We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel pub with a family connection!”
Review of Evenhill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Evenhill
Ranked #2 of 2 Littlebourne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Banwell, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A great hotel pub with a family connection!”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Booked into this Shepherd Neame pub because my Great Grandfather Mac Maxted was the landlord between the two World Wars and my 91-year-old Father used to spend every Christmas there as a child for a family dinner.
It was an hotel situated behind it in the old agricultural barn which has been converted to a very high standard...including air conditioning.
The old pub retains it character and even has sold old photos showing my Great Grandfather and the pub in his era.
We enjoyed a lovely meal in the restaurant with my cousin Kay and her partner. She was last in the Evenhill some 20 years ago when her Father, My Uncle Pete, - a talented musician - entertained there. Food and service was fantastic, quality and fairly priced.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hutson110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    74
    16
    9
    1
See reviews for
44
96
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The rooms are spacious and comfortable. Breakfast and dinner were good and the service was great. Also, there is abundant parking. The hotel is within easy driving distance to Canterbury but there is a bus stop almost right outside the door so why bother driving and parking? Would certainly return.

Room Tip: Room 8 was excellent - spacious, close to the main entrance and no stairs to negotiate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Austraveller92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall
Level 6 Contributor
468 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed one night to visit family in the area and have to say that generally this hotel is an OK place to stay. Room was clean and provided all the amenities you would expect, tea making, hair dryer, trouser press, etc. Nice bathroom with large bath towels and so on. The only negative that stopped me from rating the experience as excellent was the service at breakfast. Food was good, full english with plenty of choice of fruits and cereals, but got the feeling that we were an inconvenience. Service was abrupt and everything seemed like too much effort when asking for anything that wasn't already laid out, i.e. sauces, etc. (Which never arrived anyway). Shame because everything else was perfect.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StevieH110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I booked this hotel for a surprise wedding anniversary. The barn conversion was querky and the rooms, although basic were clean and well maintained with tea making facilities, tv, trouser press, iron and board. The bathroom was very clean with a lovely deep shaped bath. The food in the restaurant was amazing as were the surroundings. We had a good peacefull nights sleep as the rooms are set back from the road. Breakfast was cooked to order so was fresh and hot.
All the staff were friendly and well manored at all times and we were made to feel very welcome.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nelly682014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Booked the Evenhill at short notice and what a gem it turned out to be. Cleanliness couldn't be faulted. Only a few miles from Canterbury. Excellent breakfast and really friendly, courteous and helpful staff. Will certainly return

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beccles, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed at the Evenhill for one night after a family funeral. Room very comfortable, very clean and with a large bathroom. Generous amounts of tea and coffee making facilities in the room. Hosts were extremely attentive but not intrusive, from the moment we arrived until we left. Breakfast plentiful, good choice and freshly cooked to order. Very peaceful stop over. If you are looking for a stop over in the area give the Evenhill a try, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nevortricky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Had Carvery on 25th May with numerous others being the fall out party following local wedding, excellant value for money and to top it all Thatchers Gold on draught, a little pricey but we are talking Kent prices not Somerset!
Highly recommended for food and drink.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dysonbuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Littlebourne
3.0 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
2.9 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
6.0 mi away
Broome Park Golf and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Upper Harbledown
713 reviews
3.9 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
275 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Pilgrims Rest
The Pilgrims Rest
#1 of 2 in Littlebourne
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evenhill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evenhill

Property: Evenhill
Address: 62 The Hill, Littlebourne, Canterbury CT3 1TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury > Littlebourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Littlebourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Evenhill 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Evenhill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evenhill Littlebourne, Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing