We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow fantastic food, great service, very clean A+”
Review of The Anchor Inn - CLOSED

The Anchor Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$32
Cuisines: Contemporary, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Description: Newly refurbished in August 2013, finished to a very high standard. The all new Anchor Inn can cater for all occasions.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wow fantastic food, great service, very clean A+”
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Recently refurbished and what a change, first visit in back after 15 years!!! firstly friendly happy warm welcome from staff.
Cosy country atmosphere, open brickwork, natural style tank and chairs.
Firstly we ordered our main and were given a free soup served in a cup on slate plate great idea, which tasted Devine lovely and hot on such a cold day curried roast potato and parsnip flavour.
Our mains arrived I had home made beef burger with Stilton and onion which came with home made chunky chips, really creamy coleslaw, side salad with grapes which all accompanied the meal perfectly, everything was both cooked and presented beautifully.
The price was good to two main two colas £20 odd pounds I thought it was great.
On leaving I visited the toilets and they were very clean and tidy perfect black white tiling all round, good job!!!!

Would I visit the Anchor again.....'Hell yes', can't wait.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HOTRODDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    38
    25
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Since the new owners have taken over, this pub looks brand new. Inside looks fantastic after a complete refurb.
We went on one of their grill nights, and the food was delicious. Good sized portions, I had camembert starter and one of their mixed grill mains. I didn't have the room for dessert, much to my disappointment!
Affordable, nice atmosphere and good food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cs1291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We were lucky to get a table on a Friday night as pub was very busy. It was fish and chip night and the meal was delicious. The service was very good, nothing was too much trouble. Would definitely make a return visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank theresamac2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best in area”
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

With four competitors in a 2 mile radius at Ickham, Bramling, Bekesbourne and just up the road The Anchor has to be good and it is.

Staple starters from bags, e.g. Whitebait, are followed by mains such as cod and chips in the set lunch menu. We were too full for desserts.

Ales include the industrial Sharps Doombar but there' s also the local Wantsum Turbulent Priest.

Recently renovated this pub eatery deserves to succeed and probably will.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Keith J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herne, Kent.
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Almost Perfect”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We have dined many times at their sister pub the Bell at Lydden and always enjoyed it. As the Anchor had been recently refurbished and was nearer to where we live we decided on a lunch try out before maybe going for the Gourmet evening or the Christmas Dinner.
The place was very nicely decorated and soon filled. Menu's were brought promptly and drinks orders taken which arrived smartly. However from there on the service slowed in direct proportion to the arriving guests. Starters arrived just before having to ask where they had got to, but arrived incorrectly, though this was correctedt swiftly. Our main courses took forever and worse were not served in the rotation of peoples arrival.
The food, as with the Lydden Bell was well cooked, well presented, and extremely well priced for the quality. The waitress we noted also had to prepare the drinks,serve at the bar, take orders, compute bills and serve and although she was very efficient it was clear that they are seriously understaffed here, perhaps a victim of their own success. So if they get that right then the Anchor Inn could be a gem, great food and be sure to take a healthy appetite, but a pity about the service, hopefully just a teething problem.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pelicanproductions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Anchor Inn also viewed

Littlebourne, Canterbury
Wingham, Canterbury
 
Wingham, Canterbury
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing