We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great accomadation & location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Holly Cottage Barn

Holly Barn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Holly Barn
Dinning area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
28 reviews
Holly Barn
Dinning area
Kitchen
bathroom
Holly Barn
Stelling Minnis Windmill
Stelling Minnis
Stelling Minnis
view from Holly Barn
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Stelling Minnis, Canterbury, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 March 2013 for a stay in November 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view from the living room
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Shoeburyness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No washing machine
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ohharry
lancaster
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“fantastic few days”
Reviewed 16 November 2011 for a stay in November 2011

we have just returned from a four night break staying at holly cottage barn. we received a very warm welcome from nichola (the owner) when we arrived on saturday afternoon. the place was lovely, very accomodating with everything we needed for a relaxing break, didn't want to come home! would love to return hopefully next spring when the days are longer. idyllic setting in a beautiful village, handy for canterbury as well. would definately recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Reviewed 22 October 2011 for a stay in July 2011

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It is a toss up between accomodation,location and the owners
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 October 2011 for a stay in October 2011
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I loved the windmill located so close to the property
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
jaynied10
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“lovely location and owners very helpful”
Reviewed 7 October 2011 for a stay in September 2011

Pros: Lovely location, views of open fields and clean and comfy. Owner left lots of cleaning materials although I did take my own. Fridge was broken and owner replaced that day. Small patio garden that was private and allowed my 2 small dogs to safely go outside.
Cons: Couldnt stand up or even bend down in the bath, shower attachment was from taps and you could only use this whilst laid in the bath as you would bang your head.
Bedroom wall the same my husband woke up forgetting and banged his head and when he tried to use his bedside drawers.
We didnt use the darker sofa bed as a bit grotty and worn and the celing sloped quite a lot therefore you wouldnt be able to sit upright to watch TV. We moved the dining table and chairs slightly to be able to have a better view of the open fields and prevent banging our heads on the sloping roof. Kitchen very small and narrow. Other than the height problems, it wouldnt matter if you were 4 ft you would bang your head. We made the most of what we had and loved the village, local shop very pricey and nothing else close by so we had to pay the prices, pub lovely which was next door.
Our only other grumble was booking through Gardens of England Cottages, we booked and paid in full and then recieved confirmation that £200.00 deposit for breakages was taken. We vacated the cottage a day early and contacted the company to check the status of the deposit. We had a lengthy conversation as the main guy told us that we had to wait 2 weeks for this and after challenging this we were transferred to Nick in accounts who advised us that we hadnt had this taken and it was only overseas customers who were charged. Overall not impressed as we should have been made aware of the extra deposit before so we could make a decision about this as £200.00 is quite a deposit for anyone to have to wait over 2 weeks so make sure when you book with this company they dont try and take advantage. l

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: location and view
Liked least: low celings and not been able to stand up in the bath
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele_K...
kent, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantanstic little hide away”
Reviewed 23 May 2011 for a stay in May 2011
1
person found this review helpful

The owner was very friendly and hospitable.We will certainly return to holly cottage barn.We had a wonderful weekend break . Really good location for visiting attractions in Kent/Sussex. A stones throw from historic Canterbury, where there are loads of nice places to eat, lots of shops and would recommend the river trip.Can,t wait to come back!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Families with young children
Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$68
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing