We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Stay”
Review of The Old Alma

The Old Alma
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chilham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Alma
Ranked #5 of 5 Chilham B&B and Inns
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Happy Stay”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My wife and I stayed here in July. The bedroom was very comfortable and we were well fed at breakfast time. Paul and Jenny made every effort to make us welcome and gave us information about local pubs and visitor attractions. If we were in the area in the future we should certainly wish to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HLW38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    2
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
4
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Old Alma following a friends recommendation as we were going to a wedding nearby. Paul and Jenny made us instantly feel at home. Our room was lovely, shower room made good use of the space and breakfast was amazing! The best bacon and eggs I've ever had! We will definitely find an excuse to go back - I didn't want to leave Henny and Paul. They are the best hosts anyone could wish for.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T75_30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

7 of our family stayed here for 2 nights for a family wedding. Not very inspiring from the outside - on a very busy and fast road with terrible exit into traffic, but host (Paul) very welcoming and hospitable, beds comfortable, breakfasts very good. Dispute over costs at the time of departure rather spoiled things - despite us having confirmation in writing of rates and deposit paid >6months in advance, hostess wanted (significant) additional money for family room even though it was advertised (and booking confirmed) to sleep 4 at same rate as twin/double rooms; we would perhaps have paid a per person rate if a) had been told in advance and b) there had been a reduction for single occupancy of a double room, which there wasn't. Hotel uses Hotel Apps to make bookings and pay deposit, but we had no contact with the establishment until I called them direct 3 weeks ahead to make sure they had our booking. Even at time of arrival there was confusion about what rooms we had booked - luckily we had email confirming booking and payment from Hotel Apps. Probably OK as a B&B to break a journey for 1-2 nights (check rates first!) but would not stay longer, even though surrounding countryside very pretty. Admin deficiencies spoiled overall ratings significantly.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveldoc2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We stayed here for one night as we were attending a wedding in the village. The room had everything that we needed and was very clean and bed was very comfy. The service was fantastic here they were so helpful and kind. The breakfast was lovely and again the service from Paul was amazing. We really enjoyed staying here and would love to stay again. We would definitely reccomend.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisandkathleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chilham
7.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Ashford - Central
2.4 mi away
Howfield Manor Hotel
Howfield Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chartham
378 reviews
0.9 mi away
Woolpack Inn
Woolpack Inn
#2 of 5 in Chilham
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Homelea Bed and Breakfast
3.6 mi away
Iffin Farmhouse
Iffin Farmhouse
#1 of 75 in Canterbury
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Alma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Alma

Property: The Old Alma
Address: Canterbury Road, Chilham, Canterbury CT4 8DX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury > Chilham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Chilham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A former Victorian Pub built in 1854 situated at the historic village of Chilham. 5 min drive from Godmersham, 15 minsdrive from Canterbury & Ashford. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Alma Chilham, Kent - Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing