We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howfield Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Howfield Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chartham
Certificate of Excellence
EVERSLEY
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed for 1 night and loved the hotel. The grounds are beautiful and the hotel itself a very interesting old building, full of character. We had a very good evening meal and equally good breakfast with good quality local ingredients. The staff were friendly and coped well despite being very busy. We will definitely be back and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MARION N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    116
    36
    8
    5
See reviews for
64
192
8
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

I stayed in room number 5 for 2 nights and would certainly return. Lovely grounds. Delicious and wonderfully presented breakfast. Good sized double room, note I travelled alone, which overlooked the gardens. It's an old building so expect some creaks and squeaks from corridor traffic as well as noisy hot water plumbing but besides that there was zero noise heard from neighbouring rooms. Only downside was a long wait for service at breakfast on the first morning due to only one member of staff and one chef working. Note that the staff member was however very apologetic and worked extremely hard during the service. In fact all of the staff I encountered displayed immaculate customer service. Alex and Edward were especially attentive.

Room Tip: The hotel has two bicycles available for guests to use!
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank vlyn28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

We booked in to this hotel as a stopover before a trip to France, but ended up staying put! In the recent heatwave the gardens and grounds were a welcome haven of peace and cool shade, and the hotel itself is charming: a lovely mix of history and modern comfort. The rooms are small but well fitted out and comfortable: the staff are helpful, efficient and really friendly; the menus are imaginative, and the cuisine was very very good. Thoroughly recommended, and at an eminently reasonable rate. We'll be back, I'm sure!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrancophileHereford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

We are regular guests at this hotel and are always happy with all aspects of our stay. A short cab ride from the city center if you need to venture in or simply have a wander in the grounds and take advantage of the decking which is a sun trap. Breakfast is extensive for a hotel of its size and the restaurant good too... it's no Michelin Star but nice enough and service is great. The night manager / caretaker is a good fella too - glad to have a laugh and pour a late night beverage! If you stay, you wont be dissapointed

Room Tip: Ask for a voucher for a discount on the next stay, and if you're feeling brave ask to see or sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paddyg4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

We had our son's wedding at Howfield last week and what an amazing day it was! It was a perfect setting for an outside ceremony. We cannot praise the staff enough. They were friendly and helpful and Hayley (Wedding Coordinator) deserves a special thank you for making the day run so smoothly. The food warrants a special mention as the chef did a brilliant job, everything was delicious, well cooked and well presented. What also was a big plus for the day was that our guests could stay at the hotel and meeting up for breakfast the next morning was really nice. All in all we can thoroughly recommend Howfield as a wedding venue. So thank you everyone at Howfields for making a special day so memorable and for arranging such amazing weather too!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

I had booked this hotel for 2 night for myself, my wife and daughter. I had read the bad reviews with some trepidation BUT I can say that could find no fault at all. I loved it, it's not perfect but neither is life, and it was everything we could wish for. Particularly, that due to a family emergency we had to change our arrangements at very short notice and we were accommodated without question or issue. I would heartily recommend this hotel - we didn't have dinner just a light evening meal. It was good. Breakfast was as we asked for it and was served quickly as we we're in a hurry. The staff were great , no actually brilliant- but for me it is the place, the grounds, the quirky corridors, the beautiful tranquility, (added to be exceptional weather - did they arrange that too!!) that recommends this hotel - and the old glass covered well in the dining room. The photos actually don't show this hotel to its full potential.This hotel has character. Stay here if you are visiting Canterbury - it will add to the whole wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Any room overlooking the garden!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

Spent the day here on a course today and found it to be an excellent venue. Lovely lunch, great facilities, helpful staff and beautiful grounds. Thoroughly recommend to everyone - hope I can return soon! Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sas201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chartham
2.5 mi away
Abbots Barton Hotel
Abbots Barton Hotel
#3 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,038 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
2.3 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
1.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#4 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#12 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howfield Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howfield Manor Hotel

Property: Howfield Manor Hotel
Address: Howfield Manor Howfield Lane, Chartham, Canterbury CT4 7HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury > Chartham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chartham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Howfield Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country House Hotel in superb setting.Easy access to Canterbury ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Howfield Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howfield Manor Hotel Canterbury/Chartham, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing