We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (429)
Filter reviews
429 results
Traveller rating
229
137
44
11
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
229
137
44
11
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely groundsfour poster bedwedding coordinatortrouser presswedding venueroom was spacious and cleanlovely hotelpark and rideevening meal and breakfastuneven floorsold buildingevery member of staffan overnight stayshort drivevisiting canterburyfull english breakfaststayed for two nights
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 429 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2017

We recently visited Howfield Manor Hotel for a friends wedding. Such a pretty, quirky venue. Unfortunately the weather had been awful and they were unable to hold the ceremony outside which was a great shame as the backdrop was stunning. Instead the ceremony was held in a nice room with a veranda. The service was good and the food was very tasty. The marquee was lovely and a great place to hold a wedding.

We had a twin room which was a good size, very cosy and clean. Breakfast was very nice too.

I would recommend this hotel highly

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank FrecklesBeanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017

We had a party of 8 for a family occasion, and were given a lovely private room with garden views, and a humorous Romanian waiter. As it was Sunday lunch, the only option was carvery at £14.95 / £17.95 for 2/3 courses, so the night before we eagerly viewed the on-line menus ready for the day.
Unfortunately everything we had decided upon wasn't available on the day, and remaining choices were fairly tasteless. As an example I ordered the stuffed mushroom with gruyere which turned out to be a tiny flat mushroom with a blob of melted cheese, and a mini salad covered in balsamic vinegar. The roast lamb was 3 uniformed thin slices with tasteless veg and an unwanted Yorkshire pub mountain. Others' choices were equally uninspiring. Hotel setting 8/10, food 4/10 (or less considering the price!.

Room Tip: Private room gets you humorous Romanian waiter.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

Absolutely loved this hotel! I stayed for one night on a business trip and was very impressed with the beautiful room I stayed in. It may have been one of the best rooms at the hotel but it was well worth the price. The grounds were lovely too, and very quiet so I had a great night's sleep, and the amazingly comfortable bed also helped with that! There is ample parking for guests, the breakfast was great, and the staff were absolutely lovely. The only thing that some people may have an issue with is the location, because if you wanted to go into the town centre you would have to drive or take a cab. However this was fine for me, and it will definitely be my first choice for business trips to Canterbury.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
Thank Haseena H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017 via mobile

One night stay only.
Lovely looking hotel with stunning grounds and friendly efficient staff. Food excellent although menu somewhat limited.
Downside was the room and particularly the bathroom , very dated and desperate for a facelift.
Spend some money revamping / refreshing the rooms and this hotel could be stunning.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

We really enjoyed our stay here to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary on1st July. The room was spotless and the staff were very nice. The floors and stairs were creaky, uneven and the doorways were all different sizes but these just added to the charm of the hotel. The only negative for us was the tiny bar that is unmanned meaning we had to phone to reception to order a drink.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank annmarievirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews