We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howfield Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Howfield Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chartham
Certificate of Excellence
South
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very pleasant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

Hotel is full of character and ye olde charm! Comfortable room and attentive service, from mainly Eastern European staff. Breakfast food OK, with fresh fruit, hot tea and toast available to start quickly. Chef got cooked order confused one morning, but the waiter quickly remedied the error.
A little way out from the Canterbury city, but peaceful and restful location.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Vardar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    116
    36
    8
    5
See reviews for
64
192
8
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

A friend and I arranged a joint birthday party at Howfield and we had a fantastic time. This was due in no small part to the excellent service we received from Hayley and the team with all staff being very friendly and providing a superb service throughout. The evening buffet food was really tasty and the drinks prices were very reasonable. Breakfast was also first class. We had comments afterwards from friends about how good the service was which was really pleasing as it showed how much they enjoyed themselves.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 1 which was spacious and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

This hotel is really good value for money, extremely accommodating (we have a baby and a toddler so we were rather demanding!) and is really quite nice.

It's not luxury but at these prices I'm not complaining.

Overall, a fantastic 3-star hotel and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Go for dinner at The Artichoke only 2 mins away in the car. Great pub grub with a roaring fire.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whiskeydrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peripatetic member
Level Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

The place is superb. And would still be at double the price: it's amazingly inexpensive.

Character, comfort, calm, good food (offering both "bar" and "restaurant" menus - from the same kitchen - is a smart way of catering for every budget).
Rooms are spacious, well-equipped (four poster bed anyone?), public areas full of old character features. Tasty, freshly-cooked brakfasts.
The staff are really excellent and thoughtful.

I can't imagine why anyone would stay anywhere else at Canterbury - or at the channel ports if you are en route to/from there, it's only a minute off the fast road. I certainly won't again.

Room Tip: all the rooms seemed nice: ask on arrival if you might have a four-poster one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yogayogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

We have just returned from an overnight stay and we cannot praise the staff enough for their friendliness and willingness to please.; they all made us feel so welcome.The room was spacious with a lovely view over the garden and very comfortable. The Sunday Lunch was one of the best we have ever had, with the freshness of the food and presentation top class. Breakfast was just as good with plenty of choice and beautifully cooked. After a lovely stay we hope to return again in the future.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the garden are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank strathbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

A great 2 night stay. Very friendly staff, excellent fresh, local ingredients very well cooked and presented. Very comfy bed and not disturbed by any noise. Although wifi advertised as available throughout, only possible to access above reception but we visited for a break, not business, so no problem for us.
First hotel I have stayed in where there was a teapot on the hospitality tray. For me a great bonus! Nice to have free in room safe and fridge as well.
Park and ride for Canterbury only 1 mile away.
Give it a try. You won't be disappointed

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AJRRWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

My partner and I stayed here for one night in November- we were taken by the receptionist to our room (17) which was a lovely personal touch. Large bed and TV, the room was decorated nicely and had good views. We had dinner and breakfast in the hotel. Breakfast was included in our room price, it was fantastic value for money and a large range of options. We both went for scrambled egg and salmon, it was fresh and nicely presented. At first we thought dinner was a bit overpriced but once we tasted the food, it was great value. All three courses were fab. Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chartham
2.5 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
2.3 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
2.3 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
1.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#4 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#13 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howfield Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howfield Manor Hotel

Property: Howfield Manor Hotel
Address: Howfield Manor Howfield Lane, Chartham, Canterbury CT4 7HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury > Chartham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chartham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Howfield Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country House Hotel in superb setting.Easy access to Canterbury ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Howfield Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howfield Manor Hotel Canterbury/Chartham, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing