We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than home (but don't tell my wife)!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Pilgrims Rest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Pilgrims Rest
Ranked #2 of 2 Littlebourne B&B and Inns
tyneside
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Better than home (but don't tell my wife)!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

As we were going on a cruise from Dover we booked this accommodation to break up a long drive from the North before parking at the port the following day. We booked directly with the owner, Gerard. It is situated in a lovely, peaceful village and has parking at the rear.

On arrival we received a warm welcome from Gerard and were shown to a delightful ground floor room. The room was well-furnished, clean, and had everything we required, even a sofa. The large ensuite was spotless, with an over-the-bath shower, plenty of toiletries and good towels. The hospitality tray was well-stocked and the flat screen TV had teletext.

After a very good night's sleep we were looking forward to our breakfast. Gerard showed us to our table, took our order, we both opted for the full breakfast with toast. He showed us the side table which was abundant with fresh fruit, juices, cereals, home made jams, etc, and told us to help ourselves, which we did. The cooked breakfast was an absolute delight, and was topped of with a full pot of leaf tea.

Looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sand-dancerBST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    37
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
17
72
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Very nice little b & b. owners very nice & polite. Comfortable room, but the bathroom looked a little tired. Very nice breakfast with a good selection of food to choose from.
Just a word of advice, if you don't like soft pillows then take your own. The pillows were too soft for my liking but that's just me.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank millsx123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Booked this hotel as a stopover before embarking on a cruise. A great experience, from picking up the phone to ask if a ground floor room was available to driving out of the car park after our one night stay, everything was great.

On arrival we were welcomed by Gerard and were shown to our ground floor room. It was a large room which was big enough for a double bed, sofa, desk, chair, chest of drawers which was home to a well-stocked hospitality tray and kettle, and there was still ample room to move around comfortably. Probably one of the larger rooms we have had. The en suite was clean and bright, with a bath and over-bath shower, toilet and washbasin, with good quality toiletries. The room also overlooked the car park so we were able to keep an eye on the car.

The only complaint would be that its was quite a cold night and we could not find out how to work the central heating, but once in bed we slept without feeling the cold.

Breakfast was great. There was an excellent choice of cereals, fruit, juices, yogurt, jams etc, and a further choice of about eight different cooked breakfasts. The Pilgrim Breakfast was a good size and set us up nicely for the day ahead. We chose tea rather than coffee and this came in a large teapot, made with tea leaves, and plenty for two cups each.

When it came to leave and, after we settled our bill, Gerard very kindly gave us short cut directions to Dover.

Will most definitely stay again if we need to go to the Dover area.

Room Tip: If you need a ground floor room you can ring Gerard and he will do his best to arrange this, althoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravesend, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

This hotel was ideal for our stay. It was within walking distance of Howletts (the country roads are lethal on foot though!) We recieved a very warm welcome and the landlord let us leave the buggy downstairs. Rooms were immaculately clean. However this B&B lost out on a excellant view based on sleep quality. I can usually sleep anywhere but the beds were awful: narrow and rock hard. Room was stuffy too. The huge breakfast soon cheered me up! Its pretty much eat as much as you like, with a great selection on the side board plus a hot meal. The landlord kept refiling our toast racks and butter, even giving us enough food and juicefor my 18 month son. Apart from the beds :( this stay was just what we needed!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Pretty B+B with lovely hanging baskets which made a great backdrop for some photos. Very friendly and accommodating owners, nicely decorated, clean rooms and a charming breakfast room. Great variety of breakfast dishes with home made preserves and perfect boiled eggs. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nellywelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed in the Pilgrims Rest for three nights.The room was roomy and clean the bathroom and shower also very clean The breakfast was very good with plenty of choice on offer
The bus stop was over the road and we caught the bus into Canterberry which was very easy and saved looking for parking
There was plenty of parking at the back of the Pilgrims rest
We found the host friendly and helpfull if we had any questions so good stay we would return here if we were in Kent again

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

A good all rounder! Owners very welcoming, relaxed, not overly gushy....which I like! Rooms of a good standard, very clean. Bed not overly big, but we're use to queen size, nice touch with toy box in child's room, (we stayed in the family suite with our three year old) fab breakfast, quality food. Would most certainly recommend and visit again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Littlebourne
3.6 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
3.7 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,798 reviews
3.3 mi away
Abbots Barton Hotel
Abbots Barton Hotel
#3 of 16 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Iffin Farmhouse
Iffin Farmhouse
#1 of 78 in Canterbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Retro B&B
The Retro B&B
#7 of 78 in Canterbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.3 mi away
Evenhill
Evenhill
#1 of 2 in Littlebourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pilgrims Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pilgrims Rest

Property: The Pilgrims Rest
Address: 48-50 High Street, Littlebourne, Canterbury CT3 1ST, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury > Littlebourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Littlebourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pilgrims Rest 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Pilgrims Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pilgrims Rest Hotel Littlebourne
The Pilgrims Rest Littlebourne, Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing