We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming 15th century pub/restaurant !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Artichoke

The Artichoke
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Chartham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Charming 15th century pub/restaurant !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Spent a lovely couple of hours with a good friend here. We both just had starters, I rememered from a previous visit that the portions are very generous and we only wanted a smaller meal. My friend had the spare ribs which she loved and I had battered brie and salad, both delicious ! Wonderful attentive service. We decided to have our coffee outside in the lovely garden as it was a gorgeous sunny day. Highly recommended !!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bluesgal222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    78
    26
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Celle, Germany
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Excellent food, wide choice. Fantastic pub. Attentive service, good prices. 15th century setting. Nothing to add but go!

Helpful?
3 Thank FamilyGCLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Proper pub!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Visit the Artichoke often! Delicious food and large portions. Nothing fancy, but good, well cooked pub favourites. You will need to book a table for lunch on the weekends though.

Helpful?
1 Thank sarahjns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fish and chips”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed a meal at this pub after a bike ride finding it in chatham. Has a beer garden too so can eat out in the sun on a hot day. I had the fish and chips, was really nice and hand made. Would come again.

Helpful?
1 Thank MansMachine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“not all its made out to be”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

prob be nice for a drink but its nothing special apart from looking nice on the outside.we had a meal out the garden which was really disappointing.its just standard pub grub.we had deep fried camembert to start and it was the strangest thing i`d ever had.it was like tasting deepfried cod without the fish !.my husband didnt mind this place but for me once was enough

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank michKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daniel r, Owner at The Artichoke, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear trip adviser
Sorry you where disappointed on your visit. We are only a traditional pub selling good value pub grub. As for the Camembert, this is not on our menu.. What we do have is battered Brie!!!
Many thanks
Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Artichoke also viewed

Chartham, Canterbury
 

Been to The Artichoke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing