We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quintessential English Country Pub”
Review of The Gate Inn

The Gate Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Chislet
Price range: US$4 - US$11
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Quintessential English Country Pub”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Have been coming here for years. Whilst there have been changes made throughout those years it remains the perfect traditional English country pub - try it and see for yourself. What more can I say?

Just one thing to ask the owner - please replace the plain new modern sign with the previous one (a copy if it no longer exists) that was full of character and that we locals all loved and miss!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Newdays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    55
    16
    19
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A taste of England”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We went to The Gate on a Sunday lunchtime to have a drink and maybe something to eat. How glad we all were that we did decide to stay and enjoy the food. We had 2 roast dinners a famous gate burger and a pie. My roast I would venture to say was one of the best I have eaten. All the veg were fresh and beautifully cooked as was everyone's meal. The Yorkshire puddings were enormous and the portions generous. After main course everybody had a desert. One delicious sticky toffee pudding, a crumble both served with a jug of custard a chocolate brownie with berries soaked in cherry brandy and creme fraiche served in a jam jar and peaches soaked in cointreau with creme fraiche. We sat in the restaurant area which was light, clean and welcoming with history and charm. The lady who served us was amazing. Nothing seemed to much trouble and although extremely busy she was always helpful and with a ready smile. Real ale was enjoyed by three of our group with the only negative from our point of view was the lack of a single malt whisky to finish. This pub is in a beautiful setting with a pretty garden and a stream alongside. I'm almost reluctant to sing its praises so much in case it gets too busy. We will definitely be back again - soon!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ermentrude27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Splendid absorbtion into English Country Life!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This old Inn surrounded by a quiet stream overhung with full bloom summer trees is the real rural alehouse hardly different except for EU Food Standards since medieval times!The village too is loaded with many layers of history far enough from the Roman occupied coast on the premier BC invasion and from Canterbury Cathedral and from the motorway buzzing network to second coastal homes and the Continent! This is almost untouched with a tiny Methodist chapel amid Victorian workers homes and 50s bungalows and farms and ponies! The Ale washes all the visions onto one!The burger was tops and the fish is also well cooked!Chips are big but this is rural england not some Parisian high cusine joint! The silence of a lane more than a road breaks only with an odd slow wandering car!In winter and cool nights a log yuletide fire burns slowly and sometimes the now rare yeoman dancers do their Morris movements clanking sticks as ankle bells jingle and the encore is a medieval play so appaulingly scripted it goes as sheer comedy with no story even near understanding but numerous villians kicked in the backside! Total escapism into reality!Far from the London mob and greedy Banks!Quite wonderful!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“True Garden of England Pub”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The Gate Inn has a long history of warmth and friendship.
It has been the meeting and eating place for myself and friends for over 25 years. The young staff are friendly, and welcoming and will go out of their way to make your evening as pleasant as possible.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank k0ger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Perfect Ploughman's”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Last Friday I chose the cheese and ham ploughman's, I enjoy the variety of flavours this dish offers. Well my taste buds were definitely up for a treat. The thick ham was directly from the bone and had an amazing flavour. The cheese included both stilton and brie and was a great combination. The homemade chutney was delicious, it's difficult to know how this dish could have been improved. I will be back for more, thank-you The Gate kitchen staff.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Salstrawberry44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Gate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing