We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Even better than the last time” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gate Inn

The Gate Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Chislet
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$11
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, View, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kent
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Even better than the last time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We ended up at The Gate when looking for somewhere to eat after an afternoon in Thanet. We'd been before, perhaps a year ago, but had no idea that there was a restaurant area so were very pleasantly surprised. We hadn't made a reservation, but that didn't matter. The friendly staff were more than happy to accommodate us. We had a really excellent meal and will definitely return.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank IslandhopperKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    51
    16
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“lovely friendly atmosphere within a village setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

The food is excellent as we have had various menu choiices. All staff are friendly and the manageralso serves food and works within the pub. The setting in the garden around the willow trees and small stream is very tranquil setting to enjoy a pint of real ale and generally relax. From jenny.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Always so welcoming and friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We visit The Gate very regularly and at every visit, are welcomed and provided with fabulous service, very well kept real ales and outstanding food. The menu is interesting and varied and the Specials Board always has something a little different from the normal menu.
Since having re- discovered The Gate, it has become a favourite venue.
The Gate is a 'family-owned' business and it really shows; such pride is taken in the level of service that is provided. Great food and such a good selection of real ales with their friendly service will mean that I'll remain a loyal customer for the foreseeable future.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitstable, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent and so friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We have visited The Gate on several occasions and have found it to be excellent. Lovely setting, friendly staff and locals, excellent food. Very good varied menu with something for everyone. Very scrummy indeed! Will be back without a doubt.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CasMal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
245 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Time Warped Inn In Chislet , Gate Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Well where shall I start, I have been coming here for years and it only gets better. The food especially the famous Gate Burgers and Noggins are a must. Sitting outside in the summer weather is a treat its so quiet and tranquil a step back in time. Recently I introduced my brother in law to the Burgers as he does eat well ha ha , he had a double gate cheese and it beat him. Lovely quaint building good staff ,fantastic food and as its only 30 min drive to here we obviously will keep coming here.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PETER T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Gate Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Gate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing