We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tries hard”
Review of Evenhill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Evenhill
Ranked #1 of 2 Littlebourne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Tries hard”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I've stayed here a couple of time and I've booked for two nights over Christmas, my family live in the same village. I will be staying here more often, not out of choice but out of necessity. I stayed last Saturday night. Room is cold, bathroom is cold and I couldn't find where to switch on the heating. I didn't use any of the toiletries. My room faced the front..now bearing in mind that it's a Sunday, I was woken up at 0645 by an inconsiderate contractor starting his diesel engine and letting it run. I knocked on the window and was confronted hand signals! It would be nice if the management put notices up to be considerate about noise, along with the notices about not accepting responsibility for theft and damage etc.
I didn't appreciate being told where to sit at breakfast, also could the staff NOT clean the table with very smelly spray while people are eating. I am very happy that the staff are happy but I would quite like them to keep the noise DOWN and be more professional, I heard a running commentary about the non delivery of eggs, the shortage of brown sauce etc.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glamgran56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    72
    15
    9
    1
See reviews for
44
94
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

This 'hotel' is just a couple of miles drive from Canterbury city centre & provides great access to other parts of Kent. It's more of a B&B than a hotel in my opinion but this is reflected in the price. It's incredibly easy to find and is far enough out of town to provide a quiet 'getaway' break which is what we wanted but close enough to Canterbury that you can access all the amenities. The hotel has a pub/ restaurant attached and the service is really good - a mixture of friendly and helpful without being too in your face which I found perfect. We only stayed one night and so only had breakfast which was nice enough, although a bit on the greasy side.The room itself was very comfortable - roomy, incredibly comfortable bed, t.v. in the room, controllable heating & big bathroom with a large tub. I would definitely recommend this & would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Have often driven past on way to sandwich & this time decided to have Lunch.
Friendly & warm with a decent range of beers.
The three of us ordered from the Lunch Menu & each enjoyed our meal. Even Uni Boy.

I am sure we will return in the Summer & sit on their Patio.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarschot, Belgium
Level Contributor
131 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Just had one night over here. It's a lovely hotel, easy to find (with gps), clean room, small but superb bathroom (large tub!), decent breakfast (just missed the baked beans a bit...). Lot of parking spaces. The only negative point is that there is nog wifi in the room. You have to go down to the pub, which is quiet inconvenient. I want to get online, I don't want to get drunk...

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank la_ragazza_mela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Lovely quiet pub resturant rooms were well equipped only down side as no WiFi in bedrooms and we had noisy guests next door the food was 1st class the staff were polite and helpful they took yo to he room and explained how are o use everything.The hotel was very close to Canterbury but the he route to he town was unlit it is advisable to have a car

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank alan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

Bedrooms are located in what appears, at first sight, to be a traditional timber barn, completely separate from the road-side Evenhill pub. On closer inspection, the building reveals itself to be purpose-built for the job. And a very nice job it is too. The bedrooms are very comfortable, well equipped and quiet, due to the fact that the building is set well back from the road.

It's a short walk across the car park to the main pub building where there is a dedicated guest check-in desk and a friendly bar serving great beer and wine.

The pub has a highly rated and interestingly located restaurant set over two floors. The food choice in the evening and at breakfast proved good value, plentiful and well cooked. No need to look anywhere else!

Whether visiting the area for one day or more, on business or for pleasure, accompanied or alone, the Evenhill is a very good and friendly stop-over. Recommended.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
140 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

This review is divided into two:

The hotel - well it´s out the back away from the road, so that´s a good start. But really it´s student style rooming with tired decoration and little to make up for it. The TV was stuck on one channel and nothing seemed to make it want to change. Fortunately, with the exception of the night I didn´t spend much time there.

The pub restaurant - couldn´t have been nicer. Food was better than I had thought and there was a decent-ish wine list. Service was friendly and chatty. And afterwards you can go downstairs and join the pub crowd.

Room Tip: Ask for a double. Apparently, they´re better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwissFrenchBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Littlebourne
3.5 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#8 of 16 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,814 reviews
3.0 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
3.4 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
5.5 mi away
Howfield Manor Hotel
Howfield Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chartham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
3.3 mi away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evenhill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evenhill

Property: Evenhill
Address: 62 The Hill, Littlebourne, Canterbury CT3 1TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury > Littlebourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Littlebourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Evenhill 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Evenhill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evenhill Littlebourne, Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing