We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (429)
Filter reviews
429 results
Traveller rating
229
137
44
11
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
229
137
44
11
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely groundsfour poster bedwedding coordinatortrouser presswedding venueroom was spacious and cleanlovely hotelpark and rideevening meal and breakfastuneven floorsold buildingevery member of staffan overnight stayshort drivevisiting canterburyfull english breakfaststayed for two nights
Filter
Updating list...
145 - 150 of 429 reviews
Reviewed 26 December 2015

Here for one night and really enjoyed the experience,...First of all I must praise the staff....Incredibly friendly,effecient and professional. Room very cosy and quiet.
We only had the bar meals which were good. Large car park.
Sure we will stay again

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank roy e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2015

Thoroughly enjoyable, very friendly staff especially Eva who went out of her way to make our stay memorable. Comfortable room with a nice view and good food, the only downside was the weather. Hopefully we can stay again and maybe walk along the river to Canterbury.

Stayed: December 2015
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2015

Very helpful and attentive staff. Any issue that came up, an employee rushed to our room. The two rooms we rented were absolutely charming. This is a very small hotel, with great personal touch and no two rooms are alike. The restaurant is wonderful, breakfast was exceptional. It is just a very warm, comfortable place to stay. The only issue was one of the showers in one room had very little pressure. It is a very old building, converted into a hotel. My room has great water pressure. Unless you have a car, the taxi fee to Canterbury definitely added up. If it were warmer, it would have been a beautiful 2 mile walk, along the canal. The English garden on the property were also beautiful. Would love to come back and stay in the summer.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoseZ1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2015

Rotten weather yesterday but once safely inside the venue we were very impressed - lovely mixture of old and new.

The special occasion buffet was a delightful mix of plentiful food and of excellent quality. The staff were helpful and efficient.

Would recommend this venue to anyone looking for something special.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank davi777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2015 via mobile

We attended a family wedding and Game Of Thrones to experience a lot of what they had to offer. The building is charming and full of character - perfect for any event.

The grounds are even more spectacular with great views and plenty of space for outdoor events, I'd love to see this place in Summer.

I'd also highly recommend the catering as the food served throughout our stay and at the main event was absolutely fantastic.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
2  Thank WiiGene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews