We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
£80
Fully refundable before Fri, 1 Mar
Breakfast included
Priceline
Expedia.com
£86
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (578)
Filter reviews
578 results
Traveller rating
322
164
60
17
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
322
164
60
17
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely grounds four poster bed wedding venue park and ride next morning good size small hotel charming hotel water pressure full english an overnight stay good nights sleep breakfast was delicious stayed here for one night visit canterbury biscuits yogurt
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 578 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2023

Clean decent size rooms . Well equipped and professional helpful staff . Superb breakfast . Highly recommended. Peaceful and calm environment and only 10 min into Canterbury on park and ride . Best of both worlds .

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kejules
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 November 2023

We rang twice to make a reservation and neither call was returned. disappointing for our family. We were going to have a celebratory lunch for a 70th birthday and were forced to go elsewhere. We won't be trying again.

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Philip F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 November 2023

Awlful food! I had one of the worst meals I have ever had in the Restaurant at the Hotel. Frozen, deep fried cheap ingredients. I messaged the Manager as he was not around to talk to me in the evening or the morning as I was staying at the hotel. His response was a generic one! I am sure he just flings it out to the many customers that no doubt complain. He wasn't interested.

Do NOT eat there

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Bryanp02
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paul Sharma, Owner at Howfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2023

Good evening
Thank you for your review, we have been expecting this to be submitted after your recent email saying a bad review was on its way. In your email you mentioned that you felt we should be offering you something to ensure a review wasn't submitted, something we felt questionable.
Having investigated it would appear that your dissatisfaction with the food you ordered, cold vegetables, was not shared at the time but on the following morning at check out. As you will appreciate this does not allow for any rectifying options to be provided, we could and of course would have replaced the vegetables you thought cold on request.
In respect of our food suppliers, yes like any food business we do have a frozen food supplier, a local Kent based one, KFF, who pride themselves in sourcing local produce, we purchase certain products from them for both the variety and quality on offer, we don't however purchase frozen vegetables from them. Our vegetable supplier Harwoods are also Kent based, not the cheapest but again the quality is assured. Our other suppliers are also all local, our butcher from Canterbury, our fish arrives in Rye, even our cleaning products are supplied by a local Canterbury company.
We offer well cooked and presented local produce, we take pride in our dishes and the service we give, we can however only rectify errors when we are told at the time, otherwise it becomes difficult.
I appreciate that you also felt we did not respond in a way that would satisfy you, I am unsure what we could offer other than perhaps some compensation. This may have been considered at the time but unfortunately it is much harder after the event and not possible in exchange for not writing a review
We are always open to receiving reviews, good or bad, as they offer the opportunity to either praise the hard work of the staff at the hotel or give honest feedback to allow for improvements
With your review in mind we have reminded the front of house that it is important to check back with diners, and discussed with the chefs the expectation of temperature appropriate dishes
Once again thank you for taking the time to review is, and I am sorry we did not achieve the high standards we expect in this instance

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2023

This was our third stay with Howfield Manor Hotel. The food and staff are amazing. All the staff went over and above , ww discovered our car tyre was flat, staff assisted without even being asked.
Sadly after a particularly heavy rainfall we had water leaking into our bathroom, the staff moved us to what can only be described as an appartment at no extra cost

The manager has a great sense of humour and is so helpful. The receptionists were all so welcoming and the hotel is spotless.

One very small negative is that the mattresses were very soft and not the comfiest however also appreciate its a personal.choice.

Sorry I don't know all the names for staff however thank you for making our stay so relaxed. We hope to return for a 4th time!

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tine1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 October 2023

From the moment we were greeted by Kevin we were so confident this was the ideal venue for our family celebration. In fact the member of staff that greeted us on the day who had only been working there 3 months the hospitality was second to none. The food very nice and it was great value for money. The setting was beautiful Fully recommend howfield manor hotel

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Duncan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews