We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A let down for a lovely village” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shelly's Tea Rooms

Shelly's Tea Rooms
Ranked #1 of 3 Coffee & Tea in Chilham
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A let down for a lovely village”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

Food - not bad but we waited ages. Menu totally uninspiring.
One waitress and no other customers in the height of summer, coupled with awful instrumental pseudo saxo-jazz music made for a depressing atmosphere.
Such a shame for such a charming detour just outside Canterbury.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LesterRamoutar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sean s, Owner at Shelly's Tea Rooms, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
A little confused here as you say "uninspiring menu" what did you expect from a tea shop? bearing in mind we sell, Oven Baked Jacket Potato`s, Panini's homemade curries, homemade soups, sandwiches, pizza baguettes, breakfasts to name only a selection, this in addition to fresh scones baked every day and handmade cakes. You then say "only one waitress however no other customers", how many waitresses did you require to serve you? because you say there was no other customers so how does one waitress affect you? it doesn't make sense. We never like to hear somebody does not enjoy our tea rooms however your review does rather stand out against the other reviews submitted and other than criticising for its own sake rather than for any real concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    75
    36
    21
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2011

This beautiful Tea Shop set in a lovely village provides fantastic service and food, we had the cream teas which were not only the largest scones I ever tasted but the best, even better they are now offering t deliver these on line through scones2you.com, so I think once home we will be ordering a box, We truly cant recommend this Tea Shop enough a must visit, even better whilst we were there Kelly Brook was sitting on the next table.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sts1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shelly's Tea Rooms also viewed

 

Been to Shelly's Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing