We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little gem!”
Review of Evenhill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Evenhill
Ranked #1 of 2 Littlebourne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Aarschot, Belgium
Level Contributor
131 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Nice little gem!”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Just had one night over here. It's a lovely hotel, easy to find (with gps), clean room, small but superb bathroom (large tub!), decent breakfast (just missed the baked beans a bit...). Lot of parking spaces. The only negative point is that there is nog wifi in the room. You have to go down to the pub, which is quiet inconvenient. I want to get online, I don't want to get drunk...

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank la_ragazza_mela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    72
    15
    9
    1
See reviews for
44
94
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Lovely quiet pub resturant rooms were well equipped only down side as no WiFi in bedrooms and we had noisy guests next door the food was 1st class the staff were polite and helpful they took yo to he room and explained how are o use everything.The hotel was very close to Canterbury but the he route to he town was unlit it is advisable to have a car

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank alan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

Bedrooms are located in what appears, at first sight, to be a traditional timber barn, completely separate from the road-side Evenhill pub. On closer inspection, the building reveals itself to be purpose-built for the job. And a very nice job it is too. The bedrooms are very comfortable, well equipped and quiet, due to the fact that the building is set well back from the road.

It's a short walk across the car park to the main pub building where there is a dedicated guest check-in desk and a friendly bar serving great beer and wine.

The pub has a highly rated and interestingly located restaurant set over two floors. The food choice in the evening and at breakfast proved good value, plentiful and well cooked. No need to look anywhere else!

Whether visiting the area for one day or more, on business or for pleasure, accompanied or alone, the Evenhill is a very good and friendly stop-over. Recommended.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
140 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

This review is divided into two:

The hotel - well it´s out the back away from the road, so that´s a good start. But really it´s student style rooming with tired decoration and little to make up for it. The TV was stuck on one channel and nothing seemed to make it want to change. Fortunately, with the exception of the night I didn´t spend much time there.

The pub restaurant - couldn´t have been nicer. Food was better than I had thought and there was a decent-ish wine list. Service was friendly and chatty. And afterwards you can go downstairs and join the pub crowd.

Room Tip: Ask for a double. Apparently, they´re better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwissFrenchBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Stayed here with hubby overnight before a day trip to Calais. Rooms are situated behind the pub away from the road with plenty of parking. Room was on the first floor with two small velux windows overlooking fields. There wasn't any central heating instead there was an 'air conditioning' type unit which blew out warm or cold air, the room quickly became stuffy using this. Bathroom was very 1980s and tired looking. but functional with a good shower. Bed was comfy the TV had freeview and there were tea and coffee making facilities. The pub was fab! We had an evening meal which we booked in advance, food was delicious and reasonably priced. All staff were very friendly and helpful. A real eclectic mix of people in the pub which made for a very enjoyable evening.

Room Tip: All seemed similar, perhaps ground floor would be less noisy?!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MollyMooSx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We booked the Evenhill on the spur of the moment as we wanted to stay In Canterbury for a couple of nights.We were looking to stay in the actual town but so glad we opted for The Evenhill.The rooms were perfectly clean and modern with amazing shower constant hot water and excellent tea making facilities.We booked an evening meal and it was thoroughly enjoyable , freshly prepared but not overpriced. Tip however wine per glass expensive best to buy a bottle. Could not fault the breakfast and the choice was excellent and well cooked. The staff were very friendly and helpful and if you dont want to use your car there is a bus stop directly outside to go into Canterbury.The price of the accommodation was very reasonable for the stay

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
220 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Just spent a lovely two nights in this nice little pub/hotel The staff were friendly and we took the advice of other travellers and booked our meal on the first night. The food was excellent with fantastic sized portions. The restaurant area was quirky as the floor was wonky because the place is so old which added to the charm. Breakfast was freshly cooked and plentiful. Rooms were located at the back and we were in the eaves. the room was not massive but plenty big enough and was clean. There was a maid service each day which I didn't expect. There was everything you could want in the room including a hairdryer, air conditioning, trouser press, an ironing board and iron and even a stand for our case. Lots of tea and coffee sachets and proper mugs to have it in not those stupid cups that you usually get. We had a corner bath and a lovely shower. Hot water was reliable too. My only complaint (and that's why it didn't get 5 points) was that it was exceptionally hot in the bathroom which you could not adjust and meant that during the night we had to have the window open and the air con on. Other than that a great little place. Only 5 or 6 mins drive into Canterbury too.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jivebanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Littlebourne
3.5 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,822 reviews
3.0 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
3.4 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
5.5 mi away
Howfield Manor Hotel
Howfield Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chartham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
3.3 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evenhill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evenhill

Property: Evenhill
Address: 62 The Hill, Littlebourne, Canterbury CT3 1TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury > Littlebourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Littlebourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Evenhill 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Evenhill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evenhill Littlebourne, Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing