We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (430)
Filter reviews
430 results
Traveller rating
229
138
44
11
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
229
138
44
11
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely grounds four poster bed wedding coordinator trouser press wedding venue room was spacious and clean lovely hotel park and ride evening meal and breakfast uneven floors old building every member of staff an overnight stay short drive visiting canterbury full english breakfast stayed for two nights
Filter
Updating list...
144 - 149 of 430 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2016

Howfield Manor has comfortable rooms and a fairly good restaurant and bar. The building itself and its immediate setting are its real strengths. Very convenient for next day departures across the Channel.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 1728lien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2016

The Service
The attitude of staff can make or break a hotel experience and the staff in this hotel were excellent. The service was laid back, friendly, helpful and efficient, leaving us with the impression that they genuinely wanted us to enjoy our stay. Every member of staff we dealt with was first class.

The Room
In terms of size, décor, and furnishings, the room was pretty much would you would expect in this price range, which makes me think their pricing policy is about right. It was cosy, warm and clean with a very comfortable bed. The only slight disappointment was the absence of complimentary bottled water, which I think should always be standard (but often isn’t) in everything except budget hotels.

The Dining Experience
We had pre-dinner drinks in a lovely cosy bar before moving into the restaurant, which had a pleasing, intimate atmosphere. The meal was outstanding value. We paid £23 per head (plus £2.50 supplement for the steak choice) for a three course meal. We were expecting this to be £28, so assume that maybe this was a seasonal reduction to attract more customers in January. The menu gave enough choice to please most tastes and the food was very well presented and really enjoyable. The wine list was also sensibly priced. I’ve eaten in enough restaurants to appreciate that a meal of this quality for the price on offer is quite rare.

All told, this was a very enjoyable one night stay and we would not hesitate to book it again when we next visit this area.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Chappers0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2015

Here for one night and really enjoyed the experience,...First of all I must praise the staff....Incredibly friendly,effecient and professional. Room very cosy and quiet.
We only had the bar meals which were good. Large car park.
Sure we will stay again

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank roy e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2015

Thoroughly enjoyable, very friendly staff especially Eva who went out of her way to make our stay memorable. Comfortable room with a nice view and good food, the only downside was the weather. Hopefully we can stay again and maybe walk along the river to Canterbury.

Stayed: December 2015
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2015

Very helpful and attentive staff. Any issue that came up, an employee rushed to our room. The two rooms we rented were absolutely charming. This is a very small hotel, with great personal touch and no two rooms are alike. The restaurant is wonderful, breakfast was exceptional. It is just a very warm, comfortable place to stay. The only issue was one of the showers in one room had very little pressure. It is a very old building, converted into a hotel. My room has great water pressure. Unless you have a car, the taxi fee to Canterbury definitely added up. If it were warmer, it would have been a beautiful 2 mile walk, along the canal. The English garden on the property were also beautiful. Would love to come back and stay in the summer.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoseZ1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews