We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem close to the channel crossings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Howfield Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chartham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stopped at Howfield Manor Hotel for one night en route to the ferry. he hotel is just outside Canterbury with a supermarket close by and the Ashford outlet mall an easy drive.
Both rooms surprised us with their generous size , clean furnishings and well equipped with ironing board and iron, safe, trouser press, hairdryer and tea station. Large flat TV with numerous channels and comfortable furniture throughout.
Dinner was a welcome surprise with great choices, excellent quality, presentation and cooked to a perfect standard. Even the wine list was excellent.
Breakfast was generous, cooked perfectly and served promptly.
The staff were helpful and friendly and plenty of grounds to stroll in and gardens to sit in.
All in all we were pleasantly surprised to find such a hidden gem at reasonable prices so close to Dover that was not fully booked at short notice and will certainly be staying here again.

Room Tip: Room 15 was a good sized en suite double overlooking the courtyard. Room 12 is slightly smaller but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lynne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (400)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 400 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed here for one night recently, the staff were all so helpful & friendly, the breakfast was superb & our room was lovely. Its located close to Canterbury & set in beautiful grounds. We hope to return again & its highly recommended by us to all.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

everything about this hotel was just what we were looking for. an out of the way location, cosy and classic room, it has charm and character. we had a four poster bed in room 11 and it was lovely. I'm an insomniac and even I slept well!
the only down point I can think of is that being a vegetarian there was not a lot of choice for dinner, but on the other hand they did a vegetarian breakfast so that makes up for it. other than that I couldn't rate this hotel higher. I didn't want to leave and we will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GemmaLouise1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, General Manager at Howfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for your lovely review and if you do intend to stay with us again please email the hotel on hotel@howfield.net to request more Vegetarian options. We run a small restaurant with freshly made food rather than buying in frozen options. If we know in advance the chef will be more than happy to provide tailor any dishes to address dietary requirements, whether adding extra vegetarian options or providing glutton or dairy free courses.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay in The Garden of England

David Sharma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Enjoyed a really lovely wedding here where the highlight was definitely the food. It was a cut above the usual plastic chicken - really nicely cooked and presented. The grounds are stunning; the room felt a tad dated, but was actually very comfortable and breakfast was also very good. Your guests will love you for booking your wedding here!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank AndrewG84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

What a lovely hotel, wanted a nice hotel near Canterbury as we had family over from Australia, they have travelled all over the world and this is the best hotel they have ever stayed in, character, charm, service and price, it will take a lot of beating, some will have better facilities, but as a total package this is just a lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: We had a four poster room, beware the doors are really low.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phil d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulsharma, Director of Sales at Howfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Phil D
Thank you very much for your lovely review. It is a very good summary on what we hope to offer. We may not be modern & shiny but hope that charm & quirkiness are what our guests are looking for.

Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I recently went to a wedding here. The rooms were immaculate and the food was amazing with the perfect portion size. The staff on hand were discreet and quickly knew to hover near my husband with the canapés. Apart from that I never noticed them flitting around making sure everything was flowing - experts clearly!

Only down side was that more staff were needed on the bars (Scottish guests - inc. my husband! didn't like a long wait for plonk) They had some local beers that went down well with the ale aficionados.

Gorgeous building and clever use of original and extended parts of the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank TudorLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

With my work I stay in many hotels and this is the first time that I feel the need to write a review. I found this hotel as my usual hotel was booked
The service I received was outstanding. I had added a note to my booking about my dairy allergy to which I received a response the next day to let me know it was not a problem.
When I arrived the receptionist was very friendly and informed me that they had got in special non dairy produce for me not only that Pete the chef had prepared a full menu for me to choose from. My meal was
delicious. They offered soya milk for tea in my room. The room was spacious and lovely and clean. Breakfast was a feast. Needless to say I will look forward to staying again

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1Shipway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chartham
2.5 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
2.3 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,222 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#4 of 16 in Canterbury
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#6 of 16 in Canterbury
2,109 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#11 of 16 in Canterbury
1,179 reviews
1.7 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#8 of 16 in Canterbury
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howfield Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howfield Manor Hotel

Address: Howfield Lane, Chartham, Canterbury CT4 7HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury > Chartham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chartham
Price Range: £53 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Howfield Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country House Hotel in superb setting.Easy access to Canterbury ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Howfield Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howfield Manor Hotel Canterbury/Chartham, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing