We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing new holiday let with great views”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Great Field Farm

Great Field Farm
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stelling Minnis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Great Field Farm
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Relaxing new holiday let with great views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed here for one night bed and breakfast, three adults one baby.
Great Field Farm, on the Stone Street between Canterburty and Hythe, is ideally located for visiting Kent being only 15/20 mins from; Ashford and Eurostar, Canterbury and Folkestone or Dover. It makes a great base from which to explore the Downs, Romney Marsh and the North and South Kent Coasts.They have their own solar and wind energy generation which makes the farm energy neutral.


There are a range of different sized holiday lets and B&B accommadation. We stayed at Sunset Lodge, modern, tranquil, with its lovely double aspect views across the spectacular Kent country side. There is one double and one twin bedroom both ensuite and a third bedroom in the roof with two single beds for children.
The accommodation is modern, under floor heating with a very well furnished, kitchen, a well equipped lounge with TV hifi and wifi and games for children.

We were treated to a large full english breakfast with local produce that kept us going for the rest of the day !

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveCameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
6
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denmead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed here in May in the newly built barn/conversion. A superb job done here. Really spacious rooms great for families or for a group of friends to stay. Lounge/kitchen diner is great for self catering. Bedrooms and beds really comfortable. LED lighting you will not see in many places can produce a relaxing ambience. Really modernistic. I think this will be a popular choice. Smart tv and internet too....and great views. Really recommend. If not into the modern type the site gives the more traditional B&B's as well.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienne, France
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

This farm B&B is ideal for several reasons : close to Canterbury and its sights, within easy reach of teh Channel ports or the Tunnel and you stay in a comfortable house with peaceful surroundings with good pubs in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rugden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lokeren, Belgium
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

Nice place to stay for the weekend.
We were there with our 4 young children, for a weekend of walking. Excellent place to do so, public footpaths near the property.

Toys for the children, enough space to play outside and inside. Good working wifi, television and radio - cd.

Nice view on the surrounding fields and woods from inside.

Stelling Minnis, a food store, and a nice pub Rose & Crown, are close.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Koen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pool, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

Appreciate that a one night Saturday night booking in August will be pricey but our stay was not value for money. Having booked a double bedded room we got a self catering suite. The bed was hard and the two pillows of poor and unequal quality. Toiletries were particularly poor. Breakfast lived up to our expectations but the dining chairs were uncomfortable and in need of new seats.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcastle, Owner at Great Field Farm, responded to this review, 5 May 2013
We have not looked at Tripadvisor for some time , so are only responding now. This guest did have a double en-suite, which also has its own sitting room and kitchen. Usually guests are pleased the extra space to be able to sit and relax watch TV or check the internet. All our rooms are suites with extra facilities. The "firm" bed has been praised by other guests, and by the tourist inspector . A typical B & B comment from our visitor book, dated 4 May 2013 says "Many thanks for your welcome, we have been most comfortable. The dining chairs were antiques, but have been replaced. Our toiletries are of good quality, we use large containers to save on packaging waste. This guest had a problem using the shampoo provided as it was not for her hair type, and it was immediately replaced with an acceptable alternative.
We are sorry that this guest was not totally satisfied, but we always try to make every stay enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
123 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed in the Lodge over the weekend rather than book into a hotel in the town. The Lodge sleeps up to 6 (a double, a twin and 2 singles in the kids-play-room upstairs) in comfort. The free Wifi provided worked well and was a nice touch - which is becoming a big deciding factor in places these days. It was nice to wake up on Sunday in complete silence and look out over open countryside and rolling hills, and enjoy a leisurely breakfast at our own pace.

Excellent facility with lots of home comforts, shame we didnt use them really as we really just used it as a crash pad this time. Approx 7m from centre of Canterbury.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripper21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hummelstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

We rented the self catering cottage plus breakfast. Great accomodation on a quit location. Good english breakfast is served. To be reccommended.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HHoover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stelling Minnis
3.9 mi away
Stable Lodge B&B
Stable Lodge B&B
#2 of 4 in Petham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
6.0 mi away
Iffin Farmhouse
Iffin Farmhouse
#1 of 81 in Canterbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Duke Of Cumberland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Heathwood Lodge
Heathwood Lodge
#2 of 2 in Stelling Minnis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
1.7 mi away
Stowting Hill House
Stowting Hill House
#21 of 30 in Ashford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
2.9 mi away
Rose And Crown Inn
Rose And Crown Inn
#1 of 3 in Elham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Field Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Field Farm

Property: Great Field Farm
Address: Great Field Farm Misling Lane, Stelling Minnis, Canterbury CT4 6DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury > Stelling Minnis
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Stelling Minnis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Great Field Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Great Field Farm Stelling Minnis, Kent - Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing