We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (430)
Filter reviews
430 results
Traveller rating
229
138
44
11
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
229
138
44
11
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely grounds four poster bed wedding coordinator trouser press wedding venue room was spacious and clean lovely hotel park and ride evening meal and breakfast uneven floors old building every member of staff an overnight stay short drive visiting canterbury full english breakfast stayed for two nights
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 430 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2017 via mobile

If you want to stay near Dover before taking the ferry, which was our case yesterday, don't hesitate to stay in this very welcoming place.
Authentic, charming, typical are some of the words that are coming spontaneously in mind to describe very quickly this very British hotel.
Staff is very attentive and skilled to accompany you during your stay.
Cooking in restaurant is well done with local products.
Bedrooms that are simple and functional, could be probably improved in some aspects of their decoration and facilities. But it is globally OK if we consider the average cost to stay there.
If you like to take advantage of the surrounding countryside, don't hesitate to open slightly your window during the night. Indeed you will hear charming birds songs in the early morning to favour a pleasant wake-up.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Antoine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017

We booked for one night after seeing a show at The Marlowe.
The room was comfortable but the TV and radio didn't work (not essential I know for one night but surely a basic when checking a room for guests). We had the smallest room in the hotel, it was warm and cosy.
The breakfast was nice and there was a good choice of food and beverages.
When we checked out we where told that if we were to book again we would be given better rates and a better room.
Would recommend using the taxi service from the hotel to the city centre.

Room Tip: Book early
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 656jojo70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017

Fabulous location, old character manor, creaky floor boards, uneven floors, different sized doors brilliant. The staff from check in onwards were fantastic and could not do enough for us. The breakfast was ok, the carvery was fabulous. The rooms were OK ,dated and the bathrooms not the greatest but clean. Our bed was comfortable but against a single fixed headboard and no bed side table one side so obviously used as a single . (Room 4)The other rooms were more spacious but dated .
Overall we had a great time and I cannot thank the staff enough. Would recommend for a celebration. Great location , loads of parking.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Debut6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2017

Howfield Manor Hotel is a lovely hotel set in nice grounds just outside Canterbury. The room we had was very comfortable and well presented. Staff very friendly and helpful with information about the surrounding area.
The hotel is on the same road as the park and ride into Canterbury. Overall a very enjoyable few days in and around Canterbury.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Heddytopkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed overnight, although because of the friendly staff and welcoming historic atmosphere, I wish I could have stayed longer. Comfortable four-poster bed and delicious breakfast made the conference a truly enjoyable experience. Will return!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
Thank TravelUK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews