we were settled in some comfy chairs with a bottle and before changeover at midnight the evening staff came to wish us good night and check we had all we needed before the night staff took over. Now that is service! We recommend this hotel whole heartedly and will visit again when in that part of the country.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rebecca s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chartham
2.5 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
2.3 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
419 reviews
2.2 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,130 reviews
1.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
269 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howfield Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howfield Manor Hotel

Property: Howfield Manor Hotel
Address: Howfield Lane, Chartham, Canterbury CT4 7HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury > Chartham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chartham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Howfield Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country House Hotel in superb setting.Easy access to Canterbury ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Howfield Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howfield Manor Hotel Canterbury/Chartham, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing