We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed being shown round by enthusiastic wine growers”
Review of Barnsole Vineyard

Barnsole Vineyard
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Staple
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visitors welcome to this small, but beautifully formed vineyard and winery. Barnsole Vineyard produce sparkling English wine, still white and red wines that are available for tasting and for sale directly from the winery door.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Enjoyed being shown round by enthusiastic wine growers”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I enjoyed tasting the wine! The owners were very friendly and well worth a visit. I must drop by again and buy some bottles. My son also enjoyed being shown how wine is made.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
10 Thank DClegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    3
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A different world”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Lose yourself in a different world with the delightful,enthusiastic couple and their business partner who run this vineyard - after an explanation of how the grapes are turned into wine,we tasted the end product - three whites and a red,all excellent - bought some,and set off for home,looking forward to trying out the sparkling,or 'champagne' that is in the pipeline.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
18 Thank Hugh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A great 'little' vineyard”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Spotted this vineyard on the map (the bunch of grapes icon is the clue!) when we were going to Wingham for a short break. Have been to Carr Taylor's (good) and Denbies (commercialised), but this is completely different - low-key and genuine. Managed to be informal, but professional. We were shown round by Philip, enthusiastic and informative. We learnt a lot about the whole process - and it was just the 2 of us - and no charge!! Included wine tasting. Though of course we bought some bottles (apparently, all sales done over the counter, nothing online or mail-order - but the product sells itself). Well worth a visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
16 Thank DianaFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Who would have thought it....”
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We went to Barnsole first on a visit to the area before moving. We went thinking it would be interesting but believing the wine would be terrible. How wrong we were! The brothers are great and very informative and the wine they make is great too! The red in particular is very drinkable and the medium white is much dryer than expected and also nice chilled. We took some home for a christening party and didnt tell the guests it was 'english' until after they commented on the great wine - they were impressed too. Definitely worth a visit.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
16 Thank TravellingEnMasse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent quality wines”
Reviewed 16 September 2012 via mobile

I have been buying wine from this excellent vineyard for 3 years or so. They produce 2 lovely white wines and a lovely red. The owners are very knowledgable, and helpful. Thoroughly recommended.

Helpful?
17 Thank adambroome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barnsole Vineyard also viewed

Been to Barnsole Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing