We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (429)
Filter reviews
429 results
Traveller rating
229
137
44
11
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
229
137
44
11
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely groundsfour poster bedwedding coordinatortrouser presswedding venueroom was spacious and cleanlovely hotelpark and rideevening meal and breakfastuneven floorsold buildingevery member of staffan overnight stayshort drivevisiting canterburyfull english breakfaststayed for two nights
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 429 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed overnight, although because of the friendly staff and welcoming historic atmosphere, I wish I could have stayed longer. Comfortable four-poster bed and delicious breakfast made the conference a truly enjoyable experience. Will return!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
Thank TravelUK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2017 via mobile

Just returned from a two day conference here. Lovely hotel. Full of history and charm. Staff were really friendly and very helpful. Food was fantastic. Tasty freshly cooked breakfast. Highly recommend it.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
Thank Patrick_M_Allen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2017 via mobile

Arrived late at night. Car park well lit and easy access into reception.

Kitchen was closed but despite this the off duty chef still knocked me up delicious steak and chips.

Cara on reception was delightful.

Rooms fair standard considering the building is an old Manor House.

Breakfast well presented and very tasty.

Recommended

Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
Thank tedsaladharefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2017

A lovely location for this family run hotel. We had a really excellent comfortable room with two views overlooking the garden. The hotel, although off of a main road, was lovely and quiet. The staff were brilliant and could not do enough to make us welcome. The food was wholesome and well cooked with a varied menu. Most evenings we could not order a pudding as we were full from a plate of substantial main course. The hotel has a lovely old bar, lounge and restaurant. Will certainly visit again.

Room Tip: Room 12 was lovely.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert G G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2017

I have lived in Canterbury for many years and the reputation of this hotel hasn't always been the best but last night Howfield Manor excelled itself.
We attended a Dinner and were wowed by the staff (friendly, efficient and couldn't do enough to please) and the food!
Mass catering is not easy and rarely good but last night's meal was excellent. Tasty, hot and nicely presented.
At last - a good venue in Canterbury for events. We will be back!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Hilary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews