We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a real discovery!”
Review of Beechborough B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bishopsbourne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Beechborough B&B
gent
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a real discovery!”
Reviewed 14 March 2011

Remote and yet so close to the A2 and places like Dover (ferries!) and Canterbury. Very quiet, room (Sports Room) with interesting bits and pieces (and some stories!). Lizzie and Martin (the owners) know how to give people a warm welcome - breakfast (cooked while we were watchting and chatting) in their kitchen was super! Good bed - after all, sleeping is one of the most important things you do in a B&B -, delicious cookies with our tea/coffee. Very comfortable bath robes. There was no real shower (bath has a hand shower) - maybe I missed that (a bit). This is a place to come back to!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dimmeke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
allotmentbabe, Owner at Beechborough B&B, responded to this review, 16 March 2011
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post feedback on TA. I'm so glad you both had a lovely time and enjoyed your music at the Gulbenkian Theatre. I'm sorry you missed your shower - but hope that the luxury bathroom more than made up for it. It was refurbished recently and try as we might, we just couldn't fit in a stand up shower with the space there was (this is mentioned on our website) - with the quirky ceiling and window it was just impossible. I just hope you enjoyed laying in the bath and looking at the fantastic wallpaper! Hope to see you both again on your extensive travels and your comments are praise indeed as you've stayed in B&Bs far and wide. Kind regards and with thanks, Lizzie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
49
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
hook norton
1 review
Reviewed 20 February 2011

We enjoyed a very peacefull and comfortable night at Beechborough. Made most welcome by our host and enjoyed an extremely restful nights sleep in a comfortable bed.
Would happily recommend to any of our friends. Lovely breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank perriss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2011

This accommodation was very well placed for us for our walk on the North Downs Way and had the advantage of being in an attractive village. We enjoyed the touch of luxury that the accommodation offered, including the long soak in the bath, and the opportunity to enjoy an evening meal there. Lizzie is an exellent cook.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walkernorthdowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2010

It's brilliant here. Stay if you can. If I lived in the village I'd be round all the time trying to make Lizzie be my best friend. It's a generous sort of a place - not just the huge (and delicious) breakfast, but things like being offered a glass of wine when you turn up, and the thoughtfulness of having some 'toiletries' (awful word) that you can buy if you've forgotten something (toothbrushes, that sort of thing). And something else ... you feel looked after without feeling overwhelmed by attention. You just feel comfortable and like you're genuinely welcome. It's fab.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nonworkingmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2010

We recently spent four nights at Beechborough.

In a brief summary it is a lovely house, with lovely rooms/facilities, run by lovely people, serving lovely food, in a lovely village. Everything is done and presented to the best/highest possible standard.

Beechborough is ideally placed being very close to Canterbury (with its cathedral), and within easy reach of Dover (with its castle/port) and Whitstable (with its oysters), as well as being around ten minutes drive away from the great Howletts Wild Animal Park (home to the UK's largest African elephant herd and some very happy gorillas).

We would both thoroughly recommend staying at Beechborough when exploring the South-East, and look forward to a return visit when we're next in the area. :-)

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MQAQVQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 September 2010

Lovely place to stay, with fantastic attention to detail!
Very warm, friendly welcome from hosts!
Beautiful food lovingly prepared!
Comfortable and luxurious!
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tessa59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2010

Lizzie, Martin and Rudy, the latter being the Labrador, presented us with a wonderful stay all over.
Beechborough is located in one of, if not the loveliest small villages we have seen so far in the south of England. The House is newly renovated and the Room is very cosy. Though it may be on the small side for some, we loved it.
From the comfortable Queen bed you enjoy a nice view into the garden and fields and there is SAT TV for when it is dark outside. The Bathroom is very nice as well and everything is outstandingly clean.

Bishopsboune will give you great walks and quite a few interesting things to see. The Church is to be recommended. There are no shops in the village itself, but Canterbury is not far away. The A2 is very close but you won't be able to hear or see anything of it from the village.

Lizzie prepares a delicious Breakfast and she and Martin are very helpful in making your stay even mor special.

All in all a place we will return to and we can only give our highest recommendation.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boeing742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bishopsbourne
3.6 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
3.2 mi away
Broome Park Golf and Country Club
5.0 mi away
Howfield Manor Hotel
Howfield Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chartham
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
4.1 mi away
Castle House Hotel
Castle House Hotel
#11 of 16 in Canterbury
306 reviews
6.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Upper Harbledown
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beechborough B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechborough B&B

Property: Beechborough B&B
Address: Beechborough Park Lane, Bishopsbourne, Canterbury CT4 5HY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury > Bishopsbourne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bishopsbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish accommodation in beautiful countryside situated on the North Downs Way, less than 5 miles from the Cathedral City of Canterbury. CAMRA listed pub in the village. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beechborough B&B Bishopsbourne, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing