We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant prices but not restaurant service!”

Garden Kitchen Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 6 Restaurants in Chartham
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible
Canterbury
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Restaurant prices but not restaurant service!”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Nicely presented eating area, not a restaurant really more of a cafe, some self service but others you order from the counter. Food takes an age to arrive, service is slow and not always as polite as it should be, and the prices are astronomical (the play area costs extra) all of which adds up to the feeling of being fleeced at every opportunity. There is potential here to improve. School report: must try harder!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Rocketscientisty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    9
    5
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice Afternoon Tea”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Had a very good "afternoon tea" consisting of ham & cheese sandwiches, fresh scone, Cornish clotted cream & jam and a small cake which was beautifully presented on a three-tier stand on 28/06/14. The service was fantastic and nothing was too much trouble. Will definitely return for another "afternoon tea" again.

The only criticism I have is that restaurant area is looking very tired and in need of a refit and not just a cosmetic paint job. Be good if they could change the layout to get away from the “canteen” feel.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Poor value and poor service”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Ordered 2 teas and 2 egg/mayonnaise sandwiches. Cost £12.38 - very poor value.
Also the tea was served straight away but the sandwich took almost 20minutes to arrive.
Staff serving were very loud and seemed to be reading from a script .
Will not be going there again!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wide range”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Situated beside the A28, within a well stocked garden centre, this restaurant has friendly and attentive staff, a wide rangeing menu, and has the additional benefit of an enclosed play area for children. Well worth a visit, sure you will return.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Godfrey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“These people want my baby to starve”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Took my 14 month old there this week. I purchased items for myself and took snacks for baby because they do not serve anything suitable for her to eat. Told that I was not allowed to give my baby food from home. All food must be purchased from restaurant. I explained the situation but they persisted. Tried to purchase children's meal later on (drink, sandwich and 3 items - rather expensive and difficult as baby does not eat sandwiches or salty crisps). No sandwiches on display so they had to make some especially which they moaned about. Took forever and by the time they came out my baby had lost interest. Will not be going again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MotherOfOneMaidstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Garden Kitchen Restaurant also viewed

 
 

Been to Garden Kitchen Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing