We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (429)
Filter reviews
429 results
Traveller rating
229
137
44
11
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
229
137
44
11
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely groundsfour poster bedwedding coordinatortrouser presswedding venueroom was spacious and cleanlovely hotelpark and rideevening meal and breakfastuneven floorsold buildingevery member of staffan overnight stayshort drivevisiting canterburyfull english breakfaststayed for two nights
Filter
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 429 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2017 via mobile

We got married here last year and had the most perfect day so we decided to stay here last night to celebrate our first wedding anniversary.
We had a gorgeous room overlooking the grounds, a wonderful dinner, beautifully presented and a hearty breakfast. The hotel is a wonderful Manor house with lots of areas inside and out to sit and enjoy the surroundings. The staff as ever were welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. We would definitely recommend staying here.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Louise2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2017 via mobile

If you want to stay near Dover before taking the ferry, which was our case yesterday, don't hesitate to stay in this very welcoming place.
Authentic, charming, typical are some of the words that are coming spontaneously in mind to describe very quickly this very British hotel.
Staff is very attentive and skilled to accompany you during your stay.
Cooking in restaurant is well done with local products.
Bedrooms that are simple and functional, could be probably improved in some aspects of their decoration and facilities. But it is globally OK if we consider the average cost to stay there.
If you like to take advantage of the surrounding countryside, don't hesitate to open slightly your window during the night. Indeed you will hear charming birds songs in the early morning to favour a pleasant wake-up.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Antoine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017

We booked for one night after seeing a show at The Marlowe.
The room was comfortable but the TV and radio didn't work (not essential I know for one night but surely a basic when checking a room for guests). We had the smallest room in the hotel, it was warm and cosy.
The breakfast was nice and there was a good choice of food and beverages.
When we checked out we where told that if we were to book again we would be given better rates and a better room.
Would recommend using the taxi service from the hotel to the city centre.

Room Tip: Book early
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 656jojo70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017

Fabulous location, old character manor, creaky floor boards, uneven floors, different sized doors brilliant. The staff from check in onwards were fantastic and could not do enough for us. The breakfast was ok, the carvery was fabulous. The rooms were OK ,dated and the bathrooms not the greatest but clean. Our bed was comfortable but against a single fixed headboard and no bed side table one side so obviously used as a single . (Room 4)The other rooms were more spacious but dated .
Overall we had a great time and I cannot thank the staff enough. Would recommend for a celebration. Great location , loads of parking.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Debut6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2017

Howfield Manor Hotel is a lovely hotel set in nice grounds just outside Canterbury. The room we had was very comfortable and well presented. Staff very friendly and helpful with information about the surrounding area.
The hotel is on the same road as the park and ride into Canterbury. Overall a very enjoyable few days in and around Canterbury.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Heddytopkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews