We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Homelea Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
US$60
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eastwell Manor(Boughton Lees)
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Canterbury Hotel(Canterbury)
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Victoria Hotel(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$92
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Castle House Hotel(Canterbury)
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Railway Hotel(Faversham)(Great Value!)
US$98
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Falstaff in Canterbury(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$118
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ABode Canterbury(Canterbury)(Great Value!)
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (133)
Filter reviews
133 results
Traveller rating
100
20
6
1
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
100
20
6
1
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsschool roomslippers providedbeautiful roomfriendly hostslovely breakfastlocal attractionslarge bathroomenjoyable stayyogurtfionabalconycanterburyaccommodationblindstreetopsstabletoiletries
Filter
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 133 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Booked here because of previous reviews BUT certainly utterly failed to meet those standards.

Stayed in the school room - shower was broken, veranda an accident waiting to happen, room grubby, pillows very old and hard, Breakfast - cereals out of date, poorly cooked breakfast, served in a small hall.
Stairs so steep and badly lit.
All in all a very disappointing,overpriced, experience.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1moonlightdancer, Owner at Homelea Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2012

It is true that Homelea is not suitable for disabled people. If this was an important issue, which obviously was, it should have been discussed on the telephone at the point of booking, as Fiona would have said that Homelea was not suitable. We do not have any ground floor bedrooms.
1. At point of booking it was discussed, that we do ask our guests to remove outside shoes. We have free range chickens and for hygiene reasons it helps keep our carpets and house clean, which one would think the guests would also enjoy. It was stated that it may be a good idea that they bring their slippers with them. At this point the lady commented “that’s fine we remove our outside shoes in our own house!” This too is sent out on an email confirming the reservations and along with the deposit paid and also at point of booking the guests are always told the credit & debit card charges will be passed onto the guests. Never has Fiona insisted and never will she insist that cash is to be paid. She purely gives the guest the choice of how they wish to pay.
2. The bathroom does not have a blind that is too short. It has a balcony door with a venetian blind.
3. The Shower in the school room has never been broken. Firstly the Aunt was booked into the Heron Room which is stated on the Homelea Website that it has a private bathroom and is not an ensuite room. This also was pointed out at the time of booking, but they wanted the three cheapest rooms. Fiona even gave them a discount as they wanted three rooms as singles instead of two of them sharing a twin bedded room! As the Aunt was making such a fuss about a private bathroom, Fiona showed them the School Room and stated that it was the body jet dial that was not working correctly and that the part was coming from Germany. She could use the School Room as long as she was aware of this. The Aunt was rude and still wanted an even further discount and if that could be projected as being rude to say No sorry, there is no discount on the premiere room, then that, is for one to make your own mind up.
4. The veranda (balcony) is definitely not an accident waiting to happen. The rooms are painted and marks (caused by guests!) are constantly addressed and so are the hallways, stair case etc, etc. The rooms are no way shabby. The pillows in all the rooms have pillow protectors as well as pillow cases and have two pillows to each guest being of a “bounce” pillow and also a firm pillow, allowing the guest to have a choice of the type of pillow they like!
5. The breakfast is not served in a hall!! It is an open plan dining room. The cereals are never out of date and are served in glass containers, so where the guests are even getting this from, one does not know. Coffee is not served stewed and is made to order in caffitiers, but in fact the niece asked for instant coffee so how this could be stewed, it is not known. Fiona does not have instant coffee, apart from the sachets used for the guest rooms.
6. Breakfast is not served to a poor standard, this is very offensive.
7. The treetops room is on a saniflow as it is in the original part of the house. This is not un normally noisy. The niece said that her daughter had a saniflow at home and was aware of what could be put down the toilet. Homelea is not a new house built 1930`s and many older houses are on sani flows.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

I have just returned from a weekend stay and feel that this B&B definitely did not live up to five star expectations. The furnishings of the room certainly did not meet five star standards, especially the saniflow toilet and a mirror resting on the floor. There is a busy main road which I could clearly hear in my room through the day and night. The swimming pool was closed until July. The breakfast was extremely poor with cold stewed coffee and overcooked eggs and baked beans. On arrival we were told we had to remove our shoes and put slippers on. To add insult to injury, on settling our bill, Fiona requested cash and when I insisted on paying by card, she asked if I had enough money in my bank account!.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeanette0111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1moonlightdancer, Owner at Homelea Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2012

The treetops room is on a saniflow as it is in the original part of the house. This is not un normally noisy. The niece said that her daughter had a saniflow at home and was aware of what could be put down the toilet. Homelea is not a new house built 1930`s and many older houses are on sani flows or sespits. We have double glazed windows. Homelea is on the A28 which is also stated "situated on the A28 road between the villages of Chilham and Chartham." on our own website. The traffic does calm down at night and guests can always open the windows at the back of the house if so wished to avoid opening the windows at the front. Homelea is also set back from the road. Most b&b`s are on main roads as they attract passing trade! The Swimming pool is in doors and is not currently heated. The pool is a family pool and we give permission to guests to use it at our own will. Homelea is a bed and breakfast , not a guest house or a hotel and is primarily Fiona`s home. We offer a friendly atmosphere, and Fiona is local to the area so knows great walks and places to see and do and is happy to help her guests find the best out of their break away. . Maybe it would have been nice if any of these problems that, if were, problems, could have been discussed with her. Fiona puts in hard work and dedication into providing lovely accommodation which is very much appreciated by not every guest, but most.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We chose to stay here because of the leisure facilities only to find that they only heat the indoor pool in the summer. The owners sent us very rude emails and said that we were 'unsuitable'. You're not allowed to put your shoes on indoors and they are very nervous about anyone touching anything in case it breaks. They have a lot to learn about running B&Bs and I wouldn't recommend that anyone goes.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenMC4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1moonlightdancer, Owner at Homelea Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2012

This lady NEVER stayed at Homelea. She had vouchers from a travel group which was out of date so I would not accept the vouchers. When this lady contacted me I politely suggested she stayed in a hotel as my pool is not heated in the winter and is a family pool. I was at no time rude. I have been running a successful business since 1989 If I was rude to my guests I would not still be in business. It was stated on an email that for hygiene reasons we ask people to remove their outdoor shoes as we have free range hens who wonder around the garden. Some people may not like to remove shoes, but this is also my home and slippers are provided in the rooms for guests to use if they so wish.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

My wife & I wanted a quiet relaxing weekend away in Canterbury, we found Homelea via trip advisor, and all the reviews we read live up to what we experienced, friendly, good service, we stayed in the School room which was a lovely comfortable clean room with beautiful views.
An all round good place to stay, we would highly recommend for anyone to stay there.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lyndsey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1moonlightdancer, Owner at Homelea Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

Thank you for your comments. It is always great to hear that people are enjoying staying at Homelea. Makes it worth while all the hard work.

Hope to see you again
Kind regards
Fiona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

A smashing B&B just a few miles from Canterbury. The accommodation was lovely with a very comfortable king size bed in a very large bedroom overlooking the lake. Fiona made us very welcome sending up a tea tray with lovely hot cross buns. Fiona also reserved us a table in the local pub which I can thoroughly recommend . The breakfast was cooked fresh and plentiful.
All in All one of the best B&Bs we have stayed in.

Room Tip: School room was smashing. Would recommend this one.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1moonlightdancer, Owner at Homelea Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Thank you so much for posting a review. It always takes time and effort, but helps other guests to make a decision hopefully one to stay with us!!
Hope you will return another time.

Kind regards
Fiona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews