We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint old pub in pretty village.”
Review of Woolpack Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Woolpack Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Chilham B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 December 2012

We enjoyed our meal in the bar with a warming fire to our backs. The staff were all helpful and friendly. Our room was across the road in a separate building which was clean and well fitted. Unfortunately the room was not very warm but we were provided with an additional heater which helped. Then the heating went off during the night so the room was cold again in the morning - the weather was pretty cold so it would probably be ok in milder temperatures. The ensuite was also a wet room for the disabled so was quite spacious. The wifi is very expensive but the parking fortunately is free. Would probably consider staying again if visiting the area.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2012

We stayed here for one night after a recommendation from a friend. We had a lovely stay. The room was one in the patio area. The room was lovely - plenty of room and tastefully decorated. It was very clean and comfortable - and it smelt nice! The bathroom was quite small but fine and again very clean - my only slight moan was that the grouting in the shower needed to be tidied up! We ate in the restaurant that evening and the food was delicious with very interesting choices. There were 4 of us and we all really enjoyed what we had. It was very busy in the restaurant but they had enough staff on duty to deal with the number of people in so it all went very smoothly. The tables were also not too near each other so you felt you had your own space. The waiting staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alice-Mick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

While out with friends in May we came across the Woolpack by accident and decided to go back later in the year to stay. We have just come back home after having a great two days and can't recommend the pub, rooms and most of all the friendly and welcoming staff enough. We have two dogs which can complicate things but not here as they where not only supplied with beds, bowels and poop bags but the odd bit of pork scratching from the kitchen, which they loved. Amazing food,great beer and friendly staff!! We all agreed that we were made to feel like locals and while sitting by the log fire with a pint of Masterbrew in hand I wish that I was. We will certainly be back again.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jasonpurplefingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We booked a one night stay for mid October through bookings.com & received a confirmation email guaranteeing our stay. When we arrived we were greeted by a rude lady who offered no sympathy or explanation. She found us a room & we didn't have to pay any extra. The pub itself is a lovely environment but the staff should not be working in the service industry. Better suited to prison guards if you ask me!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank andrea_elsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We stopped here after a long day back to the UK from Cologne via the Eurotunnel and before heading back to Aberdeen. The check in was simple, our rooms were very good - although one was quite compact. The dinner was good and it was lovely to beabkle to sit outside on a beuatiful summer's evening. Breakfast was superb,

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShirazAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We booked this hotel along with five other couples (one room each) for a wedding we had nearby. As the wedding was happening at the check in time we rang to ask if possibly we could check in early so we could get ready to at least one room. And was told we would have to chance it very rudely. So turned up on the day early to be told that they had actually no done ours cause someone else had rung that morning asking a similar thing so that had cleaned there room not ours!! May i add this wasnt said nicely, this was not the end to the rudeness we were greeted with the same feeling at breakfast and checkout. Frankly it was obvious they get custom to easily due to its location and therefore dont offer ANY KIND of service i would rather sleep in my car than pay any more money to the rude female owner. If i were you i would save the money stay further away and get a taxi.

Room Tip: Dont do it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank FreyaHunter1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We spent a week here in July/August 2012 and couldn't be more pleased. I have three daughters ages 13, 10 and 8 and the family room had enough space for them (and my husband and me) for our week's stay. The staff was so nice and helpful to us and the girls, including that they gave us a ride to the train station when we lingered too long over breakfast and missed the local stop. We got great advice, the restaurant and pub were entirely pleasant and we felt right at home. I would definintely return if looking to spend more time in the English countryside.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank Robyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chilham
5.5 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#6 of 16 in Canterbury
1,989 reviews
5.7 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Upper Harbledown
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
455 reviews
3.3 mi away
Howfield Manor Hotel
Howfield Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chartham
387 reviews
5.6 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woolpack Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woolpack Inn

Address: The Street | Chilham, Chilham, Canterbury CT4 8DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury > Chilham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Chilham
Price Range: £71 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Woolpack Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Woolpack Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woolpack Hotel Chilham
Woolpack Inn Chilham, Kent - Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing